We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Mia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Terra Mia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Terra Mia Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Km 12 Route de Fes, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Terra Mia for a week and really appreciated it. The situation is perfect if you are looking for space and quiet, though it takes around 20-25 minutes to go to the centre of Marrakech.The gardens are very nice and well-kept despite the heat. With more than 40°C outside, the fresh pool was really welcome. The common area of the main Riad is decorated in a wonderful traditionnal style. There are only 7 rooms in the main Riad, so the place and the pool are very calm and resting. The staff is lovely and the owner Omar is really thoughtful, and Hakim can drope you to Marrakech centre several times a day. The Morrocan dishes are also wonderful (zaalouk and taktouka were excellente!!). The women from Renaissens (beauty treatments) was also very nice.

Yet, some points could have be better : the occidental dishes are quite expensive for both quantity and quality. The breakfast is OK ("msemen" is very good) but you have no choice of the food and you eat the same everyday.The room confort is OK (good air con, beds, cleanliness) but could be better (you need to pay to have a safe in the room, no fridge, 1 sink for 2, no fresh water in the shower most of the time, sewer smell coming from the bathroom at night). You cannot bring beverages from outside the Riad (which is OK) but the alcohol is very expensive (50 to 60 dhr for a beer and 140 dhr for a poor quality bottle of rosé wine!).

In short, we had a very nice journey in Marrakech even if some small things could be improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerramiaKech, Gérant at Terra Mia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear sir, dear Madam,
You wrote a review on trip advisor and we would like to thank you for that; especially for the positive points that you mentioned: “space and quiet”, “gardens are very nice and well-kept despite the heat”, “the place and the pool are very calm and resting”, “lovely staff”, “Moroccan dishes are also wonderful”, “beauty treatments was also very nice”.

However, we wish to use our right to reply on various points of your comment:

- The occidental dishes are quite expensive for both quantity and quality: we respect your point of view but specify simply that we use fresh products and receive very few remarks on the cost of our meals.

- The breakfast is OK ("msemen" is very good) but you have no choice of the food and you eat the same everyday: it is true that you only choose your hot drink for breakfast but we do not agree when you write that you eat the same every day. The traditional msemen that we prepare are different each day.


- The room confort is OK (good air con, beds, cleanliness) but could be better (you need to pay to have a safe in the room, no fridge, 1 sink for 2, no fresh water in the shower most of the time, sewer smell coming from the bathroom at night): again we respect your point of view but there is a free safe at the main office, a honesty mini bar on the ground floor, sorry not to have two sinks in the bathroom!, very hard for us to have very cold water by 45° outside so it is true that cold water arrives a little bit warm in august, we apologize for the sewer smell coming from the bathroom at night if you had mentioned it during your stay we would have fixed it.

- Again, our riad is not a apartment-hotel so thank you to mention that it is ok not to bring beverages from outside the Riad. It is right that alcohol is very expensive in Morocco because of taxes but we do not sell any beer at 60 DH, it is wrong, our most expensive beer is 50 DH less than 5 euros. Bottles of wine are also expensive in Morocco because of taxes, if you found that the rosé we served you was poor quality, you could have mentioned it and we would have found another type of rosé wine for you.

All the best,
Hakim ESSADIQ – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    27
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
96
122
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Covina, California
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed at Terra Mia in Marrakech for 2 nights but I wished I had stayed longer. The accommodations were excellent, we were treated like we were part of the family. The owner Omar had a cab arranged to pick us up from the train station and he took us to the city every time we wanted to. His wife was so wonderful to allow us to come to the kitchen and have one of her staff teach us how to make Moroccan bread, she knew I would appreciated it since I'm a Baking instructor. The rest of the staff were very sweet and sooooo hospitable. There are only 7 rooms in the main Riah and some private villas outside the gardens. It was so peaceful getting up early and taking a walk around their garden, very comfortable, quiet moments I spent. I would not go anywhere else next time I visit Morocco. This is the place to stay !!! I truly recommend anyone to stay here, you will not be disappointed. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It was our first time in Morocco and Marrakech. We picked the Terra Mia from the website after reading the reviews, and you would not believe it but the superlative reviews,for once were completely accurate!! From the time we were met at the airport by Omar and his son Amin, we were treated like visiting dignitaries. The room we had was enormous, properly air conditioned and maintained to a faultless standard. Our personal 'butler' Ibrahim was attentive and constantly asking if there was anything we needed and then provided it, nothing was too much effort.
Staying at the Riadh was was like having our own villa abroad, the peace and tranquility of the pool and gardens was in perfect contrast to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech Centre, If you want to know where to dine, Omar's the man to ask. After two days we felt like we were part of the family, after 4 days we wanted to be. We have stayed in 5 star hotels around the world, but the attentiveness of Omar and his elegant wife Malika, plus the service of 'mon frere' Ibrahim could not be bettered. We met the most friendly and interesting people staying with them.We have never been so sorry to leave, nor determined to return. Thanks everyone for a really great vacation. We raise our glasses of mint tea to you all.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room to be had. If you want total privacy opt for the Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Salam Hakim, Kaefa halook
We stayed here last July for a week. We can’t fault the service provided by Hakim and his team. The food was excellent and cooked to order. We had a couple of really nice nights by the pool, eating a wonderful meal, in the moonlight. Hakim was always on hand to organise trips into town, he also organised for us to go to the local water park.
The riad was quiet, spotlessly clean and peaceful. It was stylish and authentic.
Due to flight delays we were overbooked on the first night. Hakim took us to another riad that was equally as nice, and picked us up the following morning.
If you are dithering about whether to stay, just book it, you will not be disappointed.
Shoukran Hakim (I really hope my spelling is right)
The Armstrongs

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Both my wide and I stayed at the Terra Mia in May and whilst we were the only guests, that did not detract from the very high level of service received, i.e. from being picked up at the airport, and ferried into Marrakesh. Hakim, his dad, (Omer), mother, (Maliki), and of course, the head porter, (Abhraim), could not have been more helpful. Looking forward to my next stay.

Michael D

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed at Terra Mia at the end of April 2012. I went with four friends and we stayed in a private villa with our own pool. From the moment we were greeted and the airport to the moment we were dropped back, the whole experience was amazing. The villa was beauitful, clean and spacious. The pool was fantstic. We ate at the hotel for every meal (except for lunch in the city 1 day) and every meal was exceptional.
Brian (ibrihim) was outstanding in his service and kindness during our stay.
I will most definatly be returning to Morocco in the future and would not hesitate to stay here again. 5 stars

Room Tip: The private villas are excellent for groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Beautiful, peacefull, relaxing, real fresh home cooked Moroccan food prepared to order every day, If you want drunken partying and poolside games with loud music and European style mass catering go and stay elsewhere, if you want to relax, recharge, feel looked after in a more personal home style environment and enjoy morocco this is undeniably THE place to stay, I cannot reccomend it highly enough, it deserves every 5 star review you have read on here and then some , I have travelled extensively and vowed never to visit the same place twice but this would be the exception to the rule for me , i would definitely rate a very strong 10/10

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terra Mia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Mia Marrakech

Address: Km 12 Route de Fes, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Terra Mia Marrakech 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terra Mia Marrakech is located at the entrance of the 'ochre city' - 25 minutes from the airport and Jemaa El Fna. On an ideal site, in front of the Atlas Mountains, close to 3 Golf courses and an equestrian club you will enjoy a delightful, calm and peaceful stay at our 5 hectares domain, in this charming city which makes us all dream. Our dedicated team will be looking after your well-being and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Terra Mia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Mia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Mia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.