We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Feel Good Stay Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Mia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Terra Mia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Terra Mia Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Km 12 Route de Fes, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Finchamstead
1 review
“A Feel Good Stay Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for a few days over New Year. Our stay began with us being picked up by the the lovely Omar who, along with his sons Hakim, Emin and all the friendly staff made our stay very special. Nothing was too much trouble. For instance, arranging trips to and from town and sorting out an excersion with a tour group who we had forgotten to verify our trip with!
We opted for a riad out of town and this turned out to be a great choice. The riad and grounds are beautifully kept by a happy and friendly team. It is nicely secluded in wonderful surroundings. Lunch on the balcony or terrace was particularly nice with a breathtaking view of the Atlas mountains. All the meals were delicious and freshly prepared,
And a massage in the riads own Hamman is highly recommended.
We found it a perfect place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    26
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
93
118
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We found Terra Mia to be a quiet and very relaxing haven after a day in Marrakech. We spent four nigths here and enjoyed it very much. The owners and the staff were all extremely kind and helpful and arranged excursions and transports into the city. Furthermore the meals we had at Terra Mia were just delicious. We can highly recommend Terra Mia as a base for visiting Marrakech and the neighbouring areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just spent five days over Christmas at Terra Mia in Marrakech with our three children (ages 9, 6 and 2). It was our first trip to Morocco and were looking for somewhere calm to retreat to after the bustle of the city but did not want to stay in a bland 'all inclusive' hotel. I chose Terra Mia based on the great Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. We were met at the Airport by Amin and this was the beginning of our fantastic trip. Amin, his Mother, Father and the rest of the staff looked after us brilliantly, we felt like part of the family. We opted for one of the houses in the grounds of the Riad and were really pleased with our accommodation. Designed in typical Moroccan style with two bedrooms and bathrooms and a living area. Perfect for a family. The kids were really excited when we arrived at the accommodation. It was late in the evening but we were still offered food and what wonderful food it was. Typical Moroccan tagines and lots of things the children loved! One of my children has Coeliac disease so is allergic to Gluten and the staff were really accomodating and and provided food that he could eat.
Everyday we were taken into to the city by Amin or his Father who did everything they could to accommodate us. They arranged horse riding for the kids, let them ride on their quad bikes and took us to visit the major sites. It felt like Amin was our personal guide. He even joined us on a camel ride (his first). It made the whole trip easy and relaxing.
All I can say is that my Kids cried when we left as they had had so much fun and they keep asking when we are going back. The Riad and grounds are beautiful but it is the wonderful owners and their staff that make this place a MUST to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were looking for a spot where we could completely relax while enjoying the sun and discovering a place we have not been to before. So she came up with Marrakech. What a great idea. When looking for accommodation we decided to look for a Rhiad instead of a regular hotel and it paid off very well.
Terra Mia Rhiad is located a bit outside Marrakech but twice a day they offer transport into and out of the city centre for free. Additional transport arrangements are also available upon request, but may cost some Dirahm, but it is still affordable. To be honest, I was always happy to be back at this nice and quiet resort when coming back from the fascinating but bustling Medina.

The rooms are spacious and if you like some more privacy while you are at the pool, they also offer villas with own pools. Every building has great charm as rooms are decorated and furnished with Moroccan style furniture and picture motives. All floors are tiled.
Breakfast is served daily at the Rhiad and is included in the price. Lunch and Dinner are available upon order (lunch to be ordered at breakfast time, dinner at lunch time) and everything is prepare fresh. Every meal can also be served in your villa upon request.
The Moroccan style home cooking menu offers a good choice and variety of food and tastes from vegetable to meat of all kinds. It is really recommendable to enjoy dinner at the Tia Mia instead of getting trapped in a tourist restaurant in the Medina.
They also offer massages for which appointments must be made a day or two in advance as the staff for this is coming in from an outside spa.
The Terra Mia is family owned and all staff is friendly and helpful. Everything is kept in order and the cleaning service (daily) is just great.

Room Tip: Every room is nice and spacious and fits for two people easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Terra Mia for 1 week during our holiday to Morocco. It was our first time visiting Marrakesh and booked the Hotel based on the excellent reviews. The Hotel is set around 15 mins out of Marrakesh in quiet and peaceful surroundings. We stayed in the main Hotel in a double room. The bedrooms are clean, spacious and all about 20m away from the pool. I would recommend staying in the main Hotel as a) Its cheaper than a private villa and b) Theres only 7 rooms in the Hotel so its like having a private pool anyway. Guests staying in private villas often used the main pool anyway so they could chat with other guests.
Omar, Hakim and their family are very accomodating with regards to free shuttles into Marrakesh and were on hand for any advice etc.Brian was an absolute legend and did everything for us! If you are looking for a peaceful retreat near Marrakesh but out of the hustle then I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Positives - 15 mins from Marrakesh Old and New Town, Quiet and safe surroundings, Amazing Hotel and Pool, Owners on Hand for your every needs
Negatives - Only real room for improvement would be that Prices in the Hotel for Food and Drink were quite expensive when compared to Marrakesh but I suppose you would expect that from Hotels.
All in all, we thouroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely reccommend this Hotel

Chris and Charlotte x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Terra Mia for a week and really appreciated it. The situation is perfect if you are looking for space and quiet, though it takes around 20-25 minutes to go to the centre of Marrakech.The gardens are very nice and well-kept despite the heat. With more than 40°C outside, the fresh pool was really welcome. The common area of the main Riad is decorated in a wonderful traditionnal style. There are only 7 rooms in the main Riad, so the place and the pool are very calm and resting. The staff is lovely and the owner Omar is really thoughtful, and Hakim can drope you to Marrakech centre several times a day. The Morrocan dishes are also wonderful (zaalouk and taktouka were excellente!!). The women from Renaissens (beauty treatments) was also very nice.

Yet, some points could have be better : the occidental dishes are quite expensive for both quantity and quality. The breakfast is OK ("msemen" is very good) but you have no choice of the food and you eat the same everyday.The room confort is OK (good air con, beds, cleanliness) but could be better (you need to pay to have a safe in the room, no fridge, 1 sink for 2, no fresh water in the shower most of the time, sewer smell coming from the bathroom at night). You cannot bring beverages from outside the Riad (which is OK) but the alcohol is very expensive (50 to 60 dhr for a beer and 140 dhr for a poor quality bottle of rosé wine!).

In short, we had a very nice journey in Marrakech even if some small things could be improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerramiaKech, Gérant at Terra Mia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear sir, dear Madam,
You wrote a review on trip advisor and we would like to thank you for that; especially for the positive points that you mentioned: “space and quiet”, “gardens are very nice and well-kept despite the heat”, “the place and the pool are very calm and resting”, “lovely staff”, “Moroccan dishes are also wonderful”, “beauty treatments was also very nice”.

However, we wish to use our right to reply on various points of your comment:

- The occidental dishes are quite expensive for both quantity and quality: we respect your point of view but specify simply that we use fresh products and receive very few remarks on the cost of our meals.

- The breakfast is OK ("msemen" is very good) but you have no choice of the food and you eat the same everyday: it is true that you only choose your hot drink for breakfast but we do not agree when you write that you eat the same every day. The traditional msemen that we prepare are different each day.


- The room confort is OK (good air con, beds, cleanliness) but could be better (you need to pay to have a safe in the room, no fridge, 1 sink for 2, no fresh water in the shower most of the time, sewer smell coming from the bathroom at night): again we respect your point of view but there is a free safe at the main office, a honesty mini bar on the ground floor, sorry not to have two sinks in the bathroom!, very hard for us to have very cold water by 45° outside so it is true that cold water arrives a little bit warm in august, we apologize for the sewer smell coming from the bathroom at night if you had mentioned it during your stay we would have fixed it.

- Again, our riad is not a apartment-hotel so thank you to mention that it is ok not to bring beverages from outside the Riad. It is right that alcohol is very expensive in Morocco because of taxes but we do not sell any beer at 60 DH, it is wrong, our most expensive beer is 50 DH less than 5 euros. Bottles of wine are also expensive in Morocco because of taxes, if you found that the rosé we served you was poor quality, you could have mentioned it and we would have found another type of rosé wine for you.

All the best,
Hakim ESSADIQ – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed at Terra Mia in Marrakech for 2 nights but I wished I had stayed longer. The accommodations were excellent, we were treated like we were part of the family. The owner Omar had a cab arranged to pick us up from the train station and he took us to the city every time we wanted to. His wife was so wonderful to allow us to come to the kitchen and have one of her staff teach us how to make Moroccan bread, she knew I would appreciated it since I'm a Baking instructor. The rest of the staff were very sweet and sooooo hospitable. There are only 7 rooms in the main Riah and some private villas outside the gardens. It was so peaceful getting up early and taking a walk around their garden, very comfortable, quiet moments I spent. I would not go anywhere else next time I visit Morocco. This is the place to stay !!! I truly recommend anyone to stay here, you will not be disappointed. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terra Mia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Mia Marrakech

Also Known As:
Terra Mia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Terra Mia Marrakech Hotel
Address: Km 12 Route de Fes, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Terra Mia Marrakech 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terra Mia Marrakech is located at the entrance of the 'ochre city' - 25 minutes from the airport and Jemaa El Fna. On an ideal site, in front of the Atlas Mountains, close to 3 Golf courses and an equestrian club you will enjoy a delightful, calm and peaceful stay at our 5 hectares domain, in this charming city which makes us all dream. Our dedicated team will be looking after your well-being and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Terra Mia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Mia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.