We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Different take” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukala Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Different take”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was at the hotel for 3 days in November 2012.The deluxe suite

was very stuffy !. I complained that there was no air conditioning.

They had only a separate cooler to bring up to the room--which actually

made the room hotter !

They could not print a boarding pass at the concierge desk.--shocking !

the room service for breakfast was terrible---they didnt bring what I

ordered, but what they thought I should eat ??

I dont get it-- if this is a 5 star hotel then they need to be re-classified !

Room Tip: I wd go somewhere else if I were yiu !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We are very sorry about your past experience at Hotel Naoura Barriere. Please note this is absolutly not in our habit to give such a level of service.
I did make a point with my team about all your remarks. We make our best to improve the quality of service and standard you are expecting to find in our hotel.
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    97
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
85
192
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Pros :
Very good location, close to the Medina, Jemaa el Fna square, etc...
Rooms are large, clean, modern and beautifully appointed.
Bed and pillows are very comfy.
Beautiful swimming pool.

Cons :
Bathroom is a little bit dark (and the light in the bathtub didn't work, so it was VERY dark !)
Shower system is not practical : either you have a ceiling shower which if you use it will flood the whole bathroom a few seconds, or a regular shower with a very poor jet, I hate it.
Air conditioning doesn't work very well.
Complicated lighting and TV system.
There is not THAT MUCH choice for continental breakfast.

Conclusion : a very nice hotel... but not a true 5* to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre précédent séjour à l'hôtel & ryads Naoura Barrière.
Nous avons pris bonne note des améliorations à apporter dans le détail de notre service mais aussi de nos installations. Nous travaillons sur ces points afin que les désagréments que vous avez connus ne se reproduisent pas. Nous espérons que vous nous redonnerez une chance de vous prouver le niveau que vous êtes en droit d'attendre dans notre établissement.
Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed for four nights in a Deluxe Junior Suite at the Naoura Barriere last week. Arriving at the hotel, the front of house and reception staff were welcoming and efficient. A charming female member of staff showed us to our room and painstakingly explained its facilities, by which time the bags had been brought up. The room itself was both well equipped and well decorated, with a large bedroom, two bathrooms, a walk in wardrobe and spacious balcony overlooking the pool. A brasserie lunch seated near the pool was good, but the service extremely slow; food, menus etc being delivered only after numerous requests. However, this was the sole occasion where service fell short and appeared to be the combined result of fewer staff on Mondays and the Manager being absent. Other than that, we found service at the Hotel to be very good throughout. We loved the pool area, which is a serene oasis surrounded by a variety of calming vegetation. The Poolboys are excellent and mostly speak good English. Equally, the girls who bring refreshments to guests laying by the pool are smiling and obliging. Our only dislike was the overloud and intrusive piped music which emanated throughout the day from the sound system which surrounds the pool. On several occasions we asked for it to be turned down as, we observed, did other guests. This proved to be effective in suppressing the continuous loop of popular songs by 'other artists', but was less successful in drowning out the 'techno-funk' reel, leaving only the repetitious, computer-generated bass note to tease the psychological limits of relaxing guests! To be churlish about it, and considering the age demographic we witnessed around the pool, it was more ClubMed than 5-star hotel. The same negative comment applies to inside the Le Fouquet Restaurant on the one night we dined in. There, we found the noise of the 'background' music so loud, we had almost to shout at one another to make basic conversation. We took breakfast on our first morning at the main buffet by the pool, and did not repeat the exercise! In both presentation and content it resembled an East German food supermarket at the height of the Cold War, with poor quality juices, tired looking fruit, pancakes and crepes which were thick and not cooked through, and eggs to order, whatever the style, mostly deep fried in oil. Tea was a disaster and coffee not much better. Thereafter, we took breakfast on our balcony. At no extra cost, it was a timely revelation and excellent in all respects. Food in Le Fouquet was well presented and beautifully cooked, catering for most tastes; we particularly liked the Moroccan specialities. The Wine List (mostly French claret) was pricey and we were surprised there appeared to be no Moroccan wines on offer. When in Rome! The Bar is large and appears to be largely underused, other than as a base from which to supply guests elsewhere. This is a shame, since the main barman makes a mean cocktail, with all the theatre of a Hollywood movie. A note here for future guests who come from countries, like the UK, where smoking is no longer permitted in public places. Expect your fellow guests to be smoking, whether by the pool or in the public rooms! Pre-arranged transfers worked well at Euros 50 each way. In sum, we thought the hotel provided just the sunny tonic (the weather was blissful) we needed after the relentless summer rain we have experienced in the UK of late. It is wonderfully central and represents good value for money. For us, without the few nagatives mentioned above, it would easily have warranted an 'Excellent' rating.

Room Tip: Second floor Junior Suite worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for visiting Naoura Barriere Hotel and Ryads. We well received your comments and especially about the breakfast buffet and the music loudness around the pool and at the restaurant. We did take measure already to arrange these facts you esperienced.
We hope having the pleasure to welcome you again in Marrakech and proving you we make our best to give you the level of quality you deserve.
Arnaud BAMVENS$
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a real 5 star experience.

The room is spacious and well set out. The mini bar was stocked with free soft drinks and restocked daily, a nice touch. The entertainment system had Bose system, which had a great sound. Included a range of free movies. Minor criticism is there are 74 channels but no English entertainment channels. Very comfortable beds.

Breakfast was of a high standard.

All the staff were extremely polite and helpful.

The hotel was a calm oasis only noise was the praying call!

The hotel is a short walk from the main square.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImaneHazime, Executive Secretary at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Madam , Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay in Hotel and Ryads Naoura Barrière , and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on Tripadvisor.
We truly appreciate your comments.

we look forward to welcoming you again in the near futur!!

Yours sincerely

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I am sat on the balcony having spent a week in the Naora Barriere ,this is my last full day and I want to stay! I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and the service has not been has good as I have experienced here.the guys by the pool especially are to be commended,although not necessarily part of their job, they make sure that all your needs are met when sunbathing,ie your drinks or food arrive on time your table is cleared etc etc. The girl waitresses could take note, as the guys always notice if a customer requires anything and will check to make sure,even going to the restaurant to chase up waiting staff and menus etc .Well done pool boys as a face of Naoura Barriere your hotel should be proud!note to customers staying these guys should be tipped more often,they look after customers well!A suggestion for rooms ,is go for delux top floor rooms.re the comment about privacy from another reviewer -that's why you have balcony curtains ! You can leave your doors open and go in the buff if you want,just close the balcony curtains !.how many hotels have those?? The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the Market 15 minutes from the airport.it has ryads within it ,so a choice of accommodation.a lovely easy access pool and fab sun beds. Guaranteed we came at a quiet time ,so no children and not too hot ,you may be fighting for shade in higher temperatures. Room service was excellent with choice of having your breakfast in your room with no extra charge if you wanted.if you are looking for a quite classy place to stay in the thick of marrackech then this is it.oh and tip the pool boys they deserve it ! And to the manager who told the pool boy off (as viewed by me)for turning down the music - he was doing as 2 customers requested and using his initiative to look after his customer needs he should have been given a pat on the back not criticism.they are the ones that spend most time with customers and lookout for their needs

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest ,

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
we look forward to welcoming you again to Naoura Barrière in a not too distant future
Yours sincerely ,

Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed a week in February 2012. From my top floor room overlooking the expansive pool, I sat on the balcony enjoying tea, fruit, nuts and biscuits. Although the nights were cool, I kept the drapes open overnight to awaken to tiny birds singing in my room in the morning. The room was well-designed with every convenience including good TV reception (several English-language channels) and Internet access. A delicious, full breakfast buffet is served poolside. The layout of the hotel ensures a quiet, peaceful stay and the hotel staff were gracious and helpful. Only 10 min walk from the souks and right around the corner from the Artisan craft center (2 floors of shops). My only complaint is that the rate was expensive, and although I prepaid, I found a cheaper rate before I arrived and Prestigia nor the hotel would honor the lower room rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasGILLE, Deputy Manager at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for writing your last comments about Naoura Barriere Hotel.

Myself and my team are very proud your stay was successfull.
That is exactly what makes our daily job enjoyable when our guests feel confortable with our product and the service we deliver.

We stay at your disposal in order to organize your next trip in Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was expecting more from this hotel in my opinion not really what you would imagine a Riad to be.
To be honest theposition of the room we had overlooked the pool but also directly at the other 3 floors of rooms which gave us some privacy issues!
Staff attentive and the food good but not exceptiobnal.
Would I stay there again no...we planned to move after 3 nights here to The Villa Des Oranges which is a true Riad and far more what we expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasGILLE, Deputy Manager at Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Mister G.

We apologize for your stay which did not live up to your expectations.
I think that you did not had enough information about the hotel as you expected a Ryad...
The Naoura Barrière is a 85 rooms hotel with 26 private villa called "Ryads".
It's very different that the "Villa des Orangers" who is a "Relais & Chateaux".

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you at the Fouquet's Restaurant during your next trip in Marrakech,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere

Address: Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukala Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#93 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Ryads Naoura Barriere
Hotel Ryads Naoura Barriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.