We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When will you pay me?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Balthazar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Balthazar to your Saves list
Dar Balthazar
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   32, Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Wetzikon, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“When will you pay me?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's a great place to stay, their rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The only problem is the staff who was asking me to pay for the room the moment I put my luggage on the floor and then a few more times after they realised it's not a priority for me. A few hours after I paid they realised they applied an incorrect conversion rate so they asked me to pay 10 more dirhams which is not more than 1 euro... That was so annoying that I cancelled my stay with them and moved to another riad.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darbalthazar, Propriétaire at Dar Balthazar, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour votre avis et sommes contentes que le riad vous ai plu En revanche concernant le personnel nous en sommes désolées
Sachez que suite au fait ,que plusieurs clients sont partis sans régler leur séjour nous avons été obligé de revoir notre politique d accueil et de règlement .Nous demandons effectivement un paiement ou un passeport des l arrivée de chaque client et nous pouvons comprendre votre agacement malheureusement suite a ses mauvaises expériences il est pour nous très difficile de faire autrement
We thank you for your opinion(notice) and are satisfied that the riad pleased you On the other hand concerning the staff we are sorry about it
Know that further to the fact, that several customers left without settling(adjusting) their stay we were obliged to see again(to revise) our politics(policy) d welcome(reception) and of regulation(payment) .Nous let us ask actually for a payment or for a passport of l arrived from every customer and we can understand(include) your annoyance unfortunately continuation(suite) has its bad experiences(experiments) he(it) is for us very difficult to make otherwise(differently)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    39
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
117
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite riad, adequate space, lovely staff. We had a meal there one night which was cooked by Mona the manager and was delicious. Home cooked and tasty. You just have to let her know what you want from the menu the day before and she buys everything fresh. The local area market was the best we found. Great atmosphere, fruit and veg, cakes, nuts and dried fruit. In the morning, at one of the shops cubicles you will see the ladies with white coats and green aprons making fresh bread type things that look like indian parathas, they serve them with honey, only 5 dirhams each. You must have. Henna cafe is a short walk, nice. The only thing about the suite we stayed in is the shower was not walk mounted and this was awkward not sure if this is the same for each room.
This is a nice place in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This is a nice little riad in Marrakesh Medina. A little tricky to find at first but it a gem.We got the suite for two nights and it was huge considering its a riad which normally have compact rooms.Love the interior which was tastefully done.Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

It is a really nice hotel in the centre of the Medina and quite close to el Fna . It is a bit hard to find at first, but once you get there the first time, you realize it is quite simple. The receptionists are very nice and help you have a pleasant stay. The owner, however, wasn't too nice to us (on the phone, she lives abroad), when we had a problem in Marrakech and had to stay one night at the hospital... The rest was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

gorgeous little Riad

This is a gorgeous little Riad just a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of the souks and main square. It is beautifully decorated and with only a handful of rooms it was always peaceful and there was always space to relax on the roof terrace very nice for the breakfast earlier or in outside square downstairs. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay there again if I were to visit again. The Riad arranged the airport transfer for us and we are glad we did this because we wouldn't have been a able to find the Riad the first time without assistance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed one night in Dar Balthazar before leaving Morocco after 10 days there and already knowing country and prices a bit. Stay in this Riad (for one night) was ~20 euro more expensive, than we planned and than was placed in our online booking sheet. Hotel added some misterios "taxes" (some of them was deleted, then they failed to explain them - first "offer" was even more expensive, for some of them they had explanations ("it's a tax for police") and i was forced to pay them)). In addition to that riad offers "drop off to airport" and refuses to arrange taxi. It's ~3 times more expensive, than taxi service.

Riad itself is clean, well maintained ant etc. But our experience was totally destroyed by attitude to guest as "wealthy foreigner with possibility to take a lot of money".We met lot's of not-that-type Marrocan B&B owners - i suggest to use other B&B services.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I can't recommend this Rhiad enough - they meet you from the airport (you need that in Marrakesh its like a maze if you don't know it!), welcome you with delicious mint tea in an oasis away from the bustle of the street.
Amazing breakfast, awesome help and advice for tourists and beautiful, luxurious rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Balthazar

Address: 32, Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Balthazar 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bab Doukkala in the Marrakech medina, Dar Balthazar is an elegant riad with personal service. It is a 10-minute walk from the souks and Jemaa El Fna square.There is a bathroom with traditional Moroccan tiles in every guest room. There are 2 rooms and 3 suites. The suites also feature air conditioning and a balcony that looks over the courtyard and fountain.Guests are invited to relax in the lounge with satellite TV, or around the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Balthazar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Balthazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.