We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely oasis in Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Riad Zamzam, in the heart of the medina, is a lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle of the markets! It is an authentic riad - cozy and charming. The rooftop terrace provided great views of the city. Our room was spacious and spotless and the bathroom was elegant. Breakfasts were delicious. We stayed for four nights and still weren't ready to leave. We visited in August and found the plunge pool a welcome respite from the heat and dustiness of the medina. Faysal, the manager, was on duty day and night as the other managers and the owners were on vacation. He could not have been kinder or more hospitable. He arranged for a fabulous guide (Ibrahim), suggested we put a taxi driver on the phone so that we could be dropped off close enough to find our way back to the riad, etc. (He offered to meet us but we wanted the challenge!) My son felt ill one day and Faysal went out to get food that would make him feel better. When we left, Faysal took us to the car and helped with the bags. He even offered to drive with us to find the road that would take us to Essaouira. We took him up on it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the helpful reviews. It's fantastic to get such great feedback. It really inspires the Zamzam Team and they love reading your reviews - thank you for your reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
168
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Zam-zam riad and spa was the most magical experience. Centred in the old town of Marrakech hidden in a little dusty street. Knocking on the door we are then welcomed into the most beautiful place. I felt like a princess stepping into the riad and was treated with the best hospitality and kindness. It had the authentic feel and atmosphere. So tranquil and luxurious. The beauty was unimaginable from the furnishings to the view from the roof. I would recommend this to anyone, will be a beautiful memory I will have forever and the highlight of my visit to the beautiful Morocco

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife and I (both Moroccan) were hosting American friends in Morocco and decided to pick this wonderful riad during our stay in Marrakech. Located in the old city, we knew that accessing/finding the riad by car would be somewhat difficult given the narrow and twisting allies of the medina. Parking was a bit difficult too. But this won't be a problem if you are planning to come by taxi and/or won't be having a car during your stay. Just make sure you call the riad in advance and ask them to coordinate a taxi.

Once arrived to Zamzam, we were very pleasantly suprised! The riad is so beautiful and the staff so friendly. We were greeted by mint tea and seated to rest for a little while.

The riad is decorated with much taste, and every corner is an opportunity to discover yet another piece of beautiful Moroccan craftsmanship. The rooms had AC, and the beds comfortable. We really liked the breakfast too. Imane, the manager, went out of her way to make us feel at home, and was helpful in proposing sites to visit.

Overall, we really liked the "quality over quantity" approach the owners have for this riad, and thouroughly enjoyed our stay here. I would recommend it without hesitation to any traveler that doesnt intend to have a car during his/her stay in Marrakech!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs, they are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was the most wonderful Riad ever to stay at. It is very hidden along the little maze of streets that make up part of the Medina, but they will arrange a taxi to collect you from the airport and someone will meet you and walk you to the riad whatever time of night you arrive. The Riad is beautiful and all the staff are wonderful yet Faysul is an absolute star. He makes everything so right, nothing is too much trouble and he gives you reassurance and confidence after you have been lost in the maze of souks and streets on the way back to this perfect oasis. The roof terrace is a wonderful place to eat a fantastic,healthy breakfast or to dine in the evening and enjoy one of the beautiful tagines (they also serve wine). We had a Hamman together which was truly wonderful, we went into the mountains with an excelllent guide which was the best ever part of the whole Marrakech experience. This was a place that you felt was your home while you were there and everyone looking after you was welcoming and very attentive to your every wish. Very, very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Every room was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just got back from staying here. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Perfect location to wander the Medina, gorgeous decor, delicious food and delightful staff . Marcus, Imane, Faysal and the gang were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. It all added up to a fantastic week in Marrakech!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

When you are walking in to the medina on your way to the riad you can smell lovely home made bread. When you get in the riad every body is warm and welcoming with big smiles on their faces wanting to make you stay fantastic.Out of all the Riads and places I have been to in different countries this Riad can offer many things.The staff would be more than happy to do as you wish!
The Riad has a lovely plunge pool for when your hot and a lovely massage lady, a terrace with sun beds and they also offer cooking classes.Moroccos heart and sole is really special and the Best!

Room Tip: Choose the king sized ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Faisal was the first person who greeted us when we arrived at the Riad and what a LEGEND! Nothing is too much trouble, very informative and just an all round lovely guy.

The rooms are lovely, clean, quiet and have all the mod cons you could wish for.

The food. Eat AT LEAST ONCE at the Riad! Traditional Morrocan food at its best. We had lunch and kicked oursleves for not having had dinner there the night before!

Make sure you get them to pick you up from the airport or meet you as it is hard to find at first.

We also had a massage while there. WONDERFUL! Would go back in a heart beat.

Stay here. its lovely!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.