We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing start to our honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 477 Hotels in Marrakech
west sussex
1 review
“Amazing start to our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Riad Zamzam is a beautiful tranquile resting place in the heart of a exciting city. From the moment we arrived we felt at home and very relaxed. Our room the Berber suite was lovely and the bed was so comfortable with rose petals which was a nice touch. Also we were very greatful for the complimentry bottle of wine to celebrate our honeymoon. The food at riad zamzam was wonderful the lamb tagine we had was the best thoughout our whole stay in Morroco. The roof terrace was a lovely spot for sun or shade for an afternoon drink. Marcus, Emma and all the staff were very professional and helpfull and made us feel welcome and relaxed.Marcus suggested that we take a guide for our first day out in to the Medina which was definately a good idea. The riad is a good walk from the souks and square and a guide helped us to get our bearings so that we were able to venture out on our own without getting too lost! We had an excellent time and we would definately come back to stay and have some more of that wonderful tagine! We have recommend it to all our friends!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    32
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
186
32
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We've just come home from a fabulous stay at ZamZam. The riad is beautiful, with fantastic staff and great food. As other reviews have mentioned, the riad is a walk to the main square and the souks, this could put some people off, we wanted a mixture of hussle and bustle and relaxation, so the contrast between the quiet of the ZamZam location and the souks was great. If you want to just be able to pop in and out of the souks and are mainly interested in the central tourist hub, this might not be for you.

The walk is about 20 minutes and you do need a taxi at night really, but as long as you factor in the cost of this it's not a problem. The other plus side of the location is that you're in a true residential area, so I really felt that we saw parts of Marrakesh we (and most tourists) would not normally see, people just going about their day to day life.

We used a ZamZam guide on the first day, I think this was about £30 but it was so useful as the guide really helped orientate us and we didn't have a problem finding our way back after that. I think without the guide on the first day we may have found it much more difficult! But that's just how the Medina is, twists and turns and tiny streets with no names, it's part of the charm.

The staff were fabulous and the evening meals at the riad were also superb. We had a cookery lesson with the riad chef which was a real highlight of our trip, a great thing to do.

Thanks for a fabulous trip ZamZam!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascot
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

had 4 days at zam zam - absolutely wonderful in every respect - staff are amzing - not intrusive but everything done very well with great attitide....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Amid the exciting chaos of Marrakesh lies this peaceful, friendly place, the Riad Zamzam. The staff could not have been more accomodating, especially given that we were there with 2 small children. They did everything they could to make our stay the wonderful adventure that it was. From the lovely rooftop dinner, to the rose petals in the splash pool, to the invaluable advice of the concierge (cannot stress this enough) to the comfortable and stylish room, to the spa services, to the exotic breakfasts, this riad is fabulous! Be prepared to do a little walking, though, as it's a bit off the beaten path. We loved our stay and can't imagine going to Marrakech and staying anywhere but here!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

After a noisy flight and a walk through the bustling alleyways of the medina, we were led into an oasis of peace and calm where Imame, the delightful manageress, greeted us. Over cups of much-appreciated mint tea she supplied us with a map and pointed out places to eat, visit, shop etc. Then Faizal, her understudy showed us round the riad. We were instantly charmed. From the rooftop hammam, sofas and sun-loungers to the plunge pool, courtyard, and lounge area (with i-pod dock and loads of paperbacks) on the ground floor - everything has been thoughtfully and tastefully provided for a comfortable and relaxing stay.
We shared adjoining rooms on the first floor with our adult son, and these were quiet, clean, very well-equipped and with comfortable beds and air-conditioning.
Our first evening meal at the riad was amazing, and we ate there on 3 of our eight nights.
Emma, the owner had kindly arranged for the cook to prepare gluten-free meals for me and these did not disappoint - even the rice pancakes at breakfast were delicious!
All the staff at the riad were charming and very helpful - particularly Faizal, who made sure our son returned safely after a night out.
Emma is a mine of information on all things local. Sadly we did not meet Marcus as he was unwell during our visit-hope he's better now. He and Emma certainly have a little jewel in zamzam, and we hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Riad Zamzam is tucked away in the laberinthine streets of Marrekch. The heavy wood door opens into a cool courtyard with water gurgling in a refreshing plunge pool.
Marcus and his team could not be more helpful, from cups of tea to perfect recommendations of things to do.
There are some excellent restaurants in Marrakech and you would be wise to discover the one within the Riad. The food is quite incredible, accompanied with great Morrocan wine, and personal service.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable, with a great reading area with chess and backgammon to while away the early evening. The rooftop offers some great views of the city.
We would recommend Zamzam highly for a short break as a couple, or with young children as we did. Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidmouth uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I spent a long time researching our trip to Marrakech, as just myself and my two daughters, age 15 and 20 were coming. There are so many riads to choose from in the medina, and having read the comments on Trip Advisor from previous guests, and checked the riad website we decided upon Zamzam. We were so pleased, so rarely do things live up to my expectations, but Zamzam certainly did. The attention to detail, design, furnishing, kind and gentle staff, superb food and relaxed peaceful atmosphere made our holiday. My daughters have said it is the best trip we have ever been on and the best place they have stayed, we are certain to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.