We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Balthazar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Balthazar to your Saves list
Dar Balthazar
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   32, Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice little riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a nice little riad in Marrakesh Medina. A little tricky to find at first but it a gem.We got the suite for two nights and it was huge considering its a riad which normally have compact rooms.Love the interior which was tastefully done.Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    37
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
115
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

It is a really nice hotel in the centre of the Medina and quite close to el Fna . It is a bit hard to find at first, but once you get there the first time, you realize it is quite simple. The receptionists are very nice and help you have a pleasant stay. The owner, however, wasn't too nice to us (on the phone, she lives abroad), when we had a problem in Marrakech and had to stay one night at the hospital... The rest was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

gorgeous little Riad

This is a gorgeous little Riad just a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of the souks and main square. It is beautifully decorated and with only a handful of rooms it was always peaceful and there was always space to relax on the roof terrace very nice for the breakfast earlier or in outside square downstairs. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay there again if I were to visit again. The Riad arranged the airport transfer for us and we are glad we did this because we wouldn't have been a able to find the Riad the first time without assistance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed one night in Dar Balthazar before leaving Morocco after 10 days there and already knowing country and prices a bit. Stay in this Riad (for one night) was ~20 euro more expensive, than we planned and than was placed in our online booking sheet. Hotel added some misterios "taxes" (some of them was deleted, then they failed to explain them - first "offer" was even more expensive, for some of them they had explanations ("it's a tax for police") and i was forced to pay them)). In addition to that riad offers "drop off to airport" and refuses to arrange taxi. It's ~3 times more expensive, than taxi service.

Riad itself is clean, well maintained ant etc. But our experience was totally destroyed by attitude to guest as "wealthy foreigner with possibility to take a lot of money".We met lot's of not-that-type Marrocan B&B owners - i suggest to use other B&B services.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I can't recommend this Rhiad enough - they meet you from the airport (you need that in Marrakesh its like a maze if you don't know it!), welcome you with delicious mint tea in an oasis away from the bustle of the street.
Amazing breakfast, awesome help and advice for tourists and beautiful, luxurious rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend, my first time in Morocco, it was a bit daunting heading down a narrow side street but as soon as we stepped though the door and in to this beautiful rhiad we felt at easy and at home! Our room was clean and the ensuite bathroom was wonderful, towels and a hairdryer were provided , saved lots of room in my small case! I would stay here again anytime, it was wonderful being in the old part of town to get an authentic Marrakesh experience. The staff were the biggest part of how good our stay was, they were so friendly, helpful and really just fabulous. I cannot recommend this place enough......i'll be back soon for sure!!! x

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

...this is not necessarily a positive or a negative. To start with we had 2 holidays in the sense that we did 50% luxury and 50% on a more strict budget. This riad falls into the latter.

The riad is fantastically located 5mins walk from the main square. The staff are pleasant and the room is relatively spacious. I think we were a little too judgemental having just come from the riad kniza and in terms of comparative 'luxury' dar Balthazar doesn't stand a chance. What I would bear in mind is that you shouldn't compare. It is a quarter of the price of the luxury riads and if you're on a budget then this is a great place to go. It should be noted that the staff demand cash only payments (something we didn't know) and we were hassled for ours on the first night by someone who didn't even look like he worked there. Not exactly a great first impression. Having said that the riad is clean, smart and basic. The room (pay a little more for a suite like we did) was spacious and adequate. If you're on a stricter budget this is a nice riad to stay in but if you're expecting a luxury riad you'll be disappointed. go to riad farnatchi or riad kniza for luxury

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Balthazar

Address: 32, Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Balthazar 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bab Doukkala in the Marrakech medina, Dar Balthazar is an elegant riad with personal service. It is a 10-minute walk from the souks and Jemaa El Fna square.There is a bathroom with traditional Moroccan tiles in every guest room. There are 2 rooms and 3 suites. The suites also feature air conditioning and a balcony that looks over the courtyard and fountain.Guests are invited to relax in the lounge with satellite TV, or around the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Balthazar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Balthazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.