We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was staying alone with my two young kids at Zamzam so was quite nervous about how it would go but I could not have made a better choice. It was like staying with family. Everyone took such good care of me and the kids. We were given alot of very helpful advice about how to get around and where to go and when we hung out at the Riad, everyone working there seemed to have endless energy to play with the kids. I had a fantastic hammam and massage one night which i would recommend. And the food was delicious. The surrounding area to the Riad is not ideal for young kids but with a pram and a buggy board we got used to it and felt we had the best of both worlds in the end - a quiet sanctuary to retreat to and a world of fascinating hustle and bustle just outside our doorstep. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
167
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Morocco. Travelling with our 3 young children. We spent 3 nights in Marrakech in the wonderful Zamzam Riad. It is completely hidden away in the back streets in the far north of the medina, about 20 minutes walk from the craziness of the souks and the main square. The only risk you take is the likelihood that you might get lost but never fear - the amazing staff at the Riad are always on hand to help and to rescue you if needs be! The Riad itself has been beautifully decked out with each room having a different character and uniqueness. We ate there on 2 of the nights and were served excellent food. The staff couldn't have been nicer, especially the wonderful Faizal, for whom no request was a problem.
A lot of the Riads in Marrakech are described as not being suitable for children. In some respects Zamzam is no different with its narrow staircases and feel of an open house. But our children were made wholly welcome and really enjoyed the experience of being in an authentic Riad in the medina. I can wholly recommend this as a wonderful place to stay. The many large chain hotels springing up around Marrakech are not a patch on this experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Morocco and Marrakech, our first visit being over a decade ago. We were so happy to see that the city has lost none of its magical qualities and gained an extraordinary retreat in the form of Riad Zamzam.

Faisal and Imane provided consummately genuine and effortlessly attentive service. Our dinner served on the lovely upstairs terrace was the best we had in Marrakech. Our room, the Rose Suite, was unabashedly romantic, immaculately clean, and spacious to the point of sprawling.

Zamzam's location, for us, was a big part of the appeal: close enough to walk to the souks and Jemaa el Fna, but remote enough to get a real feel for of the vibrant neighborhood life of the Medina. Getting lost is part of the adventure - embrace it!

Bravo, Zamzam. Well done!

Room Tip: We were able to see a few rooms and they all were spectacular. Ground floor rooms are the best choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letchworth garden city
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our second riad in Marrakech and our favourite. Fasil met us from our taxi and introduced us to the riad and to our room. He was incredibly good at his job and helped us with all aspects of our stay - from getting bus tickets - to finding our way around - to organising an early breakfast for us. The fact that we only stayed for one night did not make any difference. The room - the Berber Suite - was lovely - exotic, light and spacious. Again the bath was an enormous work of art, too big for using! The windows from our room opened onto the internal courtyard that was very bright with an enormous date palm growing through the centre - glorious! We also dined at this riad and the food was excellent. This riad has a sustainable and organic approach which I really liked. There are two potential downsides to this riad - its location is not central and Jemaa el Fna was a good 20 minutes away - assuming you don't get lost which we managed to do spectactularly. The room opening onto the courtyard was not quiet at night as you could hear everything going on downstairs, but then perhaps I probably wasn't sleeping very well after my moroccon coffee! If we return to Marrakech then we will return to Zamzam!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our third visit to Marrakech but our first to Riad Zam Zam - and our first time in the north of the medina. This time we brought two friends - and like us they loved it. The contrast is difficult to believe - step outside the peace and tranquility of the riad, where Faisal and Imane cater for your every need, and you're into a whole different world of donkeys, bikes, scooters, charcoal-burners, furniture-makers - and a maze of little streets. You quickly learn to dodge them all and once you learn to find your way home - follow the blue arrows - you feel almost like a local! The rooms are all lovely, lunch on the roof terrace was wonderful and the hammam an experience not to miss. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were two couples, both new to Marrakech and booked at Riad Zamzam because of others reviews. We were overwhelmingly pleased with our experience. From the warmth of the staff to the quality of the food to the help with directions, booking excursions, special meals we had a truly amazing holiday. We had rooms on the ground floor, both beautiful and comfortable. Imane and Faisal managed our stay and helped us in every possible way, from getting us transportation from the airport to coming to our rescue when we got lost in the maze of the medina. Zamzam is that kind of place, a true oasis in an unfamiliar city. A special note of thanks for the truly wonderful food and the hammam experience. The only negative about our stay at Zamzam was having to leave!

Room Tip: We loved being on the ground floor across of each other which made getting together in the beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Really nicely decorated riad. Soft lighting. Comfortable furnishings. Clean. There is a patio and a terrace for breakfast. When you arrive they give you a sheet with key details like taxi number and tel no of the day and night managers. The owner Marcus was really friendly. Faisal the night manager is also a complete sweet heart and came to greet us when we got lost. The only downside is that it is difficult to get to. Taxis park up about 10 min walk away. However the riad does what it can to make life easier as a result - eg Faisal comes to meet you or they offer a guide to orientate yourselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.