We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Balthazar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Balthazar to your Saves list
Dar Balthazar
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   32, Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“Beautiful place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Location was excellent the riad himself was quiet and relaxing we had a really warm welcome with mint tea from Mouna who gave us instructions ofhow to find riad and many usefull information good air conditionlng and comfy bed and good shower lovely traditional riad with upstairs sitting area for breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    38
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
115
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A very pleasant Riad. Although very central being about 5mins from the main square, it was very nice and quiet. A great little escape in the bustle of Marrakech!

The Riad was kept nice and clean, a very pleasant and spacious room, and the staff always helpful. the only problem was that the WiFi was a little difficult to pick up and involved standing outside an office door in a corridor and trying to get a connection. Okay until more than one wanted to try then it got a bit crowded.

One word of warning about Marrakech in general. If you get to the souk instead of the square by accident, and someone offers to direct you. Just say no! A couple of circuits later, you are 'just around the corner from the square, but actually back where you were and they have run away with a 'tip' for showing you the way! Very cheeky, slightly amusing for getting conned, but also a bit irritating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

we arrived late at night and luckly we ordered a transfer. we stayed for two nights at the riad and we were welcomed by nouredine the guardian during the night and mouna during the day who were two perfect host. you really felt like you were their guest and that they really cared about you.all of the staff i should say they were amazing . i could not recommend this riad highly enough . it was really nice the breakfast and the dinner. if we go back to marrakech and probably will as we love it. i would must definitely arrange my stay around this riad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Very atmospheric. A warm welcome from Badr, made us feel special. Beautiful place, very clean and with a feeling of luxury. Lovely breakfasts on the roof terrace. Easy to find equipped with a map, just a right and a right from the taxi stop, though we walked from the railway station with no trouble. Highly recommended, and a very good price! Well located for the square and souks.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a great long weekend at Dar Balthazat. The riad is beautiful, the room spacious and romantic, the service one of the best we ever had. Just ensure you get a map before arrival or you will get lost in the small streets (its just a cople min walking from the taxi, but not easy to find withou a map).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Dar Balthazar is such a beautiful and cosy riad to send a perfect vacation in Marrakech. We stayed there 7 nights and felt very comfortable. The stuff is always very friendly and helpful and makes your stay as pleasant as possible.
I would highly recommend this place and would go there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The riad has been beautifully restored and is a comfortable, quiet and very relaxing place to stay in Marrakesh. It is located a 10 minute walk to the central square and souks and a 15 minute walk to the central bus station. The rooms are furnished nicely and comfortable. The courtyard is great to enjoy breakfast and dinner and to relax. The staff is very kind and always eager to help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Balthazar

Address: 32, Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Balthazar 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bab Doukkala in the Marrakech medina, Dar Balthazar is an elegant riad with personal service. It is a 10-minute walk from the souks and Jemaa El Fna square.There is a bathroom with traditional Moroccan tiles in every guest room. There are 2 rooms and 3 suites. The suites also feature air conditioning and a balcony that looks over the courtyard and fountain.Guests are invited to relax in the lounge with satellite TV, or around the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Balthazar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Balthazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.