We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I advise this Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mariana

Save Saved
You added Riad Mariana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Mariana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Westervoort
2 reviews
“I advise this Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We visit the Riad Mariana for 4 nights, from october 20 till october 24. The sevice was great. They offered a transport from the airport and evrything went very good. The arrival in the Riad was a pleasure, with tea on te terras on the roof. The room was exelent and every day there was a good breakfast. They gave me advise how to come in the center of the city and what to do and what not. Every day was a pleasure to stay in this Riad. They organised my travel to Essouira, and because of our early departure they made an early breakfast that day.
I can advise this Riad Mariana for a short, and I think also for a longer stay in Marrakesh.
Philippe and his staf, thanks for evrything!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    22
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
75
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Absolutely breath taking. As hoteliers, my friend and I stayed for 3 nights at Riad Mariana. Fully air conditioned rooms, a beautiful roof terrace with views over the Atlas Mountains. We were pampered by the beautiful team who treated us as their own family. Sipping chilled rose wine in the coolness of the atrium with its beautiful rose petaled pool. Late afternoon watching the sun go down from the scented roof garden. Phillipe is the perfect host and Abdul was an absolute star with his recommendations and advice about prices and haggling. Would never want to stay in a hotel ever again, this was our own secret paradise. Thank you Phillipe and Family Mariana!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We came here for our 5th wedding anniversary. It's a beautiful little Riad in the centre of the Medina (a World Heritage Site, deservedly so) and all the online photos we saw in advance (there's a good selection on booking dot come) certainly did it justice . It's just as pretty, romantic and exotic as we expected. The location is excellent - you're a (fascinating) five-minute walk from the souks by Djemaa el-Fna square, and minutes in any other direction from the mosques, restaurants and tanneries you'll want to see.
Do make sure you know what to point to on a map though - our taxi driver from the train station had no idea where to go, and tried charging extra as a result. To be honest it's so cheap here it made very little difference, but important to note if you're keen on saving pennies. Just bear in mind it's a poor country, and one Dirham is less than 10p (about 10 US cents), but still gratefully received as a baksheesh (tip) for directions or carrying suitcases!

The Riad staff couldn't have been more helpful - they spoke French and English which made things easier, and were very good tempered and accommodating, even when letting us back in rather late at night. They were happy to help with sights suggestions, gladly gave cultural insights and recipes when asked and helped suggest and organise a last-minute excursion with no fuss.

The room itself was fresh, cool and clean, a reasonable size and overlooked the mini pool, the same as all the other rooms. I think we went for a smaller room as it was cheaper, but I don't think we lost out at all. The bed was clean and comfortable and - importantly - though the bathroom was dinky, the shower and loo both worked perfectly, didn't flood or smell.

We were provided a wonderful breakfast every day (Moroccan breakfast is rather different: thin potato pancakes, flat bread rolls -a *bit* like a bun crossed with a pitta bread, though not exactly - yoghurt, honey and very sweet mint tea. It's delicious and just what you need to get you started in the heat!) when we got up - we just asked, and it was brought up to the terrace for us. The kitchen also made a packed lunch for our day excursion, and provided delicious traditional dinner (with the option of wine) when we let them know a couple of hours in advance. The food was tasty and the portions were large (neither of us could finish!). The chicken was a little bit dry, but we were about half an hour later than we thought so that's probably no reflection on the chef, to be fair.

Western stomachs: Eating in the tiny street "cafes" (you can see how big they are!) is fine as long as you go for *cooked* food. Ask a stallholder for a recommendation, especially if you've bought something, they're twice as friendly ;) Do be careful of salads and olives though as this made me extremely ill :(

Just a final note about the little pool in the centre of the Riad: I'm not sure whether it was for swimming in or not - it was tiny and probably historically used just to dip into and cool down. It seemed to be a typical feature of all the Riads we looked at, but we n.e.v.e.r. saw anyone in it. It was very pretty though, sprinkled with rose petals and surrounded by mini potted palm trees, comfy wicker chairs and cushions. Just a note, in case you're looking for something with a swimming pool - I'm not sure you;ll get that in any of the Riads, there's just not the space! That said, a cool shower works a treat :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

It worked out fantastic. The place was charming and the ownership very friendly. I highly recommend food and drinks on the roof top. And it's walking distance from the main plaza, which made for easy exploring.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Mariana is a delight. It is a surprise when you go through an ordinary door to find a beautiful plunge pool, cool rooms and calmness. The roof terrace has views over the Atlas Mountains and is great for any meal. As well as breakfast we twice lunched there on delicious tagine The service is friendly, helpful without being intrusive and the bed was very comfortable. All four tenagers with us loved it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Lovely place nearby the old, interesting and busy souk of Marrakech

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Very welcoming and friendly staff that offered great service. Rooms (suites) were excellent in size, cleanliness and quality of beds. We had several transport arrangements made by the hotel, including a one day sightseeing in the countryside. Everything to our full satisfaction. Food was offered at short notice, always fresh.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mariana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mariana

Address: 13 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mariana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad in the heart of Marrakech, easy access, close to tourist attractions pool, steam room, air conditioning, airport transfers, restaurant, tours, restaurant on-site service hotel, rooms cleaned every day, towels, bathrobes and bed linen changed daily - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Riad Mariana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mariana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.