We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have just returned from our first trip to Marrakech and could not have been looked after better by the team at ZamZam. We were looking to book at last minute four day break & ZamZam had been recommended to us by a friend. We arrived to find a gorgeous retreat and received five star service from start to finish. ZamZam took care of all of the logistics and nothing was too much trouble to arrange.

Marcus organised a taxi to meet us at the airport on arrival and to drop us back at the airport on our return – airport transfer fares were added to the hotel bill which helped logistics on arrival when we were not quite up to speed with the local currency (you can obtain currency in arrivals at the airport).

The riad itself is a real sanctuary from the busy streets and is beautifully decorated and maintained. We ate in the riad for two nights during our four night stay – it was great to have three courses to include a tagine waiting for us on arrival from the UK! The cost of eating in the riad was similar to that of the restaurants and the quality was just as good, if not better. Won’t deny it, the breakfasts were a highlight of our stay – freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad with yoghurt and honey, pancakes with fig and apricot jams and omelettes revived us every morning.

Marcus and Faysal both talked us through a map on arrival at the riad so that we could get our bearings and we did not need a guide during the day and used this map alone – just make sure you allow more than enough time to get back to the riad before dark & be prepared to get lost on your way back through the souks! Marcus suggested we use a compass to find our way back north towards the riad and we found this to be an invaluable means of successfully navigating our way back to the riad in the evenings. It takes only twenty minutes max. to walk back from the main square through the souks to the riad. Make sure you book a hammam scrub & massage at the riad – well worth it.

As two lone twenty-something girls in the city we had been warned of potential unwanted attention and really appreciated being chaperoned by Faisal and Assiz in the evenings to and from the restaurants. ZamZam recommended and booked some wonderful restaurants for us during our stay.

I have never written a Trip Advisor review before but this hotel is the exception & certainly deserves it. Hoping to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
159
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

What an amazing experience at this Riad. Once you find it, everything about it was beautiful. The family that own it are amazing, the staff that work there are amazing, our room was amazing, the service was amazing and the food was delicious. I cannot recommend this Riad enough. . We absolutely loved it here and would say that if you are going to Marrakech then you need to try this place. Truly lovely experience all-round - . Congratulations and thank you to all at the Riad zamzam as you have an amazing place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

While ZamZam might be a little further away don't be daunted by the walk, it's all part of the experience. The staff are amazing and cater to your every need, whilst the rooms are exactly what you hope. It is definitely worth the trip and I'll be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Really loved our stay... Highly recommend this fabulous Riad. Beautiful spacious rooms, great service, really helpful staff who go the extra mile which really help makeour stay so comfortable. The roof terrace, the beautiful palm in the courtyard, the hamam, the food, all 5 stars!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

From the beginning until the end our stay in Riad ZamZam was perfect. In Riad ZamZam we were treated as family and during the three days we were staying in the Riad it felt really like home. We liked it so much that we extended our stay with one more night. When arriving we were welcomed with Moroccan tea and we received a very clear explanation about the city. During our stay we got amazing recommendations for restaurants and other good ideas. In the beginning there was always someone to provide us directions because it is very easy to get lost in the Medina. Riad ZamZam arranged as well our private driver for the next day in the Atlas mountains. One evening we had dinner in the Riad and I can tell you my brother and I were very impressed by the cooking skills of the chef, it was out of this world and even the best restaurant of Marrakech could not competitive with this dinner. As well the breakfast is very delicious and there was always complimentary water in the room.

I work myself in the hospitality industry and I can tell you that most of the guest houses and hotels can learn a lot from Riad ZamZam. Our special thanks to Faysal! He should receive definitely a first class and he is very committed in the things he does. As well you should be very happy with having Assiz in your team.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We only spent the evening at the Zamzam for a 50th birthday dinner but the whole evening was wonderful. The impressive, cosy fire, the ellegant surroundings and the delicious Moroccan meal made it a night to remember. We were a group of seven and were made to feel very welcome, and even though we were only there for dinner we were able to have a look at a couple guest rooms and suites which were beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The finishing touch to this warm welcome and luxury was that the whole meal was gluten free because two of our party are coeliacs. This meant they could have exactly the same food as everyone else and enjoy it without having to worry about side effects. This situation rarely occurs when eating out and it made all the difference. Well done, Emma and thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouzens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have travelled to Marrakesh for several years now to attend an annual trade fair. I chose, for the first time, to stay in a riad rather than one of the hotels close to the conference and am delighted I did so. Riad ZamZam is a tranquil oasis, set in the oldest part of Marrakesh. I arrived early in the morning, was met by an arranged transfer, and taken to the property. Here a delicious breakfast awaited me on the rooftop terrace and later that day I had the most amazing hammam treatment followed by an incredible massage. What bliss. This set the tone for the rest of my stay (along with my 3 colleagues who stayed at the riad too). The staff, without exception, were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, from preparing early breakfasts, to walking us to and from the transfer/taxi, particularly at night, to arranging dinners at the last minute. I can only highly recommend this gorgeous spot. Congratulations to Marcus and Emma on creating this little peace of heaven.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech
Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.