We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tranquil riad, with very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mariana

Save Saved
You added Riad Mariana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Mariana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely tranquil riad, with very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This lovely riad is about ten minutes walk to the main square, and is slightly off the tourist trail.

The room we stayed in was pleasant and functional, with a large bathroom and air conditioning. The rooftop terrace is very pleasant, and the price includes a breakfast of pancakes, bread, preserves and freshly squeezed juice. The plunge pool is more decorative than a pool, and has petals in it. The small communal areas are nice to chill out in after the hustle and bustle of the city.

The staff were really helpful and pleasant. The price of the rooms was low. It's also licensed so they do sell alcohol (although this is more on the pricey side).

The hotel proprietor e-mailed me when we booked to offer to arrange an airport transfer, which was very welcome as it meant we avoided having to barter on our first evening.

I would definitely recommend this place, great value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viktortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your visit , and for your recommendation to stay in Riad Mariana - kind regards- Philippe and all the team of Riad Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
73
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our ground floor room was peaceful and very comfortable, and the staff, Fatima and abdul extremely helpful. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a delight. We returned here - a bit like coming home - after travelling to other parts if morocco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viktortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
thank you Annie and John for your review. We are glad you enjoyed both stays successive at Riad Mariana - best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place was wonderful. The rooms were some of the nicest we saw in Morocco, the staff was so friendly and fun, the food was fantastic.
Marrakech can be really overwhelming and this place is such a nice respite from the chaos. I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Riad Mariana was recommended to us by some friends and I can't rate it highly enough. The riad itself is cool and peaceful with plenty of space. We stayed in the Sultana suite which was very quiet despite facing onto the "road" and had a great bathroom (although it was a little dark). We had a great start to the day with breakfast on the roof terrace which has lovely views. And a beer by the small ground floor plunge pool was very welcome after a day in the souks. We also used their hamman offering which means you don't need to leave the riad but you probably do miss out a bit on the atmosphere.

Philippe and his staff couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and we really felt as though we were staying in someone's house.

Room Tip: Keep the window shutters closed so you are not disturbed by the first call to prayer in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We arrived asa group of 4 friends to the Riad Mariana and after the hustle and bustle of the city, 40C heat, the Riad is a quiet, cool sanctuary and is simply beautiful. It has a lovely cool centre, superb terrace where you can see the mountains and a central pool to dip your aching feet after a long day of walking. The facilities are excellent- a great big tv in the separate lounge with comfortable sofas, the rooms were large and also comfortable and very clean - I loved our bathroom. There are a few recesses with books which are great to lounge in in the evening. The food provided by the fantastic staff was excellent and our thanks go to them for making our stay superb...The riad is highly recommended, only 10mins slow walk from the medina. They also made us a late dinner and organised a taxi for us, even after our flight was delayed by 2hrs! Excellent.

And if you book an excursion- ask for Mohar the Driver- he was brilliant and we enjoyed our day to the Anti-Atlas and doorway to the Sahara- a must in Marrakech.

Room Tip: We had the whole place to ourselves and stayed in the Amira and Kamila (I think that's what they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

A friend and I stayed here last fall and had a terrible experience. We arrived at Mariana after a 4-day tour to the desert. We asked our guide to walk us to Riad Mariana, since we didn't want to have to negotiate the square on our own with our luggage. When we arrived at the riad, the owner started berating our guide for being late (we arrived in the late afternoon/early evening, and had never been told we needed to be there by a certain time). I tried to explain to the owner that 1- we weren't late and 2- to the extent he was expecting us earlier, he should've made that clear to us, since we were the ones who kept asking our guide to stop to let us take pictures on the way back from the desert, so any delay was our fault. The owner kept berating our guide, who then left. After our guide left, the owner also left and my friend and I were alone with the clerk. We decided that we were really unhappy with the unbelievably rude and aggressive way the owner had treated the guide and decided to go stay at another riad. When we told the clerk we were leaving, he started yelling at us, then called the owner, who yelled at me over the phone. My friend and I called another riad, which sent an employee to pick us up. When the other riad's employee arrived, I walked out but the clerk physically blocked the doorway so that my friend couldn't leave. After a brief standoff, he said he'd let her leave if we paid him the equivalent of $20 USD for the 2-minute phone call we'd made to the other riad. I gave him a few coins, which he threw back at me. My friend, meanwhile, managed to slip past him, and we left. I've never been so happy to leave a place. The riad itself seemed fine (what little we saw of it) even though the courtyard was weirdly stuffy and unpleasant while we were there. To this day, I can't get over how badly the owner behaved, and the fact that the clerk basically tried to make us pay him to let us leave. The owner, by the way, did make us pay to leave, since he charged my credit card for our entire stay. Marrakesh is full of gorgeous riads owned by genuinely nice people. Mariana is not one of these.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
thank you for having chosen and recommended Riad Mariana - friendly -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westervoort
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We visit the Riad Mariana for 4 nights, from october 20 till october 24. The sevice was great. They offered a transport from the airport and evrything went very good. The arrival in the Riad was a pleasure, with tea on te terras on the roof. The room was exelent and every day there was a good breakfast. They gave me advise how to come in the center of the city and what to do and what not. Every day was a pleasure to stay in this Riad. They organised my travel to Essouira, and because of our early departure they made an early breakfast that day.
I can advise this Riad Mariana for a short, and I think also for a longer stay in Marrakesh.
Philippe and his staf, thanks for evrything!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Mariana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mariana

Address: 13 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mariana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad in the heart of Marrakech, easy access, close to tourist attractions pool, steam room, air conditioning, airport transfers, restaurant, tours, restaurant on-site service hotel, rooms cleaned every day, towels, bathrobes and bed linen changed daily - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Mariana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mariana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.