We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay at a beautiful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Nafis

Save Saved
You added Riad Nafis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Nafis
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   53-54 Ouled Ben Sebaa - Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 1,055 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay at a beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

From the moment we contacted Laurent to arrange transfers (highly recommended) to the moment we left, Rachid and the team could not have done anymore to make our stay memorable for all the right reasons. We were told on arrival that the Riad Nafis would be our home for the week, and it truly was.
Breakfast was served at a time to suit us (which changed daily!), service was attentive but never overbearing, and the riad was a welcome haven from the hussle and bustle of the medina. It's sometimes all about the small touches that make a big difference to how a place feels and that was definitaley the case.
Would recommend at least one meal at Riad Nafis, as the food was exceptional, the best we tried in Marrakech, and the experience of eating on the roof terrace at sunset was very special.
The city itself is a pretty crazy and intense experience, but in the nicest possible way. Expect to be hot and dusty on your walk back to the riad dreaming of taking a dip in the cool pool, before lounging on the terrace and claiming bragging rights on who haggled the best discount at the souks! Yes the doors don't have locks, and some of the rooms don't have a stand up shower, but that is all part of the charm, and we felt very safe, more like being a guest in someone's home, rather than staying in a faceless hotel.
If you're going to Marrakech, stay here and experience Morrocan hospitality first hand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Nafis, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review, the all team join me to express our heartflet gratitude for your stay at Riad Nafis. Some meetings are over the words, this is one of them. It was a true delight for Rachid to accompany you discovering our culture and our city, Naïma also was very pleased to cook Home made traditional Moroccan food for dinner. Our doors have no lock, but to be honest we are quite proud to have traditional closing system with no key, these traditional systems that we can show our guests. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future, once again you are truly home at Riad Nafis and the all team would be always pleased to receive you again. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
88
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Riad Nafis truly is a safe and great place to stay. I am so glad we chose to stay in a riad as opposed to a hotel as the atmosphere is so friendly and they take care of your every need. They only have the six rooms so you feel like family with everyone that stays there while you are there. They even took the time to prepare breakfast for us at 4:00 in the morning as we needed to catch an early morning plane. The medina is busy but staying at the riad was peaceful, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Nafis, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for your lovely review. Rachid and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Nafis. It was a pure delight having you these few days. Your smiles everyday your kindness with everyone of us, your interest for Marrakech were much appreciated.
We all hope to see you again in a not too far future at Riad Nafis, you are home. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Arrived late at night, around 21:00, took a taxi from the airport but the driver didn't know the address. Managed to get us quite close but had to ask a young lad the way and unloaded us at the end of an alley - luckily 2 more youths showed us the way (for a fee!), because it is well-hidden and involves a few turns.
The manager greeted us and showed us the hotel, I got the feeling he is very proud. The hotel is boutique, only 4 or 5 rooms. Ours was quite small but adequate. It was comfortable, although there was only a bathtub with a shower attachment and no curtain which made showering difficult.
A word of advice - wear earplugs. The call to prayer in the morning is very loud, and occurs at around 04:45!
Breakfast was served on the roof and was very good, and the staff attentive.
There is a pool in the centre of the hotel but we didn't use it ourselves.
If you want a hotel out of the main area (but still within walking distance to the main square and Mosque), I would recommend this - although finding it once you arrive in Marrakech may depend on a bit of luck. If I were the owner I'd look at providing a pick-up service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Nafis, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for this interesting review. First of all we would like to thank you for your stay at Riad Nafis is was a pure delight for the all team to receive you during these few days. I take the opportunity to remind you that we do provide a airport / Train station transfer service. Service, that once again I cannot recommend enough, for Riad Nafis or any Riad in the Medina in Marrakech, as 80% of the streets of the Medinas are small pedestrian streets we call « Derbs » and in our culture, we will not really work with street names, we just often don’t know them. This is a different organization and we work here more with reference point instead of street names. No taxi, nor people will know all the street names. We have to mention the district and get the closest and then you have to ask people. Yes, we always have coins with us and give some to the people that show us the way. Some guests already mentioned that the taxi from the airport to the Medina will have cost around 20 euros. We do provide airport transfers, for 2 persons costs are 18 euros the way in and 16 euros the way back, you just need to contact us ahead and get this organized. In this case our driver will wait for you at the arrivals at the airport and accompany you to the door of the riad. Even if you want to come with a taxi, contact us ahead we will provide you with directions on how to come to the riad and when you arrive, we will give you all necessary information and go out with you the first time to show you the way. At least contact us to inform you of your arrival time, especially when the estimated time is 9pm, when we know this precious piece of information, we can organize your arrival the best way, even come and collect you at the taxi and come with you to the riad. This having been said for any welcomed future traveler, we are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Marrakech and Rachid and his all team hope to be able to receive again in a not too far future, you know your way now ! Thank you again for all these priviledged moments you offered us and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Since staying at Riad Nafis last year, we returned with friends for another Moroccan adventure. Marrakech and Riad Nafis were even better the second time. Our taxi driver was alarmed when I led the way through the maze towards Riad Nafis. I knew my way and was very happy to walk through the front door. Being greeted by the same staff members was like coming home. We stayed in the Junior Suite Sultana again and were very comfortable. Friends joined us in Marrakech and based on Mr. Olier's excellent recommendation, we had an amazing three day adventure through the Atlas Mountains and Sahara with Adil with from 4x4 Camel. My passion for Moroccan food was given a significant boost with a pastilla cooking class with Mr. Olier and the Riad's cook. Based on the technique and recipe, I look forward to recreating their delicious version of pastilla. Very happy with our return trip and looking forward to a return visit in the future.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite Sultana is beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Nafis, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Madam,
No word can express enough what we felt reading this lovely review, and this relation that started last year and did continue during this last stay is over description and any kind of expression. It must be experienced. And we all did live it with a true emotion. It was a pure delight to see you again, to see you with the same passion for the Moroccan Cuisine, we felt very priviledged to make this pastilla with you and we hope that you will make it discovered overthere now. Thank you so much for including us your friends also, it was the icing on the cake and such a great pleasure for the all team. We hope to see you again in a not too far future, and let’s think about next cooking class.
Take good care of all of you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Four of us stayed at Riad Nafis in April and would not stay anywhere else now. From the airport pickup to the return journey nothing was too much trouble. Laurent and his lovely team were so attentive it was amazing.
We recommend everything we did which was all organised by the Riad. We did a half day tour with Mustapha which was well worth it. Also the Hamman which was certainly an experience. Laurent also recommended and booked restaurants for us which was great as we were only in Marrakech for 3 days.
The rooms were spotless, the meal we had was delicious and you could not fault the staff.
Thank you to Laurent,Rashid,Hashim and all the other staff that we can't name.
What a lovely trip.

NB book your airport runs with the Riad. They are waiting at the airport for you and take you to the door. And the same on the return

Room Tip: We had a suite which I think was a bit bigger. None of the rooms will be big as this is an old build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Nafis, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for your kind review. Rachid and the all team join me to express you four our heartfelt gratitude. This was such a nice meeting. Our conversations, your interest for Marrakech and our culture were greatly appreciated as much as your extreme kindness and your smiles everyday. Mustapha, our official guide still talks about the visit he did with you ! he really enjoyed this ½ day tour with you four. We all really hope to be able to see you and maybe receive you again at Riad Nafis, you are home here you well know this.
Thank you ever so much for everything you gave us and take very good care of the four of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

It was our first trip to Morocco and We stayed here for three nights in April 2013.

Upon arriving at the airport, we withdrew some local money from ATM and got a taxi. There was a big board outside the airport saying to go to city, the taxi charge is 100 MAD, but the guys there insisted as we are a couple, charge therefore is 200 MAD. Go figure that out! So we had no choice but paid 200. After arriving at the old town, the driver said he couldn't go any further and dropped us off outside the palace. Two little kids then showed us to the hotel's door. To be very frank, if not for them, there was no chance that we will find the hotel ourselves as it is really hard to spot. Then the kids wanted money. I emptyed my pocket and can only find Euro change but the kids wanted 'paper money'. The smallest MAD money I had was 200. So I refuse to give them that. The arguing was heard by people inside Nafis and they let us in. The whole experience was very stressful!

The staff was very friendly, the hotel was charming with a swimming pool in the centre court yard. However, our bath room only has a bath tub, and there was no shower curtain around it and the tap can't be hung up. To have a shower, I had to sit in the tub and wash my hair and then call my husband to hold the tap and rinse for me! It was very inconvenient. I had to do the same for my husband too. But there are still water spilled everywhere.

Our room was very small. We had nowhere to open our suitcases and had to use the bed everytime we need to get something out, which is all the time. There were two very big pillars in the room right in front of the bed. My husband walked into it to go to the bathroom the first night. In fact, they are very hard to miss even during the day because the room is so small.

We love the terrace breakfast and the location of the hotel but overall, it's disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Nafis, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for your kind review and I would like to say that we feel a bit sad that despite the charm of the place and the staff very friendly, I suppose that Morocco is a different world comparing to Australia, with a different organization, different culture and way of life. Once again, this is our duty as professionnal of Tourism and of the hotel industry to help you and provide you with the major keys to understand and discover the best way our different culture. Different does not mean bad or good, I deeply beleive that our culture is even more interesting, more charming because of this difference. And the thousands of visitors that we receive every year will feel and appreciate these differences also. You just need to know how to afford it then you can appreciate it.
This is the reason why, I would never recommend enough, any future traveler, wherever you are traveling, contact us ahead, before traveling we will be able to organize your airport transfer . Our driver will accompany you to the door of the riad and then, we will provide you with all information you need to enjoy your stay and our city in the best way. Also a Riad is not a hotel, standardized, but a traditionnal house, in the heart of the Medina, old historical and genuine part of our cities, this is maybe just the opposite of a hotel, but an intimate place where we do have human exchanges and time to help you understand our country. At Riad Nafis we do provide 2 types of rooms, the standard rooms, the smallest category, what you booked and the junior suites, the larger rooms. You stayed in the Berber standard double room, the two pillars you disliked are traditionnal authentic supporting pillars of berber houses as we can see them in berber houses in the countryside and in the mountains, and honestly we are proud to be able to show our residents what this does look like and have some in the berber room. Travelling is a matter of expectations I suppose, and Marrakech provides with hotels all categories and Riads of all categories also. A Riad is certainly for travelers looking for discovering the culture of Morocco, the soul of the genuine life, Riads are located right in the middle of families leaving here everyday, with children playing and running in our pedestrian streets (derbs) what makes our travelers discover the atmosphere of the oriental medina’s streets. We feel frustrated that you felt a bit disapointed and honestly we were very pleased to receive you. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Beautiful Riad, above-and-beyond service, amazing breakfast every morning on the roof deck. I would recommend this Riad to anyone! It can be a little tough to find, so be sure to ask for directions ahead of time, but it's a very safe location as it's right next to the royal residence, so there are lots of guards around. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Nafis, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you very much for this lovely review. We are all very grateful for your stay at Riad Nafis, having you these few days among us was a pure delight. As you mentionned it, we can not recomment enough future visitors to contact us ahead in order to organize an airport transfer or at least get directions. We are as 90% of the riads in a pedestrian street of the old city in a country where the culture and the organisation is slightly different. Once you know your way, it is extremely easy. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future and thank you again for everything you gave us. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Nafis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nafis

Address: 53-54 Ouled Ben Sebaa - Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,055 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad Nafis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Nafis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nafis Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Nafis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.