We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in March in the Paml Suite for 3 nights. It was a lovely place to stay and we were looked after very well. The food we had in teh Riad on arrival on our first night was probably the best meal we had in Marrakesh, and that includes going to the Maison Arab. Very comfortable and carefully decorated room. A little out of the centre but not far to walk into the souks. My only criticism would be that the Hammam was quite expensive, but I am not going to mark the place down for that. If you are not sure where to stay, this is a safe bet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
167
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have just returned from 6 days in Marrakech staying at Zamzam. The Riad is a hidden gem located in the northern (and less touristy)part of the Medina. It is a beautifully renovated escape from the mayhem of the medina. What makes Zamzam is the helpfulness of the staff. Faisal could not do more to help. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Zamzam to anyone who would like a little luxury hideaway in Marrakech.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Zamzam felt like home as soon as we arrived. That is not to say that we didn't feel utterly spoiled and like we were in a boutique hotel, as the facilities fulfilled that wish extremely well. It was more the atmosphere that made it feel like home. Traveling with an 11 month old could have been taxing but at Zamzam everything was made so easy. We could sneak down into the kitchen at 6am to warm up bottles of milk, there were so many nooks and crannies to relax in around the riad as well as our lovely room. We wanted for nothing. Faizal was just the most amazriad every evening and the food was incredible. The staff made us feel so welcome and were so lovely with our little one. The riad's location is a little off the beaten track but so is most of Marrakech and this suited us really well. We loved the walk, it was easy with the baby and a light weight buggy and we loved how quiet it was after the buzz of the centre of the medina.
Marrakech is great with a baby, but being at Zamzam made it what it was - a wonderful break and a magical experience.

Room Tip: We chose the Berber suite as we wanted a proper bath. It was a great room - tucked away and on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This place is absolutely amazing and it made my journey to Morocco 20 times better. I recommend it if you love amazing food, amazing treatments and beautiful places to stay. An easy 10/10! Morocco is beautiful as well!

Room Tip: on the first flight of stair up, the immediate room on the right is just AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Zamzam Riad was everything we expected and more. From the moment you walk through the door you can really tell Marcus and Emma have put their heart and soul into making it perfect.

When we arrived in the Medina (we pre-arranged a transfer with Zamzam which I would highly recommend) we were met by Faisal (the Riad’s evening manager) who was absolutely lovely and showed us the way through the narrow streets to the beautiful entrance of the Riad. Once inside, we were given complementary mint tea whilst we checked in and our bags were taken up to the room. As we arrived in the evening, we had also pre-arranged to have our dinner in the Riad and I have to say it was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech.

After an amazing night’s sleep in our gorgeous room (we stayed in Ismail Room) we went down for breakfast which was beautifully laid out... we had yoghurt, fruit, breads and jams along with tea, coffee and fruit juice followed by pancakes and omelettes if you could fit them in!

Following breakfast we were met by our guide who we had pre-booked through Zamzam to show us round the medina - again, I would highly recommend this as it’s a good way to get your bearings with the added bonus of not being hassled – plus he also made sure we knew how to find our way back which was very helpful! But if you get a taxi from the main square just ask them to drop you at Bab Taghzout which is only about a 4-5min walk back to the Riad.

After busy days exploring Marrakech we would arrive back at the Riad to be welcomed by Faisal who would serve us a lovely bottle of wine with complementary nuts and raisins up on the roof terrace.

Finally, the Hammam was an amazing experience and well worth having – especially followed by a massage.

But throughout our stay absolutely nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff at Zamzam Riad and I will certainly be returning in the future. It was a hidden gem in the hustle and bustle of the streets of Marrakech.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ismail which was a beautiful room on the first floor - really good size and looked out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed in in February 2014, wife and two kids. Its a special place, tucked away in the Northern Medina, in a quiet and residential area. As soon as you get dropped off by taxi, you walk through amazing, narrow streets - it's another world. You then enter the Riad to find a very warm welcome from Marcus and his team and a beautiful and comfortable Riad. We stayed in the suite on the ground floor. Lovely decor, super comfortable bed. The roof terrace is brilliant, a real sun trap. I MUST recommend the food that they serve inside the Riad. It's excellent and frankly better than most of the restaurants we visited (which were all great!)We also had a Hamam - also recommended. They really look after you and ensure you have a stress free and enjoyable stay. Recommended for families.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Thanks a lot for a golfing week. Wonderful and personal service, good food, memorable hamam, feels like in home. Have not met such experience before. Most memorable golf trip. From: all team of estonians.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.