We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay just outside Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Mia Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Terra Mia Marrakech to your Saves list
Terra Mia Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Km 12 Route de Fes, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 1,101 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay just outside Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Terra Mia was recommended by a friend who travelled during the Easter break.

I liked this place a LOT. And unfortunately for me, I'm one of the fussiest, most easily annoyed guests around. But hats off to Hakim and the team for creating a really fabulous holiday in the sun.

The Riad (main building) itself is great but private villas are truly exceptional. They are HUGE with high ceilings and a genuine sense of calm and privacy. The private pools are also full-size (on a completely different level from the regular plunge pools that I was expecting). They are brilliant value for what you get and could accommodate a family of 4 or two couples very easily.

As noted in other reviews, the service is excellent. This is a place that really does seem to want to do everything to impress. For example, I'd wander over to lunch and by the time I came back my villa would have been cleaned, towels replaced, etc. It felt very well organised and attentive.

The food is also excellent and good value. It's genuine home cooking from a lady who really knows what she is doing in the kitchen. I was there for 6 nights and never got sick of it. The lamb tagine with prunes was my favourite. The beers are expensive by international standards (about 6 euros for 330ml), however, if like me you like to sit around the pool and drink lots of bottles!

The location is unusual in that it's a 25 minute drive to the city. Normally I'm the type who wants to be right in the middle of the action. But this is Marrakech. It's completely manic and to be honest I enjoyed being out in the sticks in the peace and quiet. Terra Mia offers a good balance - far enough away to peaceful but close enough to be accessible. I kept meaning to go back into the city but found myself putting it off until tomorrow, and the next day, and the next day. Very lazy! But life seemed better by the pool...

Room Tip: Go for the villas if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    25
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
109
130
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Highly recommended - this peaceful and very attractive riad is a rare find. Our comfortable room was spacious and spotlessly clean, overlooking the lovely gardens. The owner/managers are friendly and go out of their way to help guests enjoy their stay and their attitude is reflected through their attentive staff. We ate at the riad each night, enjoying delicious tagines and salads which we thought excellent value for the quality. The continental breakfasts were plentiful, with fresh cooked pastries or pancakes each day. The bustle of the medina is just 20 minutes away (via the free daily drop-off service provided) if you can tear yourself from the side of the pool or your book in the shade of the verandah.
Terra Mia was a blissful retreat at the end of our tour, we could not have made a better choice to enjoy our precious last few days in Morocco.

Room Tip: We liked Room 5 (king sized bed, separate wc, bath with shower over and bidet) on the first floor, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

From the minute we were picked up at the airport until AFTER we had left the perfection of Terra Mia was clear. Everything about the place, the staff, the service is Perfect. The care, kindness and quality shines through everywhere. I could not recommend a better place to combine the madness of Marrakech with a relaxing pool holiday. The hotel provide lifts to and from town and the staff will always find you trusted taxis and guides if you want more. Adults and children were happy and free to do what they wanted, the food was superb and fresh and the breakfast by the pool was total luxury. Hakim and his family care so much about the place and your stay and are available for advice all the time. It cant be faulted and is a great base for exploring more areas!

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms in the hotel so they are all perfect and the villas in the grounds have their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I want to react to the previous review: I just can't believe that anyone find the service at Terra Mia disappointing. Yes: if you have to leave at 6 am, nobody is there to serve your breakfast (who would expect such a thing?). BUT everything has been prepared ahead and waiting in the kitchen for you (orange juice, coffee, bread - you just have to microwave whatever you need to...); you just can't expect of a hotel to serve breakfast at 6 am.
In any case, we loved our stay there (and we have a 3 year old as well). It's true that the hotel is not in Marrakech city center, but that's precisely what makes it so enjoyable. And it's rather 20-25 minutes to the city (with a very well-organized shuttle service) than 30 or 40 minutes.
The staff is totally willing to help. And the setting is gorgeous; both indoor and outdoor what a view from the swimming pool!).
We heartfully recommend this hotel where we had a lovely stay - with just one regret: it was too short.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A perfect holiday over the Easter holidays with children aged 14 & 11.
A very comfortable base approx 20 mins from the hustle and bustle of central Marrakech.
We stayed in both the Riad and the suites and would recommend either.
The gardens are lovely and the smell of the orange blossom unforgettable.
Hakim and his family offer personal service and cannot be faulted in any way.
If you are considering a break in Marrakech look no further you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very nice location and hotel close to Marrakech (20 mn to the city center with free hotel shuttle). Very nice and friendly hotel staff. Nice rooms. Hotelkeepers are also owners and are very helpful for all questions, organisation of excursions. always Perfect for families with young children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at Riad Terra Mia with our two 7 year old children over Easter for 5 nights; we stayed in one of the villas. The Riad itself is beautiful, clean and peaceful. The main meals we had there were really delicious (tajines and couscous dishes especially)- my best meals in Morocco; the breakfast comprised of yogurt, bread and croissants (or pain au chocolate), pancakes- it did not vary much. One is not allowed to bring food and beverage into the Riad, and perhaps providing some fruit would be a welcome addition. It is worth noting that the pools are not heated, and that the pool in the villa does not have a shallow end-however, they are beautiful and our children used the main pool which has a shallow end ( the water was unseasonably cold-I'm told it is normally warmer at this time of year). Terra Mia is 25 minutes from the Medina and about 30 minutes from the airport. One free return shuttle ride is offered each day- otherwise a taxi one way is approximately 150dr, or 250 dr return- the times of the shuttle rides are negotiable, but were generally offered to to leave at 10.30, 3.30 or 5.30 from the Riad. The staff at the Riad were incredibly helpful; we felt safe and well cared for. Hakim and Omar speak excellent English and were always at hand to answer any queries- they are honest and trustworthy and care passionately about their Riad. Hakim phoned us on our way to the airport to apologise for not being able to see us off himself and say good bye, and to enquire as to whether my wife enjoyed her massage on the last day- a nice touch.

On our way to the airport, our children asked when we could return again- I think they loved the space and freedom to explore - in fact we did not go on any of the excusions which the Riad can organise (incl horse riding/camel riding, trips to Atlas mountains). As any parent knows, if the children are happy...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terra Mia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Mia Marrakech

Address: Km 12 Route de Fes, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 1,101 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Terra Mia Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terra Mia Marrakech is located at the entrance of the 'ochre city' - 25 minutes from the airport and Jemaa El Fna. On an ideal site, in front of the Atlas Mountains, close to 3 Golf courses and an equestrian club you will enjoy a delightful, calm and peaceful stay at our 5 hectares domain, in this charming city which makes us all dream. Our dedicated team will be looking after your well-being and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Terra Mia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Mia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Mia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.