We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent riad !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“An excellent riad !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The riad is lovely and the service is attentive and authentic . The location is quiet on the north end of the medina . We had a lovely 5 night stay , booking 3 rooms . We would highly recommend this 8 room riad . We enjoyed breakfast , lunch and dinner , Emma arranged a half day guide for us and afterwards , we knew our way @ the medina quite easily . An excellent value and riad for the price !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
171
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. It's right inside the Medina, but away from the tourist area. You really get to see the colour of everyday life around you, and getting lost is just part of the fun. Marrakech itself is an amazing city. It's so close to Europe, but feels like another world. There's plenty of historic sites and new attractions, but for us the best part was just wandering around the narrow, dusty streets of the Medina and experiencing the sights and sounds of people's daily life. The night market is a must - what a fascinating experience.

The hotel interior is a perfect blend of Moroccan style and hotel facilities. There are comfy areas to lounge around, a roof for sunbathing and a beautiful little courtyard with birds singing in it. The courtyard is a perfect place for pancakes in the morning or orange juice in the afternoon. The rooms are all a bit different, so check the website to pick your perfect room. Ours was very clean and comfortable. The staff and owners of the hotel go out of their way to make sure you have a fantastic visit to Marrakech. They will recommend activities to suit your tastes and organise city tours, trips to places like the Atlas Mountains and so on. We felt so welcome from the moment we arrived.

We hope to visit Marrakech again, and would definitely stay at Zamzam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The team at Zamzam work so hard to make guests stay enjoyable. Its not easy in the Medina because it is a crazy historic place. You can get lost and spoken to by children who enjoy some random banter but I'm really glad that you understand and enjoyed our location in the Medina. We chose not to be in a noisy tourist area so that clients can return to the calm which is Zamzam after a visit to the hustle and bustle. Realising the Medina is difficult to navigate we employ a lot of staff at Zamzam to ensure you are really looked after. We have not just a day manager but a night one too. This makes sure you get the most out of your visit to Marrakech and are well advised on where to go and what to see. Thank you again and we hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Such a beautiful oasis in the middle of the hussle and bussle of the Medina. Amazing service. Tranquil bedroom. Delicious, fresh, authentic food. Definitely visiting again! Thank you so much for the amazing experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I really did not know what to expect, having never been in a Riad, Marrakech or Morocco for that matter in my life. We were met at the point beyond which the streets are too narrow for cars by Aziz, a lovely, kind, Moroccan man. I admit to feeling a little unsure as he guided us through the dusty streets replete with street kids, old men and motor scooters flying past in all directions. The fact that it was also dark added mystery to the adventure.

We trusted him enough to follow him down a dark and narrow alley, which revealed the huge beautiful wooden front door of the Riad once we turned a corner.

This approach makes the transition into what can only be described as a delightfully sensuous assault on eyes, ears and nose as you emerge like a new born baby into the glorious courtyard at the centre of this oasis.

We were greeted by the owner, Emma, and felt an enormous, genuine welcome that continued throughout the four days of our stay.

The staff were wonderful and could not do enough for you. The food was amazing (they even catered for my off-menu need for a green juice in the mornings). The rooms were spectacular, luxurious, stately, homely and comfortable all at once.

If you do stay here, I highly recommend taking the traditional Hammam shower situated off the fantastic sun deck at the top of the house, followed by a massage and a snooze.

Put simply - we really did not want to leave. Wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently had two nights at Riad Zamzam and the service was excellent, the beds very comfortable and excellent staff team. We were well looked after and my daughter who is 10 also had a great time. We were helped with information on what to do in the Medina and enjoyed every minute. We loved being in the North of the Medina away from the hustle and bustle. The hammam was superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wow - what I can I say about Riad Zamzam - it is wonderful and for our two children (aged 4 and 6) it was a fabulous adventure. We arrived at about 8pm and were met from our taxi by the lovely Faisal who walked us through a myriad of little paths, getting smaller and smaller until we reached a dark wooden door with a huge Moroccan lamp hanging overhead, he unlocked the door to exactly what you want to see when staying in a Moroccan Riad. Twinkly lights, courtyard with leather poofs, indoor pool, fire lit and a super tasty tagine ready and waiting for us. The room was perfect (Rose suite) with a huge bed for us and little camp beds (with the finest cotton bed linen) for the children. Attention to detail is superb, even down to mini robes for the children to wear after bathing in the amazing bath tub. The staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful, the hamam was great and Faisal even glued back together my sons Moroccan drum that got broken. Please don't hesitate to book this Riad, especially if you are traveling with children. The walk to the souks is a fascinating 10 minute wander through a local food market and you're there. We had a guide for our first morning and after that had no trouble finding our way around. We will return.

Room Tip: Rose suite if you have children with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I cannot recommend this Riad enough. It is a wonderful place to stay in the Medina, a tranquil den escaping the crazy that is Marrakech.

Firstly some general info...
A Riad is a traditional older dwelling within the old town (Medina) of narrow maze-like streets. It is built with all windows facing an inner courtyard. Many European and some Moroccan owners have renovated riads and made them into guest houses with a small number of bedrooms each. They cost a little more than a conventional hotel room and are, in some respects, a little more basic, but if you want to experience a more authentic way of staying in Marrakech it is the only way to do it.

Things to be aware of if considering a stay in a Riad:
The low lighting, I struggled to differentiate between my navy and black clothes and consequently went out with odd shoes one evening.
The drainage, the Marrakech medina hums a little. Not this particular Riad but the whole area of the medina. You get used to it, the drainage systems are old, it's to be expected.
The medina is a maze, you will get a little bit lost but that is part if the fun and,as we discovered taxis are cheap and plentiful. Just ensure you know a landmark that taxis know and can access near the Riad.
You are staying amongst the locals, in their back streets, respect that and dress and behave accordingly and you shouldn't come to any bother. They speak Arabic and French as their first and second languages and maybe some English thereafter. A bit of French gets you a long way in making yourself understood. A few words of Arabic show you are making the effort "shukran" is thank you.
This is the only way to gain a sense of culture and tradition in Marrakech, the new hotels outside of the medina just cannot do that.

So now I have told you the general stuff about a Riad, Riad Zamzam is the one to choose, no contest.
Iman the manager was about every morning and ensured we had everything we needed from a local guide, restaurant reservations to car hire.
Aziz and the ladies kept the place spotless and cooked great quality food for the evenings when we chose a peaceful evening in.
Faysal, the assistant manager, is a-m-a-z-I-n-g!!! Nothing was too much effort and he went above and beyond every single day for every guest. He will have his own Riad to manage one day and it is absolutely deserved.

An example of how much consideration Zamzam have made for the comfort of their guests is they provide child sized bathrobes for young visitors. Whilst we don't have little ones ourselves it was a pleasure to see another family of guests all relaxing in their robes including their two boys and is a great symbol of just how much thought has gone into making every aspect of a stay complete.

The hamman and massage offered at the Riad is worth taking up for a day of full relaxation and pampering but at £75 each it isn't cheap so budget accordingly or shop about instead.

In short Riad Zamzam is a wonderful place to stay, experience the hustle and bustle of Marrakech but then have the comfort, tranquility and attentive service of a top class Riad to relax and recharge.

I promise you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: For a little more the suites offer a lot of extra room and are worth considering but every room we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for this brilliantly comprehensive review. Its like a mini guide which is really helpful for people looking to book a stay. Its important people understand what the Medina is and what a riad is. Living with locals in a Unesco Heritage site. I'm glad you noticed the children's robes its always a shame when we visit big hotels that they don't have them for kids. We also put teddys on the beds and provide children's meals on request. Children can also choose from the Spa Menu and have a cooking class which is great fun. All of our clients go with a guide the first time they venture out this enables them to orientate themselves and decided which parts they would like to go back to. Thanks again Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.