We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Bucks
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Had a wonderful stay at ZamZam. Cannot describe how well you are looked after. The Riad is beautiful, food excellent and very personal service. Said was lovely and really went out of his way to help in everyway. Worth having a Hammam and an experience. Staying here was a great way of seeing the real Marrakech especially walking through the Medina which was not as difficult as we thought, but worth having a guide when you arrive before exploring on your own. Loved it and an experience arriving down an alleyway to a door, only to be opened into this beautiful place, of peace and tranquility. Great fun shopping in the Souks for bargains and would certainly return. Open top bus a good way of seeing some of the sights and the main square at night is a must as well as the gardens of Ives Saint Laurent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
169
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Zam zam surpassed any expectations, the staff were helpful and charming, the food was delicious and it has the best plunge pool I have been been in! Rooms were decorated so tastefully, its a an island of calm right in the mad city. We really didn't want to leave and will try to get back as soon as we can. thank you!
D. Epworth London UK

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I was lucky enough to meet Emma and Marcus, the Zamzam hosts, whilst they were building the riad and could tell back then that they had the passion and determination to create the best Riad in Marrakesh. I returned with my partner recently and was not disappointed. The service was impecable from the fabulous food to our hosts efforts to ensure our stay was the best it could be. The hard work that has gone into the details, the decor, the rooms, making the riad as true to it's Morrocan roots as possible whilst maintaining a relaxed sophistication, has not been wasted. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I'm not one for writing reviews, however having experienced the Opulence and tranquillity of Riad ZamZam I felt that more people should know about this wonderful place. This beautifully restored Riad is run by an young couple from London who went out of their way to make sure we had a truly refreshing break. The riad is stunning, you cannot believe a place like that exists when you first walk through the entrance leaving behind you the gritty reality of the Medina. If you are looking for a true boutique experience, you would have to go far to beat Riad ZamZam.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

I was invited by friends to dine with them at the Riad Zamzam during my recent stay in Marrakech and was extremely impressed by the service, quality of the meal and the wonderful decor at the Riad Zamzam.
We started with cocktails and hors d'oeuvres on the terrace at the top of the Riad and then made our way down to the lovely dining room where we were served onion soup, followed by a delicious tajine of chicken cooked in lemon with olives and served with a lamb cous-cous. The dessert was a chocolate mousse which rounded off the meal perfectly.
I had the chance to look at a couple of the rooms and can say, without hesitation, that the next time I visit Marrakech, I will be staying at the Riad Zamzam

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed at Riad Zam Zam last week on a trip to Marrakech. What a fantastic place - the gorgeous courtyard with fabulous plunge pool was such an oasis of calm coming in from the bustling streets. The Riad has been painstakingly renovated with such attention to detail in every way it needs to be seen to be believed. The rooms are all different with outstanding bathrooms and decor. The lighting throughout the Riad was absolutely stunning - just a quick look at their website illustrates this. The sheets and pillows were fabulous. The food was so good that we ate at the Riad far more than we expected - I can particularly recommend the Lamb Cous Cous! The intimate nature of the stay was further enhanced by the Spa on the terrace. We both enjoyed a Hamam and massage and relaxed in the tranquil surroundings. We liked it so much that we came back again towards the end of our stay in Morrocco and met a family who had done eactly the same! For a truly luxurious boutique Riad experience visit Riad Zam Zam. Thank you to Said and all the team - nothing was too much trouble. We will see you again in October this time I will take a few of the cookery courses offered on site so that I can try and recreate some of their fantastic menu's at home. A must stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Zam Zam riad is a beautifully restored riad in the medina, decorated with real charm and due care. The finishing is of the highest standard. It was real surprise coming through the front door to be confronted with a divine plunge pool, wonderful courtyard, great lighting (especially at night), stunning workmanship and one of the finest date palm specimens in the city. The rooms are sublime, clean and with so much attention to details. Loved the bathrooms especially.
I was particularily bowled over by the emphasis on eco-tourism (solar panels, local and sustainable materials and supplies where possible). The food i had there was first rate too !
I would not hesitate to recommend the riad to anyone wishing for a calm and serene oasis in the heart of Marrakech.
Finally what can i say about Marcus and Emma that probably has not been mentioned in previous reviews. An absolute joy to be around ! Friendly, hospitable,warm,generous. I feel i have known them for years ! I hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.