We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Balthazar

Save Saved
You added Dar Balthazar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dar Balthazar
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   32, Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Very atmospheric. A warm welcome from Badr, made us feel special. Beautiful place, very clean and with a feeling of luxury. Lovely breakfasts on the roof terrace. Easy to find equipped with a map, just a right and a right from the taxi stop, though we walked from the railway station with no trouble. Highly recommended, and a very good price! Well located for the square and souks.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    36
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
100
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a great long weekend at Dar Balthazat. The riad is beautiful, the room spacious and romantic, the service one of the best we ever had. Just ensure you get a map before arrival or you will get lost in the small streets (its just a cople min walking from the taxi, but not easy to find withou a map).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Dar Balthazar is such a beautiful and cosy riad to send a perfect vacation in Marrakech. We stayed there 7 nights and felt very comfortable. The stuff is always very friendly and helpful and makes your stay as pleasant as possible.
I would highly recommend this place and would go there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The riad has been beautifully restored and is a comfortable, quiet and very relaxing place to stay in Marrakesh. It is located a 10 minute walk to the central square and souks and a 15 minute walk to the central bus station. The rooms are furnished nicely and comfortable. The courtyard is great to enjoy breakfast and dinner and to relax. The staff is very kind and always eager to help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Dar Balthazar is located in the Dar El Bacha area of Marrakech a 10 minute walk to the main square or the souks. We strongly recommend that you use the airport transfer service as the riad is a short but winding walk from where a taxi will be able to drop you (as are most of the riads I believe). The transfer service means that someone will lead you on foot from the taxi to the riad's front door. The route is not at all complicated once you work it out yourself, but the first time would be crazy without the help! Their transfer service collected us at the arrivals lounge and got us to the hotel easily.

We were in the cheapest room in the riad which was small but clean, airy and comfortable with an en suite bathroom. The room was on the ground floor so at times there was noise from the central courtyard when other guests arrived back later or breakfasted earlier than us. In general though the riad was a relaxing and restful haven from the bustle of Marrakech.

The members of staff at Dar Balthazar were unfailingly welcoming, courteous and helpful assisting us with airport transfers and translation of emails from the hamman we booked.

We breakfasted at the riad each morning on bread, pastries, delicious Moroccan pancakes, orange juice and coffee. The only detraction from the riad's overall rating is that the bread and pastries, maybe due to the weather or delivery schedule, were not always very fresh.

Overall we would heartily recommend Dar Balthazar; it's a lovely little place and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is such a beautiful place
The riad itself has been beautiful restored is comfortable quiet and very relaxing place to be
The location is central and is within a five minutes walk of place djema el fna
The roof terrace is a tranquil place to relax after the medina
breakfast is also served there and very good Georgeously furnished rooms we also had a nice dinner on the roof the staff is very friendly too
we would definitely recomended staying in this riad

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent two nights here. The first night was in the lower room ("Artaban") although we had reserved (and paid) for a better room ("Encens"). This room was noisy : people knocked at the door every 30 minutes (often some friends of the "night guard"), and the breakfast was prepared at 5:30AM (with the kitchen stuck to our room...).

We had to complain to get a better room ("Melchior") which was far better. Still, it was noisy due to the "night guard" friends that spent the night under our windows discussing and listening to music.

You also need to know that sometimes, you get stuck in the street, in front of the Dar, without being able to get in because the staff is not here : happened to us twice, once at night.

But the location is good : 5 minutes away from Djama el Fnaa and 4 minutes away from the Medersa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Balthazar

Also Known As:
Dar Balthazar Hotel
Dar Balthazar Hotel Marrakech
Address: 32, Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Balthazar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bab Doukkala in the Marrakech medina, Dar Balthazar is an elegant riad with personal service. It is a 10-minute walk from the souks and Jemaa El Fna square.There is a bathroom with traditional Moroccan tiles in every guest room. There are 2 rooms and 3 suites. The suites also feature air conditioning and a balcony that looks over the courtyard and fountain.Guests are invited to relax in the lounge with satellite TV, or around the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dar Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Balthazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.