We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary, remarkable, unique.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge K

Save Saved
You added Lodge K to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge K
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Fez km. 5 | Dar Tounsi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Extraordinary, remarkable, unique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

The three words above sum Lodge K up perfectly for us. Coming on the back of a few days in the Medina (staying at Noir D'Ivoir - another fantastic property) this was the perfect 'Oasis' to spend a few tranquil days of R&R. This must be one of Marrakech's best kept secrets as no-one seems to know it exists - we have friends in Marrakech who have lived and worked there for years (in Tourism) and they knew nothing about it! Perhaps its size has something to do with it - with only 5 lodges (not 6 as a previous reviewer has stated) it is very small and feels very exclusive - but it deserves better recognition for the standard of accommodation on offer and the value it represents. Have a look at the website - what you see really is what you get although the 'lodges' probably feel bigger (and the pool slightly smaller) when you get there. We had a look at all the lodges in the course of our 4 night stay and our favourites were probably 'The Master' - the frankly enormous one that we stayed in - The Art Deco and the Egyptian (the smallest but perhaps the most stylish of all). There were never more than 3 of the lodges occupied in the time we were there and it is inexplicable to me why that was the case. My wife told me that the spa treatments she had were excellent and represented good value for money.

It was interesting to note that on one of the days of our stay, Louis Vuitton (or should I say a team of photographers etc. on their behalf) rolled in for a photo shoot (in the Egyptian Lodge) that may raise some interest/awareness in fashion circles but for now it seems that Lodge K remains a remarkably well kept secret.

If there are downsides, I would say that the size of the property leads to some idiosyncrasies with things like meals. You need to order well in advance (i.e. mid-afternoon for your evening meal, mid-morning for lunch) as they prepare things specifically on request (don't expect to sit down in the evening with a menu!) but you can understand why if they are only feeding a handful of guests every night. The standard of the food was very good (predominantly Moroccan cuisine) and, contrary to a previous poster, I think 35 Euros per head for a 3 course lunch or dinner (40 euros for seafood) represents great value. If you only order 1 course when three are offered it seems a little disingenuous to complain - they still need to provide a chef, waiting staff and so on. You will probably want a night out and there are plenty of eating options close by, for example, Dar Ennassim is a short cab-ride away (still in in The Palmerai district) and serves superb French cuisine.

Drinks are generally quite pricey 9 euros for a local beer or a G&T etc. although good quality wine is reasonably priced (30 euros a bottle) so there is value to be had (and a glass of Gris is very nice in the sunshine)!

I would point out that the pool was very cold. Great for quickly cooling down if you overheat in the sunshine but not so good for a 'quick dip' in the morning. 'Bracing' - to the point of heart-stopping - is the best way I can describe it....

Overall, I could not recommend this place highly enough if you want to relax in stylish, peaceful surroundings and generally chill-out for a few days. A great place to come if you want to split some time between the Medina and something a bit less frenetic. I would think twice about bringing kids to a place like Lodge K but for a romantic break in a place in some truly stunning accommodation, this could be one of the most unique places in the World, let alone Marrakech. Go there before more people find out about it and the prices double!

Room Tip: They are all unique - your style, your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
44
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at K Lodge for 3 nights with our 9 and 11 year old. Beware......They charge a set amount for lunch or dinner regardless of how much you eat. This is fine if you want 3 courses but we're not particularly big eaters and have 2 children who didn't want a full 3 course meal. So for 2 salads and 2 small burgers we were charged 140 Euros. I took it up with the management but little was done which left a nasty taste and I came away feeling like we were being ripped off. It was a shame, generally it was pretty good, although I really wouldn't rush to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011 via mobile

6 exvlusive lodges. makes you feel at home and all the efforts put in by the owners to make of this exvlusive home a homely feeling are rewarding. if you like the website, you will love it once you arrive: the garden and the
swimming pool are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We usually go to Palais Rhoul when we are in Marrakech but it was full that weekend and they recommended Lodge K. It truly feels like you are staying at someone's home, someone who must be artist with amazing taste, elegance and sense of hospitality. All in a peaceful and casual ambiance. The food was perfect, the staff was all smiles, and the rooms/tents are just a voyage in time and space. Only spent a weekend there but felt so relaxed it was as good as a week (Although if you can spend a week there go for it:)! A BIG thumbs up, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

hard to describe our trip without sounding cheesy,The Lodge K is a place that really amazed us.
Beautiful house set in tranquil gardens with inviting swimming pool and excellent owners & staff.They were unfailingly bright, friendly, helpful and genuinely happy to do all they could to ensure we had an amazing time - which we did. This was especially welcome given that the aggressive Marrakechi approach to tourism out in the town itself can take some getting used to, and I am by no means an inexperienced traveller. the lodge k itself is also magnificent;ornate, elegant and beautiful but welcoming and relaxed. thanks to Alami;he was very friendly,kind especially to children,feels like you are
staying in someones house rather than a hotel.
I wholeheartedly recommend LODGE K and thank everyone there for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

It was my fourth time in Marraquexe. And I usually stay in the Mamonia. This time the hotel was full, the palais rhoul also didn't had rooms available. Someone recommended the LodgeK. It was the best decision I could make. The rooms are fabulous. And only four rooms. The service is perfect. And they give all the attention possible to details. They also take care of everything. Dinners, transportations, guides. Perfect. A unique experience. I will be back to marraquexe and this time directly to the lodge K.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

The lodge K will always be for me and my family the souvenir of a wonderful hotel, may be the best we were fortunate to stay in. The kids enjoyed the enormous swimming pool, the gardens and the sports grounds. My wife and I were delighted to experience the various Spa services which enabled us to travel around the world by trying different relaxing health and beauty recipes. For sure, we will miss those wonderful feelings of welfare and happiness!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge K

Address: Route de Fez km. 5 | Dar Tounsi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lodge K 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Lodge K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.