We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, clean, friendly and ideal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ravel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Ravel to your Saves list
Riad Ravel
3, Derb Ouartani | Mouassine, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #699 of 1,114 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, clean, friendly and ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place is a hidden gem within the sometimes overwhelming medina. It is not signposted at all, not even above the door, so it may be necessary to ask assistance from a friendly local (for a dirham or two). The central courtyard is a tranquil retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the souks. The service was excellent, although there was a slight language barrier on occasion. Our room was ample, air conditioned and cleaned daily. The breakfast was above average and on the one occasion we had an evening meal, it was cooked and presented to a very high standard. Overall, a most enjoyable stay and a perfect base for exploring Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falun, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This a very small guesthouse hidden at the end of a small alley in the medina. The room had no window and it felt a little strange to have no contact with the world outside. Besides from that the stay at this place was good. Very quite room and a small breakfast in morning. You get your own key to the house and come and go as you like. Five minutes walking to the Djema el fna square. Toilet and shower in room, no television but you can access the internet through wifi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerante, Gérant at Riad Ravel, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
Google Translation
Bonjour

Merci pour votre franchise, nous tenons compte des remarques et suggestions que vous nous indiquer, nous améliorons tout nos qualités pour que votre séjour à Dar Jirane soit meilleur.

Très Cordialement
Latifa
Gérante Dar Jirane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

The Dar Jirane in Marrakech is a riad that I and my girlfriend enjoyed very much. We stayed there for six nights over the new year 2009/2010. The riad is situated quietly only six walking minutes from the Jeema El-Fna Square. We enjoyed the tranqulity of allmost having the riad to ourselves. There are only three rooms in the entire riad, so we didn't meet other guest more than once a day. We ate a dinner at the riad with a wonderful salad of tomatos, cucumber and a spicy sauce followed by tangine and couscous. The main courses were nice, and definitely among the better we had in Morocco.
The doublebed in our room was ca. 195 cm long (but very squakey). Most of Marrakech is non- alkoholic, but the riad served a drinkable red wine.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

We arrived in the rain after a long day's travel from London. This is certainly an original riad and it has been well restored with very finely detailed tiling around the walls in the courtyard.

Rooms are a little threadbare and the beds strangely short to accommodate them in the long but narrow bedrooms. If you are over 5 ft 8" you will struggle to get a decent night's sleep.

Their website mentions a televison and alarm clock in each room, neither of which were present in our room.

The breakfast is sufficient but repetitive of panckes in different forms. We stayed 3 nights and by day three were sick of the sight of them.

We tried an evening meal which we ordered early that morning of couscous and tangia. One well known travel brochure stated that this riad served the best food of any inside the medina. Our experience was somewhat different - the soup was fine, but the tangia was just beef with olives and was much tougher than the beef hidden under the couscous and vegetables. The tangia is supposed to be cooked very slowly, tenderising the meat.Ours clearly was not. My dessert was an orange, sliced with cinnamon sprinkled on top. Not worthy of the 180DH per person.

Overall, this place is just acceptable. One plus is the roof garden, which is a true sanctuary away from the fumes and annoyances of the souks below, although it is in need of some repair, with missing lights and seat cushions.

If we were unfortunate to have to visit Morocco again, we would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Roof garden
  • Disliked — Rather dull courtyard
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ravel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ravel

Address: 3, Derb Ouartani | Mouassine, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #699 of 1,114 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ravel, as its former owner, the music lover, named it Eve Ruggieri, is located in the Mouassine, one of the most famous neighborhoods of the Medina of Marrakech (the neighborhood of notables marrakchis) located 3 minutes from the fabulous Jamaa El'fna and one minute from the Souks.Riad Ravel remained in its own Arab-Andalusian mixture, a true oasis of tranquility. It is built around:- A lovely patio in white Carrara marble, raised trees (the orange and lemon) with a B'hou. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ravel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.