We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, not convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place, not convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Riad and have very mixed reviews. First the good. The room was very nice, and the Riad was smaller than we expected, but well maintained. Faisal was an excellent everything. Hospitable, patient, understanding and responsive. You could not ask for more in terms of his service. Now the issues. First the location is not convenient to much of anything. You need a driver to get anywhere and typically need someone to walk you out to find the driver. That makes it harder to just come and go. Also, the taxis don't know where this is, so they drop you off and you need to find your way back from the taxi drop off, which is neither close to the Riad nor the most safe feeling location. We also had issues with arranging car service. When we arrived after a 7 hour train trip we had arranged with the Riad for a driver to show up, and confirmed it 3 times. When we arrived, no driver. After many struggles to get in touch with the Riad, we were simply told that they were very busy and they would get there when they could. In fairness, they did not charge us, but that was beside the point. We were depending upon that service. Worst of all, Emma, who was very helpful in making the arrangements, answering all my questions before we arrived, arranged the car service, but never addressed it with me directly during our entire stay. Overall, the rest of the staff was very accommodating and very pleasant. It is a nice place, but the location is a real challenge. We spoke with other guests while we were there and they all said the same.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
In response to your review. I'm very sorry about your airport pick up. I too was absolutely furious. I had confirmed your taxi with the company we use 3 times. I was so angry that he wasn't there on time that he then offered you the transfer free and also told you that any taxis you needed during your stay in Marrakech would be free. I did think this was a decent gesture. This is very unusual for this professional company and I am sorry again. Most professional riads in the Medina use this company for transport as they are so professional. I didn't address it directly with you as I share my job with Marcus and Imane. Marcus who went to the riad to meet you told me that everything was ok and that he had apologised on behalf of Zamzam.

We hire extra staff to walk with people and the taxi drop off point is only 3 minutes from the front door and has easy access for the cars. We work with an exclusive travel agency who use Zamzam for this very reason for their VIP dinners. I think your review is a little unfair as we use the best partners we can find in Marrakech and the company did make every effort to apologise for their tardiness and offer you free rides during your stay.

You are right in your comment - The Medina is not a particularly convenient place (much like Venice) and it can be a bit of a struggle. In fairness the Medina is a maze and most people enjoy that adventure. You do need to be clear about what the Medina offers when you visit Marrakech as with most places in the Medina, they take a compass to find. Taxis do know where we are as Zaouia and Bab Tagherzout are two of the most famous places in the Medina, but again if you jump in a local petite taxi some can be challenging and I always advise that the ones who use 'their counter' are the most honest. Lastly we have excellent restaurants in walking distance from Zamzam, also we are closest to the Majorelle Gardens and our side of the souks is the best with the most authentic artisans. Again I'm sorry your driver was late and I'm glad you enjoyed Zamzam and our wonderful team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
169
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife, son and I stayed here for 3 nights with our 14 month old son. It is as beautiful and luxurious as the pictures depict and all the staff are wonderful making you feel at home. Breakfasts are beautiful and they will cater to any of your requests. Dinner in their soothing courtyard is a must.

While still in the medina, it is a bit off the beaten track. Nonetheless, their porter, Aziz, will walk you wherever you need to go until you get your bearings. All in all, this Riad is so classy, beautiful and elegant. The staff is amazing and once you get home after a crazy day in Marrakesh, you will never want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your helpful review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the riad and that you were able to chill out after a busy day in the Medina. The Zamzam location was chosen so that people could go exploring and then retreat to calm. If you overshop which can happen in the wonderful souks our taxi drop off point is only 3 minutes walk from the riad and Aziz is always available to walk round and carry your bags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've just read this last review of Riad ZamZam by Al P and couldn't disagree more. We booked this Riad after googling " family friendly RIad, Marrakech " and the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor.
We were met at the airport by a taxi arranged by the Riad and had a wonderfully warm welcome by Emma, one of the owners. We immediately felt at ease.
The Riad was just what we were after and after a wash and brush up went down for dinner. The food was sublime. I'd thoroughly recommend the Royal Tagine, a wonderful combination of Lamb, Prunes, Apricots, Almonds and Walnuts. In our next 10 days travelling around Morocco the food at Riad ZamZam was never surpassed. They even prepared a special ice cream selection for our 7 year old son.
The rooms are large and naturally open out towards the central courtyard as this is a typical Riad. The decor was amazing and as a keen photographer, a feast for the eyes.
A wonderful nights sleep was followed by a lovely breakfast ( I do love my food ! )
The Riad had organised a car for us to travel over the Atlas Mountains to Ouarzazate, where we were going on a 8 day trip though the Western Sahara and many villages and towns. The drive was spectacular and the driver organised by Emma was first class.
We had an amazing tour but we were tired by the end and really looked forward to going back to ZamZam, our quiet Oasis of calm.
We arrived back and met Marcus, the other owner. Another wonderful welcome and a day of exploring.
Marrakech is a wonderful city although it can be a bit overwhelming at first. All of the streets within the Medina are narrow and twisty and it can be hard to find your way around but I never felt threatened. You do get pestered by the locals but this is Morocco after all. The kids in the neighbourhood of Riad ZamZam were helpful and friendly although they all wanted a few Dirhams !
In short I would thoroughly recommend Riad ZamZam. The decor was wonderful, the food fantastic and the service couldn't be faulted. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review - your feedback is really helpful for the Zamzam Team who work so hard. Our chef is wonderful and I work very closely with her to combine international recipes with her Moroccan cuisine. We are now planning our summer menu of cool light options. The Medina is busy and hectic which is also what makes walking around it such an adventure its full of magic and surprise! We partner with excellent guides and drives to ensure you have the best experience and are well looked after. Thank you for posting your stunning photos of Zamzam! and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The riad is lovely and the service is attentive and authentic . The location is quiet on the north end of the medina . We had a lovely 5 night stay , booking 3 rooms . We would highly recommend this 8 room riad . We enjoyed breakfast , lunch and dinner , Emma arranged a half day guide for us and afterwards , we knew our way @ the medina quite easily . An excellent value and riad for the price !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. It's right inside the Medina, but away from the tourist area. You really get to see the colour of everyday life around you, and getting lost is just part of the fun. Marrakech itself is an amazing city. It's so close to Europe, but feels like another world. There's plenty of historic sites and new attractions, but for us the best part was just wandering around the narrow, dusty streets of the Medina and experiencing the sights and sounds of people's daily life. The night market is a must - what a fascinating experience.

The hotel interior is a perfect blend of Moroccan style and hotel facilities. There are comfy areas to lounge around, a roof for sunbathing and a beautiful little courtyard with birds singing in it. The courtyard is a perfect place for pancakes in the morning or orange juice in the afternoon. The rooms are all a bit different, so check the website to pick your perfect room. Ours was very clean and comfortable. The staff and owners of the hotel go out of their way to make sure you have a fantastic visit to Marrakech. They will recommend activities to suit your tastes and organise city tours, trips to places like the Atlas Mountains and so on. We felt so welcome from the moment we arrived.

We hope to visit Marrakech again, and would definitely stay at Zamzam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The team at Zamzam work so hard to make guests stay enjoyable. Its not easy in the Medina because it is a crazy historic place. You can get lost and spoken to by children who enjoy some random banter but I'm really glad that you understand and enjoyed our location in the Medina. We chose not to be in a noisy tourist area so that clients can return to the calm which is Zamzam after a visit to the hustle and bustle. Realising the Medina is difficult to navigate we employ a lot of staff at Zamzam to ensure you are really looked after. We have not just a day manager but a night one too. This makes sure you get the most out of your visit to Marrakech and are well advised on where to go and what to see. Thank you again and we hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Such a beautiful oasis in the middle of the hussle and bussle of the Medina. Amazing service. Tranquil bedroom. Delicious, fresh, authentic food. Definitely visiting again! Thank you so much for the amazing experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I really did not know what to expect, having never been in a Riad, Marrakech or Morocco for that matter in my life. We were met at the point beyond which the streets are too narrow for cars by Aziz, a lovely, kind, Moroccan man. I admit to feeling a little unsure as he guided us through the dusty streets replete with street kids, old men and motor scooters flying past in all directions. The fact that it was also dark added mystery to the adventure.

We trusted him enough to follow him down a dark and narrow alley, which revealed the huge beautiful wooden front door of the Riad once we turned a corner.

This approach makes the transition into what can only be described as a delightfully sensuous assault on eyes, ears and nose as you emerge like a new born baby into the glorious courtyard at the centre of this oasis.

We were greeted by the owner, Emma, and felt an enormous, genuine welcome that continued throughout the four days of our stay.

The staff were wonderful and could not do enough for you. The food was amazing (they even catered for my off-menu need for a green juice in the mornings). The rooms were spectacular, luxurious, stately, homely and comfortable all at once.

If you do stay here, I highly recommend taking the traditional Hammam shower situated off the fantastic sun deck at the top of the house, followed by a massage and a snooze.

Put simply - we really did not want to leave. Wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.