We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect winter treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere to your Saves list
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukala Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #126 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect winter treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Back in January we needed a change from gloomy, rainy London and decided to take a short break in Marrakech at this hotel. It was possibly one of the best decisions we made this year. This is a beautiful hotel and the minute you walk in the pampering starts with little hot scented towels to freshen up. We were shown to our Deluxe Junior Suite on the second floor. It was spacious and lovely with a sunny terrace as well. The style is luxe modern with a huge bed covered with crisp, white linens and a large flatscreen TV inset into the wall. The wifi was fast, the 2 bathrooms were a bonus and there was a small walk in closet/dressing room. Along with the usual mini bar, room safe etc., there was a bowl of fresh fruit and little Moroccan pastries and fresh flowers. This all added up to make it a fabulous and relaxing room.

The real star is the breakfast which is probably the best we've had from any hotel that we've ever stayed at. It's basically any thing you want all served up in grand style in the comfort of your room. You can also take it by the pool but there is something gloriously lazy about this room service breakfast. It really is a delicious treat.

The hotel is situated in a peaceful location within the city walls, yet just a short stroll to all the action. The bar serves excellent cocktails and snacks. There is a large heated pool surrounded by comfortable seating and a spa. Everything you need for a perfect break.

Best of all is the staff. We've stayed in plenty of great hotels that had miserable staff. This is not the case here. Everyone smiles and everyone is helpful. Each night with the turn down they leave a little card with the next day's weather forecast and for the entire stay it had a little graphic of a sun on it.

So...beautiful hotel and room, attentive staff, wonderful city and non stop sun!
It doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour au Naoura Barrière de Marrakech.
Au plaisir de vous recevoir prochainement pour que vous puissiez profiter de la ville de lumières en plein cœur de la Médina.
Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    121
    42
    15
    3
See reviews for
113
232
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay in this hotel. Every body from the staff was kind smiling and attentive to our needs. My kids loved the kids club with lovely ladies at the club. The battler Souad was very helpful. I enjoyed every day at this hotel can't complain about the service nor the location. Though my husband was not happy about the breakfast open area where the birds were all over the food. Maybe if they keep the food covered that will be more hygiene safe.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at Naoura Barrier
We look forward to welcome you again very soon.

sincerely,

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager

Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Hotel is centrally located near enough to walk and far enough from the crazy Place Jehmaa el fna.The hotel is exactly like the photos in their website.The service is top and very professional.We were given a beautiful room at the far end of the hotel which I liked for privacy.We stayed for 3 nights to celebrate my husband's birthday and on the day of his birthday they sent up a birthday cake! It was such a lovely touch.
Everyone spoke English and French ,all trained so professionally and nothing was ever too much.I booked through booking.com and did the Junior suite prepared which is the same rate as a regular deluxe room.The room was just fabulous! Huhe,bright and loved the neutral tones.The room has a separate shower and sink and another tub and sink separate from each other,perfect for a couple.The terrace was nice in the evening and we could hear the prayer call from the Katoubia Mosque which I found so lovely,it adds to the ambience.The AC in the room was perfect not too cold and zero noise.My gosh the size of the bed was huge and extremely comfortable.
On our last day we were given late check out since our flight was leaving late in the afternoon,we used the hotel car and our driver was kind enough to take us to our boarding gate.
I have stayed at the Mamounia and I just feel it has gotten too expensive and along with the price comes the bad attitude as well while as the Naoura is so relax and friendly atmosphere it can be both a family hotel or also a honeymoon hotel.I am glad I made the right choice and definitely will come back.
Tip: try to get the same cab driver each time you go out.Get a nice cab driver ask for his card and just call him when needed ,changing cab driver each time is such a pain they try to over charge and pretend not to have change.best keep plenty small change.

Room Tip: fixed price artisan shopping right beside the hotel with good quality things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at Naoura Barrier
We look forward to welcome you again very soon.

sincerely,

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager

Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I spent five nights in this hotel with my friend and generally it is a good hotel. The location of this hotel is superb because it is in the middle of the old town and new town. It took us 10 mins to the old market and 20 mins to the new town where the fashion outlets and restaurants are. It is not easy to walk in the middle of the summer though but night time is alright.

The room we stayed in is facing towards the pool and it is quite big. I really enjoyed reading and chilling out the small balcony. However, the wifi reception in my room was bad. It was slow and the connection dropped out sometimes. There are two bathroom rooms in the room. One is equipped with a bath tub and the other one is with a shower.

Breakfast is alright. They have all standard food like cold cut, eggs and some middle eastern things. The bakery was quite decent. I like the croissant and small chocolate muffin.

I love their swimming pool most. It is big and deep enough to swim. There are plenty of sun chairs too and I really enjoyed swimming in the afternoon.

Staff were ok to us but sometimes they took too long to entertain your request, e.g. 45 mins to get you a bottle of water in the swimming pool. I did not see anyone being rude though and generally they were quite friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at Naoura Barrier
We look forward to welcome you again very soon.

sincerely,

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It's a beautiful hotel, very close to the airport and the rooms were large, spacious and very comfortable! I would have given it 5 stars if not for the staff who were not so friendly, they were not very welcoming, especially the front office staff! The chocolates from our fridge were also stolen when we got back at night after a long day and the Vodka bottle was half empty! We stayed in a 4 room villa and they didn't have a hair dryer in any of the rooms and an iron/ironing board! I wish they had placed at least one. Otherwise, everything else was great! Loved the location and ambience of the hotel, breakfast was also very good!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are very sorry about your past experience at Hotel Naoura Barriere. Please note this is absolutly not in our habit to give such a level of service.
I did make a point with my team about all your remarks. We make our best to improve the quality of service and standard you are expecting to find in our hotel.

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Neither a pretentious brand or a pretty boutique, this hotel instead offers incredibly friendly service and big rooms at an excellent location close to the Medina.

The staff here are by far and away the best of any hotel I have visited in Marrakech. They genuinely want to look after guests and appeared to be having a great time doing it. There was nothing forced or disingenuous about their approach.

Location - superb:
It's about as close to the Medina as possible for a mid-sized hotel - 5 minutes' walk to the mosque, main square and souks. Any closer, and it's pretty much riad-only territory.

Clientele:
Fellow guests varied from seniors, to mixed race families and 30 something gays. All with a good splash of cash are welcome, it would seem. No riff-raff.

Food:
There was a good club menu for lunch and breakfast was fine - usual mix of egg dishes and continental items, plus big pots of home made preserves. Room service was very efficient - none of the usual three or four calls of doom to reception as is too often the case in Maroc hotels.

Strange:
There was a random DJ in the brasserie style bar/restaurant one evening playing club versions of maudlin songs, such as 'Losing My Religion' - not what any of the above wanted to hear.

Rooms:
The junior suite was pretty big, though the standard rooms are also a good size. The juniors had two washrooms on either side of the room, a huge bath and walk-in shower. The smaller rooms lose the walk-in shower, have a slightly smaller bed and slightly smaller balcony.

Swim:
The pool was clean, huge and welcoming. Even when busy, it was still relaxing - the people here are discrete.

Fitness:
Pop in to the small gym and see Mustapha. He will pick up where your personal trainer left off. He's working in France later this summer, and I wish him well.

Negative:
The only disappointment was the spa. The treatments were a third more expensive than the far superior one at the Delano a few streets away. The 'U' area as it is called looks tired. The big jacuzzi that looks amazing on the marketing pictures smells of damp and has paint peeling away inside. The spa had been the main attraction for me when booking. But while that was a disappointment, the professionalism, energy and commitment to customer service and the quality of the accommodations more than made up.

Riads:
I had a look at the on-site riads. They are magnificent and very private. Do it, if you can afford to.

Tip:
The smaller rooms on the ground floor only have plants to separate your outdoor terrace area from other guests - might be an issue for some and check before booking. However, I would add that there is a good security presence at this hotel.

Cars:
There was free valet parking (i had read somewhere this was charged - not the case for my stay) and free wifi around the grounds and in the room.

This is a good, solid recommendation and it's clear that this joint attracts repeat guests each year. If you want brand chic, go to the Delano or Four Seasons, if you want pretty then go to Les Jardins de la Medina. If you want a friendly, mid-upper priced hotel with all you'd expect for the cost - and if you want to be very close to the Medina but not in it, then I can't think of anywhere better - and a big part of that is down to all the staff and whoever trains them.

Room Tip: Ground floor terraces are not hugely private, maybe go for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest ,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this beautiful comment on Tripadvisor.
It was indeed a real pleaser to read that enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel and our services were up to your expectation.

Hopefully i will be able to greet you on your next stay with us

Sincerely

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager

Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This great little hotel is very close to the airport and is in the old town Marrakech. It is big enough that if one does not want to sample the sounds of Marrakech you could essentially hang around the pool for a couple of days.
Our room was beautiful, it was large, great shower, bath and walk in wardrobe, massive balcony and comfy beds.
However between the night club beat thumping through most of the night and the mosque call to prayer at crack of dawn I found sleep hard to come by. As a matter of fact being close to the mosque was its major disadvantages as it seemed the Moroccans were constantly being called to pray.
The breakfast was good, but the Coffee was absolutely terrible, I tried every variation possible and they could not bring me a drinkable cup of coffee!
We asked the hotel to arrange a tour guide and I have to say Nouri was the probably the most clueless tour guide I have ever had the misfortune of meeting. He walked us around from shop to shop, pointed to vegetable and fruits and showed us the same minaret from different views at least a dozen times pretending that each time it was a different one from the different era.
The hotel staff were very nice and helpful, but sadly not very knowledgeable, so when we asked for restaurants etc, they sent us to terrible place.... if you stay here go prepared and do not reply on the concierge to send you some where nice to eat.
The spa was very nice reasonably priced and we tried every massage possible!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lobby where the night club sound will keep you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are very sorry about your past experience at Hotel Naoura Barriere. Please note this is absolutly not in our habit to give such a level of service.
I did make a point with my team about all your remarks. We make our best to improve the quality of service and standard you are expecting to find in our hotel.

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere

Address: Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukala Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Ryads Naoura Barriere
Hotel Ryads Naoura Barriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.