We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Such a beautiful oasis in the middle of the hussle and bussle of the Medina. Amazing service. Tranquil bedroom. Delicious, fresh, authentic food. Definitely visiting again! Thank you so much for the amazing experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
159
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I really did not know what to expect, having never been in a Riad, Marrakech or Morocco for that matter in my life. We were met at the point beyond which the streets are too narrow for cars by Aziz, a lovely, kind, Moroccan man. I admit to feeling a little unsure as he guided us through the dusty streets replete with street kids, old men and motor scooters flying past in all directions. The fact that it was also dark added mystery to the adventure.

We trusted him enough to follow him down a dark and narrow alley, which revealed the huge beautiful wooden front door of the Riad once we turned a corner.

This approach makes the transition into what can only be described as a delightfully sensuous assault on eyes, ears and nose as you emerge like a new born baby into the glorious courtyard at the centre of this oasis.

We were greeted by the owner, Emma, and felt an enormous, genuine welcome that continued throughout the four days of our stay.

The staff were wonderful and could not do enough for you. The food was amazing (they even catered for my off-menu need for a green juice in the mornings). The rooms were spectacular, luxurious, stately, homely and comfortable all at once.

If you do stay here, I highly recommend taking the traditional Hammam shower situated off the fantastic sun deck at the top of the house, followed by a massage and a snooze.

Put simply - we really did not want to leave. Wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently had two nights at Riad Zamzam and the service was excellent, the beds very comfortable and excellent staff team. We were well looked after and my daughter who is 10 also had a great time. We were helped with information on what to do in the Medina and enjoyed every minute. We loved being in the North of the Medina away from the hustle and bustle. The hammam was superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wow - what I can I say about Riad Zamzam - it is wonderful and for our two children (aged 4 and 6) it was a fabulous adventure. We arrived at about 8pm and were met from our taxi by the lovely Faisal who walked us through a myriad of little paths, getting smaller and smaller until we reached a dark wooden door with a huge Moroccan lamp hanging overhead, he unlocked the door to exactly what you want to see when staying in a Moroccan Riad. Twinkly lights, courtyard with leather poofs, indoor pool, fire lit and a super tasty tagine ready and waiting for us. The room was perfect (Rose suite) with a huge bed for us and little camp beds (with the finest cotton bed linen) for the children. Attention to detail is superb, even down to mini robes for the children to wear after bathing in the amazing bath tub. The staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful, the hamam was great and Faisal even glued back together my sons Moroccan drum that got broken. Please don't hesitate to book this Riad, especially if you are traveling with children. The walk to the souks is a fascinating 10 minute wander through a local food market and you're there. We had a guide for our first morning and after that had no trouble finding our way around. We will return.

Room Tip: Rose suite if you have children with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I cannot recommend this Riad enough. It is a wonderful place to stay in the Medina, a tranquil den escaping the crazy that is Marrakech.

Firstly some general info...
A Riad is a traditional older dwelling within the old town (Medina) of narrow maze-like streets. It is built with all windows facing an inner courtyard. Many European and some Moroccan owners have renovated riads and made them into guest houses with a small number of bedrooms each. They cost a little more than a conventional hotel room and are, in some respects, a little more basic, but if you want to experience a more authentic way of staying in Marrakech it is the only way to do it.

Things to be aware of if considering a stay in a Riad:
The low lighting, I struggled to differentiate between my navy and black clothes and consequently went out with odd shoes one evening.
The drainage, the Marrakech medina hums a little. Not this particular Riad but the whole area of the medina. You get used to it, the drainage systems are old, it's to be expected.
The medina is a maze, you will get a little bit lost but that is part if the fun and,as we discovered taxis are cheap and plentiful. Just ensure you know a landmark that taxis know and can access near the Riad.
You are staying amongst the locals, in their back streets, respect that and dress and behave accordingly and you shouldn't come to any bother. They speak Arabic and French as their first and second languages and maybe some English thereafter. A bit of French gets you a long way in making yourself understood. A few words of Arabic show you are making the effort "shukran" is thank you.
This is the only way to gain a sense of culture and tradition in Marrakech, the new hotels outside of the medina just cannot do that.

So now I have told you the general stuff about a Riad, Riad Zamzam is the one to choose, no contest.
Iman the manager was about every morning and ensured we had everything we needed from a local guide, restaurant reservations to car hire.
Aziz and the ladies kept the place spotless and cooked great quality food for the evenings when we chose a peaceful evening in.
Faysal, the assistant manager, is a-m-a-z-I-n-g!!! Nothing was too much effort and he went above and beyond every single day for every guest. He will have his own Riad to manage one day and it is absolutely deserved.

An example of how much consideration Zamzam have made for the comfort of their guests is they provide child sized bathrobes for young visitors. Whilst we don't have little ones ourselves it was a pleasure to see another family of guests all relaxing in their robes including their two boys and is a great symbol of just how much thought has gone into making every aspect of a stay complete.

The hamman and massage offered at the Riad is worth taking up for a day of full relaxation and pampering but at £75 each it isn't cheap so budget accordingly or shop about instead.

In short Riad Zamzam is a wonderful place to stay, experience the hustle and bustle of Marrakech but then have the comfort, tranquility and attentive service of a top class Riad to relax and recharge.

I promise you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: For a little more the suites offer a lot of extra room and are worth considering but every room we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for this brilliantly comprehensive review. Its like a mini guide which is really helpful for people looking to book a stay. Its important people understand what the Medina is and what a riad is. Living with locals in a Unesco Heritage site. I'm glad you noticed the children's robes its always a shame when we visit big hotels that they don't have them for kids. We also put teddys on the beds and provide children's meals on request. Children can also choose from the Spa Menu and have a cooking class which is great fun. All of our clients go with a guide the first time they venture out this enables them to orientate themselves and decided which parts they would like to go back to. Thanks again Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Within hours of walking into Zamzam I had been fed and scrubbed and massaged and pampered and then fed again. My cares fell by the wayside and I felt as relaxed as I had in yonks. Kicking back in my room the eyes feasted on the intricate detailing of local craftsmanship which yes goddamnit I did deserve. Fit for royalty and run and staffed by wonderful people for whom nothing is genuinely too much trouble.
Then I was ready for the little amble to the souks and sights and what souks and what sights. You almost need to live it in slow motion in an attempt to take it all in such is the vibrancy.
When you've had your fill of the souks and sights then Zamzam is serenity itself. I joined a yoga, reiki, massage retreat and after a day at Zamzam we all headed out over the Atlas Mountains and into the Sahara where we stayed at an incredible luxury tent location. Subjected to all the elements during these few days the experience was all the richer for it as was I. I'm feeling warm inside just casting my mind back.
They only run three retreats a year but seem to attract a special kind of person which has the knock on effect of the whole group amounting to so much more than just the sum of its parts. Do yourself a favour and try get on one of these. Admittedly I have only been on the Saharan retreat but the team assembled are all excellent at what they do and furthermore they surreptitiously heal you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed at a few Riads in the old medina so have a good overview, so can gauge quite accurately that this Riad is amazing. We loved the location. It is away from the tourist trap of the Souks. The streets around the Riad are very truly Marrakech. Only 5mins walk is a place selling the most amazing Kebabs, and a short walk in the other direction will take you towards the new city and all the international style places to eat. The people working in the Riad are very friendly and eager to help and very soon we felt at home and part of the 'family'. Also a great view from the roof. Rooms were very comfortable and cleaned daily, always had hot water too. In summary an awesome place to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech
Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list