We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad? More like a small apartment block!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere to your Saves list
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukala Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Twickenham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Riad? More like a small apartment block!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked a three bedroom Riad - I was too lazy to sort out separate rooms for a family, always a pain on most websites.

It was massive, just massive. Spread over three floors, with its own lift, courtyard and plunge pool. Two living rooms, kitchen (not a kitchenette, a full kitchen).

The main hotel pool was large and heated - nice at this time of year (April).

All very comfortable. Ate at the Restaurant for dinner once and it was fine, as was the breakfast buffet.

Service was generally very good - although be warned English is very definitely a third language for most of the staff here, so there is scope for mis-understanding if your request is not straightforward. Nothing insurmountable.

Booze is expensive - think London restaurant prices and then some, but that seems to go with the territory here.

Location is great, on the edge of the Medina meaning a) you can get to the hotel easily in a cab and b) you can readily walk in to the Medina, to the square etc.

All in all: highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Riads are monster big and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are very sorry about your past experience at Hotel Naoura Barriere. Please note this is absolutly not in our habit to give such a level of service.
I did make a point with my team about all your remarks. We make our best to improve the quality of service and standard you are expecting to find in our hotel.

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    123
    44
    16
    5
See reviews for
120
243
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a relaxing and very quiet hotel there is no traffic or AC noise.
It is within walking distance of Koutoubia Mosque and Jemaa El Fna.
The food is excellent.
The staff were always polite and helpful.
I will definitely return to this hotel on my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client , Chère cliente ,

Nous sommes ravis que vous avez passé un excellent moment lors de votre séjour au Naoura Barrière.
Nous espérons sincèrement vous revoir bientôt parmi nous.

Très sincèrement

Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a 4 bedroom ryad at the Naoura Barriere and we did not want to leave! Management was kind enough to upgrade us fro our 3 bedroom reservation to a 4 bedroom which was a generous gift. The accommodations were luxurious, the service impeccable and the hotel beautiful. Also, the location is perfect as you are able to walk to the Jemaa el-Fnaa, yet feel completed secluded when at the hotel. The restaurants were great and the breakfast buffet was really nice. I can not wait to return and would not consider staying anywhere else when in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Spurge on the Ryad. It is an experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest ,

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
we look forward to welcoming you again to Naoura Barrière in a not too distant future
Yours sincerely ,

Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent 4 nights in this exceptionally good hotel. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable with wonderful service from every member of staff we came in contact with.
Very pleasant pool area with ample room and facilities.
Taxis in marrakech cost very little however we prefer to walk where possible so you get to see and understand more. Naoura Barriere is perfectly situated for all central points of interest.
We travel worldwide on business and this rates as one of the best hotels we have stayed in in recent years.
Possibly due to the time of year, our balcony never seemed to get any direct sunlight, however that just makes us sound terribly fussy. It's a great place to stay and we thank them for making it so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for sun on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
We hope to see you soon in Marrakech

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barrier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris, france
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I'm actually staying in a very nice and luxury junior suite overlooking the swimming pool for a relaxing stay in Marrakech! service is good and the rooms are very well equipped with state of the art TV and Bose sound system. the hotel is very quiet but right in the medina.
BUT some disgusting acts are existing at the swimming pool! used towels romoved from from the vacated sunbeds are folded back and given back to new arriving sunbathers!!!!!
NO definitely not acceptable in a supposed to be 5* Ryan and hotel
I'm really disappointed and will never ce back ton this hotel where the rack rate is 500 €....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are very sorry about your past experience at Hotel Naoura Barriere. Please note this is absolutly not in our habit to give such a level of service.
I did make a point with my team about all your remarks. We make our best to improve the quality of service and standard you are expecting to find in our hotel.

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just spent a really lovely week here. It is rare that we book a large luxury hotel, especially in a hotel chain. So often we have found them pretentious, impersonal and offering style over substance. Having toured Morocco extensively before, we booked this simply to have a pampered break in the sun and it lived up to all expectations in every respect.
Our junior suite was hugely spacious and luxurious. Everything throughout the hotel was beautiful and modern and of excellent decor. The staff were delightful and helpful. The restaurant offered affordable fine dining. The bar was lovely, serving drinks with generous nibbles. Our room mini bar offered free drinks restocked daily and room service was quick and excellent with every request.
Breakfast was very pleasant outside and the pool was huge with high quality loungers.
The location was excellent, just a short stroll to the vibrant square.
Staying here exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: You may prefer to ask for an upper floor and on the side in the sun. The ground floor rooms have gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this beautiful comments on Tripadvisor, following your stay with us.it will be a great honour to welcome you back to the Naoura Barrière .
With warm regards

Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlestone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a weeks stay at the hotel. The staff were very helpful, courteous & nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious with 2 bathrooms & a superb bed. We played golf while staying at the hotel & the hotel used their cars to ferry us to the courses & airport. Food was good in the hotel but it was also perfectedly situated for other eating establishments within walking distance of most tourists sites.

Room Tip: alchol is v expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Google Translation
Chère GÉRALDINE ,
je tiens à vous remercier d'avoir résidé au Naoura Barrière et d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire vos impressions sur Tripadvisor.
Nous vous remercions pour les compliments sur nos services et nos équipes ,qui seront ravies de prendre connaissance de vos commentaires.
Dans l'attente de vous recevoir très bientôt à Marrakech.

Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere

Address: Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukala Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Ryads Naoura Barriere
Hotel Ryads Naoura Barriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.