We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury relaxing & peaceful....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere to your Saves list
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukala Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“luxury relaxing & peaceful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just back last night from 4 nights and 5 days in Marrakesh, Our first visit, absolutely loved it! The Medina market full of tat but an experience, Would recommend a city tour by horse and carriage, perfect way to travel, make sure you visit the Majorella Gardens and Ben Yuseff university building, beautiful traditional Moroccan architecture.
The Naoura Barriere Hotel was a fantastic luxury experience and an oasis of tranquillity, centrally located with the hussle and bustle of the city right outside the door, whilst sunbathing by the pool was a peaceful and relaxing experience, weather was also fabulous, 43*, not sure I would want to go much later in the summer, it was very hot!
Staff were lovely, breakfast fantastic, we upgraded to a deluxe room, it was well worth it. The Medina and main square area although interesting, was a rip off for food, drinks and shopping generally, we ate in the evening in the New City, Guilez? area, would recommend, The Grand Post House Cafe and Le Loft. We will definitely be back, 3.5 hours from Manchester and 10 mins by taxi from the airport, a fantastic city/sun break and a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: we up graded to a deluxe room and felt this was really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest ,

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
we look forward to welcoming you again to Naoura Barrière in a not too distant future
Yours sincerely ,

Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    123
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
118
240
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I hope Arnaud B, Directeur général is reading this because the service here is terrible.
Having a good room and a good swimming pool is a basic in any hotel.
Here the service is severely lacking and I blame the Director General for that. The staff need more training.
Almost every request we made during our 2 night stay was misunderstood. Speaking English is not a strong point with 98% of the staff. A funny one was "Can you please take our room service tray" was translated as "you want toilet paper ?"
Breakfast is a major challenge - always empty items on the buffet and found ourselves always asking for something. It became a game for us that how many times we could ask without getting anything. We ran out of time !
Today was "The Galette bread is empty" - it was ignored. We then saw some gallettes being taken to a table so we asked again ...40 minutes later nothing..... C'est la vie.
There are so many staff running around but we noticed nobody ever asked us "is there anything you need" ?
Breakfast finishes at 10.30am but it may as well finish at 9.45am - nothing gets refilled.
At reception on arrival they asked - Would you like a newspaper during your stay ? Oh yes - the Times please. Result - no newspapers. Come on guys this is basic stuff.
The hotel is looking tired. Many walls are dirty and wood doors look scruffy.
At night they put candles on the paving slabs by steps which look dangerous and clearly get kicked over by guests. The result is large stains of candle wax on the paving which looks terrible. It was the first thing we noticed on arrival.
What was strange was that reception asked for our flight departure details several times but when I asked if they provided an airport transfer they said no. Nothing had been booked either. So why ask us ? Was it perhaps so they can have our room quickly on departure ?
One tip - Room Service knock once and immediately walk in. We found the same with Housekeeping. So watch out ! Suggest lock the door.
This hotel is not cheap and guests deserve better.
We have stayed at Fouquets in Paris where the service was excellent. I am surprised that the Fouquets Group allow this standard in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Junior suite is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time and the precisions you gave me about the hotel and the service generally.
I have very very well noticed your disappointment regarding the service and the product.
I feel very sorry for that because you did not mention any positive point regarding your last stay. It is a shame for my staff and myself since our goal is to give the best feelings and service tou our guests......
Please, give us a chance to show you how we can be more efffective in delivering service, meeting your expectations and going further.
I assure you this is absolutly not the way my team works every day for our guests. Please note also we close every year during a short period of time in summertime in order to refresh the hotel (painting, refurbishment, and so on..) but also in order to train again and again our team to improve the service. The points you mention in your comments will be of great help to imporve our weaknesses.
I will get a grip of things and wish to have the pleasure to welcome you again in much better conditions.
Yours Sincerely,
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was a little nervous having read the mixed reviews on here! I need not have worried! We stayed in Ryad 519 the Ryad was fantastic! Big and comfortable! Fantastic for a family! The Ryad was kept very very clean! The only grumble we had was a drain like smell in the downstairs, which did clear with oil burners and use of the showers! The other grumble was the air con which was not very effective in the bedrooms! Neither problems spoilt our stay! We ate in Fouquets restaurant on the first night and the food was delicious but as has been previously mentioned the service was not great, although they were very friendly! The breakfast was great, staff lovely but as previously mentioned it's a shame not all the food is covered as the birds do peck away at the cakes and nuts! On our last day a birthday cake was delivered for one of our party which was a lovely touch as we had not mentioned! We never sat by the hotels main pool as we had such a lovely area and pool at the Ryad!!! If you are thinking of booking a Ryad here then I can highly recommend!!!!!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
We hope to see you soon in Marrakech

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barrier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here as a family and were impressed with the size of the room, marble bathroom and high tech gadgets. The rooms overlook a huge central pool which was very clean and a very good for children due to the layout of the sunbeds overlooking it. The staff were very attentive and loved children so we were made to feel very welcome indeed.

This was our first hotel in our week long trip to Marrakech and it was an easy transition to exploring Marrakech for the first time. It is like an oasis of calm inside the hotel doors and outside so close to the action.

The spa is beautiful too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear guest,

It was such a pleasure to read there wonderful lines to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Marrakech.

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager

Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Firstly, a recommendation. We used Suntransfers.com to transport us from the airport to the hotel and back again. They charged approx £25 for this service (less than half of what the hotel charges) and they were brilliant! We had to change the times of the bookings several times thanks to flight issues and they did it very efficiently. We got a luxury mini-bus for just the two of us and a driver that dealt with our luggage to and from the airport. I will definitely use them again.

Secondly a tip. Do not think you can spend any left over Dirhams in the duty free shop when waiting for your flight in Marrakech. Once you go through the security area after check-in all of the shops only accept Euros and there is nowhere to exchange them after security. We found this ridiculous and irritating.

Hotel
Very pretty and very peaceful. You don't actually feel like you are in Morocco. It's no more than a 10 minute walk to the Medina. All of the staff speak French. Some of them only speak a few words of English so prepare to be patient. We arrived at the hotel around 11am and check-in wasn't until 3pm. They gave us complimentary cocktails while we waited which were delicious and we quickly became hooked! The Wi-Fi comes and goes. It seemed to disappear constantly in our room which was a real pain. As we went over Easter, we were lucky enough to be given an Easter egg when we ordered room service one evening. There had been an egg hunt for the children earlier in the day and this was a nice touch. They also put out a trolley full of chocolates in reception for guests to help themselves to. Delicious!

Room
We booked a Superior room. They are situated on the ground floor around the pool area and the restaurants. We had room 21. It was huge, comfortable, well designed with a terrace but... Ants were getting in through any available cracks in the bathroom walls. The last thing we wanted to do was shower with them! In fairness to the hotel, they sent someone the following morning to put filler in the cracks and that seemed to stop the problem. The second issue was the room temperature. The air conditioning worked, but you couldn't make the room warmer? All you could do was switch the air-con off. The shower/bath was so badly designed. To turn the shower on. You had to climb in the bath and turn on a tap at the end which meant standing directly under the shower head. As soon as you turn it on, a cold blast of water hits you!! You can't avoid it! I also thought it was dangerous to have a step up to the bath. You need to be really careful when stepping out. The safe had to constantly be reset. The TV remote control is the most complicated I've ever seen and only worked when you stood right in front of the TV. It doesn't work when you're lying on the bed! The patio doors didn't lock properly - not ideal when your in a ground floor room.

Restaurants
Breakfast is a typical buffet. Not a massive choice of food and drink on offer but it was ok. English travellers may want to take their own tea bags as the English Breakfast ones they use are as weak as I've ever had! They must have a shortage of spoons because we had to ask for them every morning to eat our cereal. The staff failed to keep the food topped up. We had to keep asking for bread and cereal to be brought out. The teapots were often cracked and we were given milk for our coffee in a cup rather than a jug one morning?! Wasps swarmed around the fruits as they weren't covered and a jar of Nutella was brought out that was solid. You couldn't put a spoon in it!

You can eat at the buffet bar for lunch or go to the more formal restaurants; Nuphar or Fouquet's. All of these are around the pool area. Fouquet's and Nuphar are fairly pricey but have very nice food and adequate choices.

Pool & Gym
This has to be the only hotel I've ever been to where people didn't rush to reserve sunbeds. You'd go and have breakfast then head over to the pool guy who would give you help to select sunny or shaded beds and lay towels down. The gym equipment was fairly limited. Only 2 treadmills and 3 exercise bikes.

Finally, the traffic in Marrakech is insane. We saw 3 accidents in 7 days. Avoid taxis if you can it's actually safer to walk!

Room Tip: Don't go for a superior room. Choose a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for this detailed description of the hotel and its services.
We have noted your comments in regards of the breakfast buffet and thank you very much for your feed-back. Indeed, any additional items can be ordered upon your choice.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

A highly recommended hotel. Situated within the walled Medina only ten minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna Square yet still amazingly quiet and peaceful. Rooms are well equipped, comfortable and nicely presented. Pool area is lovely with good facilities. We enjoyed the restaurant although the menu could be considered a little short on choice. The spa is wonderful and definitely worth, (at least one!) visit. Throughout the hotel the staff are just brilliant, very efficient and super friendly.
A great hotel and now one of my firm favourites.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
What a pleasure to read that your wife and you enjoyed your stay with us at Naoura Barrière and we are so grateful that you have shared your comments on TripAdvisor!
It is a wonderful feed-back for the team to read that their efforts were up to your expectations and of course, you’re not supposed to lift a finger on your holidays!
We are looking forward to your next visit to Marrakech and hope to see you soon!
Yours sincerely,
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just when I would start to really like this place there was something that would let me down. The locations was definitely very good, outside of the madness but a very close walk into the Medina. And the pool area is really quite nice. I agree with others who say that if you look closely you can see the wear and tear around the property and in the rooms, although overall okay. We found the service to be variable and often slow. On the first day it was quite good but went downhill from there. We had a TV remote that we complained about daily (as once on, it would stick, we could not shut off the TV and mounted in the wall there was no access to power switch or plug) but it took 2 days and multiple calls for them to finally replace it...on our last night. After yet another call for help we heard the audible sigh on the phone. I guess they were as frustrated as we were! Breakfast was decent though there were "fights" for tables and lunch at the cafe was very average. The spa could use a makeover and my feet were buffed raw by an overzealous employee who did not understand my pleas in english to be gentle. Not good for a traveler who plans on walking around a lot to explore the city. Fyi, some staff speak english but others don't. Overall, it was fine but I think for the money there is probably something better out there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are very sorry about your past experience at Hotel Naoura Barriere. Please note this is absolutly not in our habit to give such a level of service.
I did make a point with my team about all your remarks. We make our best to improve the quality of service and standard you are expecting to find in our hotel.

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere

Address: Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukala Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Ryads Naoura Barriere
Hotel Ryads Naoura Barriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.