We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in the centre of the old city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukala Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Nottingham, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peace in the centre of the old city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This peaceful hotel is ideally placed for the old city or the new town, both within easy walking distance though there is a taxi and caleche stand outside as well. We got a good deal on the rate, otherwise it is very expensive, especially the food (we ate out very cheaply). The superior room is spacious and comfortable with all you need (including a DVD player), and the breakfast is super with plenty of choice. The staff were all extremely obliging. We had booked this hotel as part of a golfing holiday, and they organised all transfers and tee times faultlessly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client , Chère cliente

Nous essayons à chaque séjour de mettre tout en œuvre afin d'assurer le meilleur confort de nos clients et leurs familles. Nos équipes seront ravies de savoir que vous avez aimé votre séjour parmi nous.
Nous espérons vous revoir très prochainement au Naoura Barrière.

Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    96
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
84
192
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have bene to Marrakech many times and brought my teenage step kids this November. Rather than stay in a boutique hotel we chose this hotel as its central and has a large pool which they would enjoy. We had a lovely stay. The rooms were large and comfortable. Only complaint is that we couldnt cool the room enough for me as they had a system which was controlled centrally. The Fouquet restaurant was lovely too. Lovely spa. The kids had a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Google Translation
Chère Martine ,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir séjourner à l’hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière et d'avoir laissé des commentaires sur l'établissement sur Tripadvisor.
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un agréable moment parmi nous et vous remercions de votre confiance.
En espérant vous revoir très rapidement à Marrakech.

Très sincèrement,

Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our third trip to Marrakech . on our first trip we stayed in a Riad in the Medina , on the second and opulent 5 star hotel . Both were very good But I think this hotel offers the best of both worlds . It is big enought to have great facilties like a lovely pool , excellent room service including a fantastic free room service breakfast as well as a great spa include free steam room and jacuzzi pool .
The staff were really friendly and the service excellent , from the very helful conserige desk to excellent houskeeping . Roomwise we had a great balcony , comfy beds , big flat screen TV with Bose sound system . Lots of wardrobe space in a very modern well designed room with great decor . There were two armchairs so often missing from many hotel rooms .
The bar and restaurant were very good . If you go down for Breakfast you will find a very wide choice from bacon and eggs to local cuisine alongside cold meats , great pastries and cake .
Lastly the location is perfect , close to the Jemaa El Fna but quiet and on the right side of tow for the better restrants and nightlife of the new town .
All in all just perfect . good for couples , families and for business .

Room Tip: If sun on your balcony is important to you then you need a room on the south wing at the far end , e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImaneHazime, Executive Secretary at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Madam , Dear sir,

thank you very much for these wonderful words following your recent stay with us!!
our team consttantly strives ti achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our services and our rooms.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Hotel and Ryads Naoura Barrière.

Yours sincerely

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel was good in all respects i.e. location close to the old city activities and historical sites, good food and very good service. The only serious problem we found was the inability to control the temperature in the room as winter heating was on. Temperature remained between 21.5 to 22 degrees C even with fan inoperative - no climate control. It is a modern hotel but the attraction would have been to be in a RIAD (the traditional but modern hotel) but the main advantage was to be within walking distance of the attractions of the old walled city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for visiting Hotel Naoura Barriere and for giving us your feedback. I made a point with my tema concernning the heating problem and we did take measures in order to avoid future problem.
We hope to see you in the near future since our location is a key point for you.
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel was expected on arrival with service commensurate with its 5* rating
The room was spacious, well appointed and clean. Air conditioning was fine
The service was great throughout the stay and the concierge was helpull and knowledgeable regarding local sites and services. They organised a car and driver for us to visit the mountains and this was an excellent trip
The proximity to the medina allows you to make forays into the souk and rapidly escape the madness back to tranquility

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for trusting Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere.
We thank you as well for giving us your feed back which is a motivation feature for our team. We hope to welcome you again in the near future in Marrakech.
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Firstly this hotel is beautiful and a truly luxurious experience, staff are great, food is above average definitely but not spectacular, something I discovered throughout Marrakesh. I am however in love with the Moroccan pancakes. The hotel beds are super comfy and the rooms in total are fabulous, I did find that the bathroom shower area a bit strange as there is no shower curtain so therefore the water gets everywhere, but there is always a member of staff ready to make everything new and fresh for your comfort.

Now I booked this hotel through Expedia and it was clear when we arrived that everyone else staying there definitely did not use Expedia or probably don't even know what Expedia is.

This was snobbery at its best I'm pretty conservative and do not behave like my various other travelling British counterparts, I am and was extremely respectful and dressed appropriately however the stares and turned up noses were overly apparent. Picture rich couples most of which are quite old not friendly Russian mainly, and I do believe due to my ethnic origin a slight be wonderment as to how I could possibly afford this hotel. Everybody arrives in fancy huge expensive chauffeur driven cars not a taxi a chauffeur.

The hotel is filled with old rich people who aren't that pleasant to look at (unattractive and too much cash to spend on surgery yucky) The hotel manager looked a little dismayed when he saw me and my companion with out caramel dark skin British accents locks and youth. I did not see another black person in this hotel not as a worker and definitely not as a guest. As a successful business woman self made and therapist I am fortunate that youth has stayed with me, as a lot of these rich snobs were in fact probably younger than I am. it was common to see in the Medina a few older white men sporting younger black arm candy, I quickly understood that in some parts of the world people like me are a myth. I missed my home because of this as in London people just like me are a dime to the dozen.

For this reason I would not go back, the hotel obviously didn't want blacks and that's the message I read and the message I will post in a hope that it will open them up but also knowing full well they probably want it the way they got it until Obama comes to stay. LOL

I rate this hotel good because of its hospitality and comforts it does not get excellent because I didn't feel welcomed at all.

We arrived on foot and happy to do so, the Medina is as large as Soho and does not require taxi service, the staff seemed amazed that we walked everywhere and took the famous 19 bus to the airport and not a taxi. This seemed sufficient as Marrakesh from my point of view is not a place to pose or show off, its not particularly beautiful its one big massive market the restaurants in the Medina do not boast al la carte dinning. To get dressed up and parade the market place in a pair of Gucci heels would be ridiculous to say the least.

The hotel has a spa a beautiful spa and this spa is NOT cheap at all therefore I can not comment on the treatments because I didn't try any. LOL

Marrakesh is not a relaxing destination the locals will take liberties, their approach is crass and very overbearing, after 20 minutes you will want to scream at every approaching local. They bombard you and try to gain your trust by promising you that they are your friend and want to give you "good Price"

They line up at the us stop waiting for approaching newbies to Marrakesh and when they pounce their goal is to gather as much information about you as possible, questions will be: "where are you from" "is this your first time in Marrakesh" "how long is your stay". They are like those internet sites that gather your info then bombard you with sales adverts. take my words seriously when I say TELL THEM NOTHING!!!!!!!!!

They are out to take advantage of you and take what they can from you, forget that bargaining at 30% rubbish, bargain the way you choose fit at a price that makes you happy. These guys are not to be trusted, as a woman they have NO respect touching grabbing holding and asking for kisses. if you are a needy individual you may find this appealing but for me and my friend we thought it was outrageous.

Word of advice the best time to eat is after 6 pm in the Medina the food is good and fresh I did not suffer any illnesses and i have an extremely sensitive tummy.

Would I go back to Marrakesh: Yes for an over night stay with an empty suitcase I'd stay at a local riad buy up some leather and teas then leave, would I stay in this hotel again probably not, a bit too stuffy for me I'm not the sort of clientèle they want.

Marrakesh is not in my top ten destinations but the lather goods are too good to be true.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We well received your comments following your stay at Hotel and ryads Naoura Barriere. We are very sorry you didn't feel at home at all during your stay.
I did make a ponit with my team and we hope you will give us a second chance to prove you we make our best to satisfy all of our guests coming from all over the world.
We hope you will have the pleasure to visit again our lovely city of Marrakech.
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryds Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was at the hotel for 3 days in November 2012.The deluxe suite

was very stuffy !. I complained that there was no air conditioning.

They had only a separate cooler to bring up to the room--which actually

made the room hotter !

They could not print a boarding pass at the concierge desk.--shocking !

the room service for breakfast was terrible---they didnt bring what I

ordered, but what they thought I should eat ??

I dont get it-- if this is a 5 star hotel then they need to be re-classified !

Room Tip: I wd go somewhere else if I were yiu !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We are very sorry about your past experience at Hotel Naoura Barriere. Please note this is absolutly not in our habit to give such a level of service.
I did make a point with my team about all your remarks. We make our best to improve the quality of service and standard you are expecting to find in our hotel.
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere

Address: Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukala Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#93 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Ryads Naoura Barriere
Hotel Ryads Naoura Barriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.