We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation - Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation - Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Even before we left England Emma and Marcus helped plan our itinerary recommending restaurants, organising a trip to the Atlas Mountains and arranging all the transport. The new, spacious airport makes arriving in Marrakech a real pleasure and finding the Riad could not have been easier as Emma and Marcus had arranged transport from the airport and, on arrival in the Medina, we were met and guided through the maze of streets to the Riad.

The Riad is luxurious. Recently renovated and furnished to the highest of standards it’s hard to imagine a better place to spend a holiday. With well appointed bedrooms and plenty of open, public spaces the Riad is more than a home from home. Service was excellent with Emma, Marcus and their staff making certain that all the guests were well looked after. Their local knowledge means that Emma and Marcus can advise on the best restaurants to visit, organise trips, recommend things to do, and advise on places to visit. Nothing was too much trouble. For a first time visitor Marrakech can be a daunting place but Emma and Marcus make it easy to explore this fascinating and interesting place.

Riad Zamzam is located in the quieter Northern area of the Medina, far enough away from the hassle of the main tourist attractions for some peace and quiet but nevertheless it is only a short walk (15 to 20 minutes) to the Souks and main attractions of Marrakech. True, it takes a little time to learn the route through the maze of narrow streets and alleyways but once mastered exploring Marrakech on foot is an experience never to be forgotten. If desired, Emma and Marcus will organise a guide to help you find your way around the Medina and ensure that you see all the sites. Of an evening the staff are only too happy to organise transport to the local restaurants and night spots.

With a roof terrace and courtyard in which to relax, take breakfast, have a drink, take a snack or have lunch visitors can enjoy peace and quiet in the Riad away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. There are so many excellent restaurants in Marrakech offering just about every style of food imaginable that the visitor is spoilt for choice. Despite the choice of restaurants dinning in the Riad is strongly recommended. The standard of food was excellent with high quality local Moroccan dishes on offer during our stay.

For a short break or a longer holiday Marrakech offers an insight into a different way of life with so much to do and see that the visitor is spoilt for choice. Riad Zamzam offers a luxurious location from which to enjoy the pleasures of Marrakech. If you fancy a holiday with a difference and an unrivalled level of service then the Raid Zamzam is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    32
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
78
189
32
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cognac, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We were struck by the friendly welcome to luxurious Riad ZamZam. Emma and Marcus helped plan our holiday visits and trips, and with their dedicated taxi service everything went smoothly. The food, planned by Emma was just right, a blend of Morrocan and european. Without their help and advice we couldnt have enjoyed our trip so much. I can certainly recommend ZamZam to anybody wanting to explore Marrakech and the Atlas Moungtains. Maurice Auboin Cognac France.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-s-Mare
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

From the moment we arrived at the airport we knew our stay at Zamzam was going to be different. Emma and Marcus had arranged for a taxi to collect us, having even told us the driver's name before we left the UK. This kind of attention to detail and meticulous service from Marcus, Emma, Mo and all the staff was to be a hallmark of our visit. Nothing was too much trouble, and they were always able to recommend places to visit and places to eat (and always very interested in our feedback afterwards). Mo is a born organiser and kept ahead of our plans no matter how many times we changed them!

The riad itself is just magical. You enter from a labyrinth of chaotic Medina streets into an oasis of calm and refinement. The rooms all have their own character, and are brilliantly thought out and beautifully finished. The bathrooms in particular are stunning, and backed up with enough plumbing technology to put most hotels to shame - It's my experience that this can be the achilles heel even of much more expensive establishments.

The roof terrace and the courtyard are great places, whether to read a book in the sun, chat with other guests or pick Emma's brains about the local attractions and culture. Breakfast on the terrace is a great start to the day. We stayed at Zamzam for a full week, and ate there in the evening a few times. The food was always excellent.

The location has been extensively discussed in reviews here, and for us was just fine. Zamzam is far enough away from the Jemaa for some peace (you'll understand if you have visited the square!) and just a few minutes walk to either the Medina wall or the souks. We walked in and out of the square a number of times, and you soon get to learn the route. The staff are happy to help out, and will walk you to and from nearby taxi stops as required.

Overall, Zamzam is very highly recommended and I'm looking forward to my next visit...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We went to Morocco to relax, try a few interesting restaurants, do a little sightseeing and to take in some sun. Well, we didn't have much luck with the sun; we had uncharacteristically bad weather for most of our stay. Luckily we were staying at an amazing riad which made the rainstorms bearable! Even though it wasn't really what I had in mind when we left London for Africa...sitting in front of a fireplace, reading a book and zipping a glass of nice Moroccan wine isn’t a bad way to spend a holiday when the rain is poring down outside.

Zam Zam is a fairly new riad that's immaculately decorated, they have a great wine selection and the staff is help full and friendly J If you’re going to Marrakech this is definitely the place to stay.

Anna

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

We wanted somewhere special to celebrate twenty years of marriage and Zam Zam was our pefect introduction to Marrakech.
Not only a warm and personal welcome but a lovingly restored environment full of character and beautiful objects. It is certainly tucked away in the north of the Medina but reflects perfectly the labrynthine nature of the Medina and has the advantage of being a peaceful retreat from which to explore the bewildering and exciting souks, tanneries and cultural attractions of Marrakech. We were given every attention by Marcus, Emma, Mo and the rest of the staff who were even willing to come and meet us if needed. Thankyou!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We had the most fantastic time when we stayed at the Riad Zam Zam earlier this month, a visit to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. Whilst deep in the heart of heart of the medina it was an oasis of calm and serenity as soon as we walked in the door and I, unlike one of the previous posts ,would not have changed the Riad's location for anything ! It is almost medieval in it's ambience, hustle, and vibrancy, almost other wordly and yes, very different from ours but all the more exciting for that.
Emma, Marcus and Mohammed looked after us brilliantly and went to a great deal of trouble to ensure our stay was all that it could be. Our room was beautiful, the court yard cool and the roof terrace very chic !

We will be reccomending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

What a beautiful place to stay. We loved it Emma and Marcus could not have been more helpful . Emma has beautiful taste and the riad far exceeded our expectations. All the other guests agreed that Zamzam was a great find. Look forward to returning .
J Anderson

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#48 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#61 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.