We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graceful authenticity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Graceful authenticity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Morocco and Marrakech, our first visit being over a decade ago. We were so happy to see that the city has lost none of its magical qualities and gained an extraordinary retreat in the form of Riad Zamzam.

Faisal and Imane provided consummately genuine and effortlessly attentive service. Our dinner served on the lovely upstairs terrace was the best we had in Marrakech. Our room, the Rose Suite, was unabashedly romantic, immaculately clean, and spacious to the point of sprawling.

Zamzam's location, for us, was a big part of the appeal: close enough to walk to the souks and Jemaa el Fna, but remote enough to get a real feel for of the vibrant neighborhood life of the Medina. Getting lost is part of the adventure - embrace it!

Bravo, Zamzam. Well done!

Room Tip: We were able to see a few rooms and they all were spectacular. Ground floor rooms are the best choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
168
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
letchworth garden city
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our second riad in Marrakech and our favourite. Fasil met us from our taxi and introduced us to the riad and to our room. He was incredibly good at his job and helped us with all aspects of our stay - from getting bus tickets - to finding our way around - to organising an early breakfast for us. The fact that we only stayed for one night did not make any difference. The room - the Berber Suite - was lovely - exotic, light and spacious. Again the bath was an enormous work of art, too big for using! The windows from our room opened onto the internal courtyard that was very bright with an enormous date palm growing through the centre - glorious! We also dined at this riad and the food was excellent. This riad has a sustainable and organic approach which I really liked. There are two potential downsides to this riad - its location is not central and Jemaa el Fna was a good 20 minutes away - assuming you don't get lost which we managed to do spectactularly. The room opening onto the courtyard was not quiet at night as you could hear everything going on downstairs, but then perhaps I probably wasn't sleeping very well after my moroccon coffee! If we return to Marrakech then we will return to Zamzam!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our third visit to Marrakech but our first to Riad Zam Zam - and our first time in the north of the medina. This time we brought two friends - and like us they loved it. The contrast is difficult to believe - step outside the peace and tranquility of the riad, where Faisal and Imane cater for your every need, and you're into a whole different world of donkeys, bikes, scooters, charcoal-burners, furniture-makers - and a maze of little streets. You quickly learn to dodge them all and once you learn to find your way home - follow the blue arrows - you feel almost like a local! The rooms are all lovely, lunch on the roof terrace was wonderful and the hammam an experience not to miss. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were two couples, both new to Marrakech and booked at Riad Zamzam because of others reviews. We were overwhelmingly pleased with our experience. From the warmth of the staff to the quality of the food to the help with directions, booking excursions, special meals we had a truly amazing holiday. We had rooms on the ground floor, both beautiful and comfortable. Imane and Faisal managed our stay and helped us in every possible way, from getting us transportation from the airport to coming to our rescue when we got lost in the maze of the medina. Zamzam is that kind of place, a true oasis in an unfamiliar city. A special note of thanks for the truly wonderful food and the hammam experience. The only negative about our stay at Zamzam was having to leave!

Room Tip: We loved being on the ground floor across of each other which made getting together in the beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Really nicely decorated riad. Soft lighting. Comfortable furnishings. Clean. There is a patio and a terrace for breakfast. When you arrive they give you a sheet with key details like taxi number and tel no of the day and night managers. The owner Marcus was really friendly. Faisal the night manager is also a complete sweet heart and came to greet us when we got lost. The only downside is that it is difficult to get to. Taxis park up about 10 min walk away. However the riad does what it can to make life easier as a result - eg Faisal comes to meet you or they offer a guide to orientate yourselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I recently travelled to Marakech and stayed at Zam Zam for one night. We arranged for them to send a taxi to the train station to pick us up and a staff member to gather us from the taxi drop to negotiate the short walk to the Riad. We were greeted warmly by the manager Iman and later met one of the owners Marcus. The room was wonderful; large and beautifully appointed and left us with that aaaaaahhhhhhhh feeling after a long day of sight seeing in Marakech. The service was incredible; every request was met with "of course". We had two breakfasts and a supper; at the Riad; both were excellent. The Riad can be hard to find through the myriad of alleys and Iman patiently arranged for staff (Asif or Faisul) to meet us and bring us back. The inner courtyard and roof top patio are beautiful. We took the evening train back to Tangier and were accommodated with hanging out at Zam Zam for about 3-4 hours waiting for our departure. Highly recommend Zam Zam. - it is the perfect oasis in the midst of much stimulation!
.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Travelling Morocco and Spain, Zamzam in Marrakesh was our first stop. We arrived in the afternoon - ZamZam organized the airport taxi - and were met by friendly Faisal, who escorted us to the hotel. We were upgraded without asking and stayed in the hotel for dinner: good choice after a day of travel! The room was stylish, comfortable, within wifi reach and the roof terrace turned out to be a great place to relax after the great but hectic souk. Every request we made was met; restaurant booking, car-with-driver, airport transfers. And the wine always had the right temperature..

Room Tip: Can't comment on the spa, no time to use it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.