We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wham bam, thank you Zamzam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wham bam, thank you Zamzam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I travel around the world organising parties, weddings, etc and stayed at Zamzam whilst producing a wedding in Marrakech. My driver escorted me on a mystery tour through the Medina's maze, and led me to the riad's secret entrance, but as soon as I arrived at the front door of this charming place, I knew I was in safe hands. Faisal's welcome was wonderful "This is your home now my lady", sat me down and like all good Moroccans gave me a cup of Moroccan tea. My room was cool and quiet, the bed super comfortable, breakfast was delicious and I loved all the small touches such as bath robes and monogramed towels, beautifully scented soaps, etc.

From my last minute requests, local transport arrangements, mobile phone top ups, late night food, nothing was too much trouble. Marcus and Emma, the owners of the hotel are knowledgeable and interesting so if you want the inside scoop on where to go in Marrakech then they're your go-to guys.

If you're looking for an oasis to switch off after the hullabloo of the Medina, then Zamzam's the place. The riad's bath oils scented my clothes and so my suitcase carries the sweet smells of Zamzam whereever I go next....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
167
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Zamzam Riad is a little off the beaten track , not too easy to find and accessed through a tiny unmarked passage way. And that's what makes it great. Zamzam is to Marrakesh what speakeasys were to prohibition: hidden from view but stocked full of exactly what you want.

At the North end of the Medina you wont see many, if any, other tourists but the tiny streets and passages are bustling with life and everyone one has a broad smile and a "bonjour!" as you pass.

Inside Zamzam British owners Marcus and Emma have taken great care and effort to make it both very comfortable and entirely authentic. Everything from glassware to beautiful beaten bronze lampshades are chosen with care. The central courtyard is cool ( the heat outside was 35 degrees on the days we visited) and a fountain plays in a plunge pool strewn with rose petals. Our room - the Palm Suite - was comfortable and well-equipped with a large, firm bed, high quality linen and towels and a powerful walk-in shower and air con.

There is a full Hammam and massage service ( we didnt try but heard from others that it was great) and a great roof-terrace for sunbathing with comfortable loungers and even straw hats for guests.

The staff led by Imane and brilliantly supported by Faysal are unendingly helpful - pointing you in the right direction on adventures in to the Souks or to great local restaurants and helping with taxis, trips and great advice on how to extract the maximum fun and interest during your stay.

The food is prepared by two lovely women in their small kitchen and is both entirely authentic and as good as anything we ate in the city. The Zamzam zamwich with Kefte ( meatballs) is a new contender for Last Meal.

If you like pool-side service and five star luxury chain hotels then this isn't for you. If you want an authentic and immersive experience of the true Marrakesh then I STRONGLY advise you to stay here.

Room Tip: The Palm Suite was heavenly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

In the heart of the medina, a splendid riad. as an oasis in the desert.
Great atmosphere, beautiful rooms, beautiful place. The owner, Marcus and the guy who helps him, Faysal offer a spectacular hospitality,they are very kind and very nice.
Excellent home-made breakfast, delicious dinner.
Definitely to come back and recommend to all
anna lisa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Booked to stay 4 nights and extended to a week. Riad is located 15-20 min walk from main square but great as its away from hustle and bustle.

Staff were great; led by Imane who was always approachable and was able to help organize day trips, suggestions on food and shopping, chefs cooked great food (no tagine in Marrakech was better) and Aziz was always around to help out especially when we got lost in the mazy walks. Don't think Marcus and Emma will be able to find a replacement for the team they have put together at the Riad!

We were upgraded to the biggest room, nicely decorated and very traditional feel to the rooms with a nice terrace to have dinner on and enjoy the atmosphere of Marrakech in the evenings.

If you don't mind a little hike from the busy souks, Riad Zamzam is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Riad Zam Zam is a real find; it's absolutely beautiful, secluded, peaceful, luxurious, yet very friendly. I was working in Marrakech for a week. The staff were incredibly helpful with things like local phone cards and cars, the food was lovely, served at all hours as we needed it, so it felt like coming home to a little haven to relax after the hectic work. I too loved my marble bathroom with vaulted ceiling and lanterns from the souk, the gorgeous bedspreads and the beautiful carpets, and the little pool sprinkled with rose petals.

Room Tip: If you're not muslim and want to sleep through the muezzin, maybe pick a room downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Many thanks to the team at the Riad Zam Zam for making our weekend break perfect. The riad is truly beautiful and the team there couldn't do enough to ensure we had a lovely stay. The room was lovely, and we can't wait to come back and try a different one. We couldn't have asked for more, a little piece of paradise inside the medina.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at the Zamzam for a week recently on a very busy business trip. Place is beautiful, staff incredible, and we really couldn't have asked for more. It really was like staying with family, except that it was so luxorious and comfortable. I had a room with a special Moroccan marble rainshower ... divine!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.