We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven from the madness!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A haven from the madness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Located 20 minutes walk from the centre of the souks, this very pretty riad was a calm and lovely oasis from the crowds of the medina. We stayed in the harem room, which was very romantic.
The food at the riad was the best we had in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
168
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

My girlfirend and I weren't booked to stay here but due to a broken pipe at our original choice Marcus and Emma (the owners) stepped in at late notice and came to our rescue.

As other reviewers have rightly stated, Riad Zamzam is slightly further north than most of the others and you can only get to it by foot but we found this added to its charm. Once you enter you are emersed in a sense of tranquility, forgetting that the centre of Marrakech isn't far away.

The owners have done a great job to ensure that you feel welcomed as soon as you arrive and the staff are at hand to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Special recommendation goes to the chef as our evening meal was simply divine with a traditional meal of lamb tagine sat out under the stars on the terrace, just melting in your mouth.

The rooms are decorated in traditional Moroccan style with a twist of luxury and with the exception of an ipod docking station on offer, there are no TV's or other distractions that could prevent you from taking in the experience and relaxing.

We only had time to stay for two nights as our trip took us out to the coast but we already know we want to return to the city and Riad Zamzam would be a great base to retutrn to. We would happily recommend this to anyone who wants to relax and spoil themselves a little.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this amazing Riad for 3 nights. We were really impressed as soon as we walked in. The calmness of this place made us feel really relax. Emma and Marcus (owner) are very friendly and helpful. All the meals are delicious and freshly prepared. We specially like the location because its not far from the souk and you can get a feel how local lives. This is a truly fantastic Riad and we would recommend anyone to stay there

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Although our visit was brief (1 night) the kindness and hospitality shown us by Marcus and all the staff will long be remembered. Beautifully furnished in contemporary and traditional Moroccan style it was more like being house guests with friends than staying at an hotel. Really exceptional - don't hesitate to book!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

My partner and I visited Zamzam in November. From the first moment we entered the Riad we were under it's spell. It truly is a magical space, hidden amongst the enchanting chaos that makes Marrakesh so special. The attention to detail which went in to lovingly restoring this space is so evident throughout - they have done a spectacular job here.
Emma and Marcus are amazing hosts and the team led by Iman just cannot do enough for their guests. The food was absolutely amazing. You must have a chicken with olive and lemon tagine...fabulous! We ate outsite the Riad on two occasions in high-end establishments and none came even close to the quality offered by Zamzam. I highly recommend the cookery course which was fun as well as informative - cooking in a tagine over charcoal in the courtyard with a gorgeous glass of red wine was fantastic! We will be back Emma and team!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed three nights with two children in riad zamzam. What an experience! This quite and beautyful riad in the north of the medina was a very good choice. The children loved it. The food was absolutely delicious. For the first time I was NOT looking forward to make my own dinner again. The hamam was a very special experience, and I returned with a 10-years-younger-skin from it. To have the opportunity to do this with the four of us was very special.
After a few hours walking in Marrakech, it feels like coming home when you enter the Riad. And that's exactly what you need.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

My friend and I travelled to Marrakech in October for a city break with a difference, we were amazed when we arrived at the door of the beautiful ZamZam Riad which is a diamond in the rough of the lively Medina Streets. The Riad as a whole is gorgeously decorated, which beautiful rooms that really go the extra mile to making your stay here perfect. The roof terrace was also a favourite of mine, with time to soak up the hot sun in beautiful surroundings.

I would highly recommend the meals at ZamZam, beautifully prepared home cooked receipes typical of Morocco were served to us, either up on the roof terrace or down in the central courtyard of the Riad, for cooler months the palour area is beautifully decorated and a great place to enjoy dinner. I have to say that I have not enjoyed a breakfast as much since returning.

I have nothing but praise for Emma and Marcus who own the Riad, there seemed no request to big or small for them. We had some issues with cashpoints (something I recommend being wary of before you go) but Emma and Marcus bent over backwards to make sure that we resolved any difficulties that we had.

Marrakech Medina is a crazy bustling place and certainly not for the faint hearted, but simply knowing that I would soon return to the beautiful ZamZam Riad made my trip most certainly worhtwhile.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.