We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
South Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently had two nights at Riad Zamzam and the service was excellent, the beds very comfortable and excellent staff team. We were well looked after and my daughter who is 10 also had a great time. We were helped with information on what to do in the Medina and enjoyed every minute. We loved being in the North of the Medina away from the hustle and bustle. The hammam was superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
167
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wow - what I can I say about Riad Zamzam - it is wonderful and for our two children (aged 4 and 6) it was a fabulous adventure. We arrived at about 8pm and were met from our taxi by the lovely Faisal who walked us through a myriad of little paths, getting smaller and smaller until we reached a dark wooden door with a huge Moroccan lamp hanging overhead, he unlocked the door to exactly what you want to see when staying in a Moroccan Riad. Twinkly lights, courtyard with leather poofs, indoor pool, fire lit and a super tasty tagine ready and waiting for us. The room was perfect (Rose suite) with a huge bed for us and little camp beds (with the finest cotton bed linen) for the children. Attention to detail is superb, even down to mini robes for the children to wear after bathing in the amazing bath tub. The staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful, the hamam was great and Faisal even glued back together my sons Moroccan drum that got broken. Please don't hesitate to book this Riad, especially if you are traveling with children. The walk to the souks is a fascinating 10 minute wander through a local food market and you're there. We had a guide for our first morning and after that had no trouble finding our way around. We will return.

Room Tip: Rose suite if you have children with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I cannot recommend this Riad enough. It is a wonderful place to stay in the Medina, a tranquil den escaping the crazy that is Marrakech.

Firstly some general info...
A Riad is a traditional older dwelling within the old town (Medina) of narrow maze-like streets. It is built with all windows facing an inner courtyard. Many European and some Moroccan owners have renovated riads and made them into guest houses with a small number of bedrooms each. They cost a little more than a conventional hotel room and are, in some respects, a little more basic, but if you want to experience a more authentic way of staying in Marrakech it is the only way to do it.

Things to be aware of if considering a stay in a Riad:
The low lighting, I struggled to differentiate between my navy and black clothes and consequently went out with odd shoes one evening.
The drainage, the Marrakech medina hums a little. Not this particular Riad but the whole area of the medina. You get used to it, the drainage systems are old, it's to be expected.
The medina is a maze, you will get a little bit lost but that is part if the fun and,as we discovered taxis are cheap and plentiful. Just ensure you know a landmark that taxis know and can access near the Riad.
You are staying amongst the locals, in their back streets, respect that and dress and behave accordingly and you shouldn't come to any bother. They speak Arabic and French as their first and second languages and maybe some English thereafter. A bit of French gets you a long way in making yourself understood. A few words of Arabic show you are making the effort "shukran" is thank you.
This is the only way to gain a sense of culture and tradition in Marrakech, the new hotels outside of the medina just cannot do that.

So now I have told you the general stuff about a Riad, Riad Zamzam is the one to choose, no contest.
Iman the manager was about every morning and ensured we had everything we needed from a local guide, restaurant reservations to car hire.
Aziz and the ladies kept the place spotless and cooked great quality food for the evenings when we chose a peaceful evening in.
Faysal, the assistant manager, is a-m-a-z-I-n-g!!! Nothing was too much effort and he went above and beyond every single day for every guest. He will have his own Riad to manage one day and it is absolutely deserved.

An example of how much consideration Zamzam have made for the comfort of their guests is they provide child sized bathrobes for young visitors. Whilst we don't have little ones ourselves it was a pleasure to see another family of guests all relaxing in their robes including their two boys and is a great symbol of just how much thought has gone into making every aspect of a stay complete.

The hamman and massage offered at the Riad is worth taking up for a day of full relaxation and pampering but at £75 each it isn't cheap so budget accordingly or shop about instead.

In short Riad Zamzam is a wonderful place to stay, experience the hustle and bustle of Marrakech but then have the comfort, tranquility and attentive service of a top class Riad to relax and recharge.

I promise you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: For a little more the suites offer a lot of extra room and are worth considering but every room we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for this brilliantly comprehensive review. Its like a mini guide which is really helpful for people looking to book a stay. Its important people understand what the Medina is and what a riad is. Living with locals in a Unesco Heritage site. I'm glad you noticed the children's robes its always a shame when we visit big hotels that they don't have them for kids. We also put teddys on the beds and provide children's meals on request. Children can also choose from the Spa Menu and have a cooking class which is great fun. All of our clients go with a guide the first time they venture out this enables them to orientate themselves and decided which parts they would like to go back to. Thanks again Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Within hours of walking into Zamzam I had been fed and scrubbed and massaged and pampered and then fed again. My cares fell by the wayside and I felt as relaxed as I had in yonks. Kicking back in my room the eyes feasted on the intricate detailing of local craftsmanship which yes goddamnit I did deserve. Fit for royalty and run and staffed by wonderful people for whom nothing is genuinely too much trouble.
Then I was ready for the little amble to the souks and sights and what souks and what sights. You almost need to live it in slow motion in an attempt to take it all in such is the vibrancy.
When you've had your fill of the souks and sights then Zamzam is serenity itself. I joined a yoga, reiki, massage retreat and after a day at Zamzam we all headed out over the Atlas Mountains and into the Sahara where we stayed at an incredible luxury tent location. Subjected to all the elements during these few days the experience was all the richer for it as was I. I'm feeling warm inside just casting my mind back.
They only run three retreats a year but seem to attract a special kind of person which has the knock on effect of the whole group amounting to so much more than just the sum of its parts. Do yourself a favour and try get on one of these. Admittedly I have only been on the Saharan retreat but the team assembled are all excellent at what they do and furthermore they surreptitiously heal you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed at a few Riads in the old medina so have a good overview, so can gauge quite accurately that this Riad is amazing. We loved the location. It is away from the tourist trap of the Souks. The streets around the Riad are very truly Marrakech. Only 5mins walk is a place selling the most amazing Kebabs, and a short walk in the other direction will take you towards the new city and all the international style places to eat. The people working in the Riad are very friendly and eager to help and very soon we felt at home and part of the 'family'. Also a great view from the roof. Rooms were very comfortable and cleaned daily, always had hot water too. In summary an awesome place to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the beautifully appointed beds, the fresh flowers to the highly tastefully coordinated room designs, the natural soaps, soft extra-large towels to the most healthy, tasty and fresh breakfast, this place is like a small paradise in a wonderful buzzing city that awakens one's senses.

During my stay at the Zamzam I enjoyed an exceptionally attentive staff, a Hammam, a massage and eat all the meals available. From the cook, to the Hammam lady, to the massage therapist- from the owners (that are highly engaged and very present), to the managers and numerous other staff members the place is welcoming, warm, informative, relaxing and just plainly beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Riad Zamzam is spectacular. It's not just the huge amount of attention that has gone in to every single detail. It's also the attention and kindness lavished upon you by the owners, Emma and Marcus and their carefully chosen staff.

The location is great - 5 minutes from the souks and in the most ancient, holy and spiritual places in the Medina. The place has a truly enchanted feel to it.

The food at Zamzam was in fact the best I had in all my trip to Morocco. They serve local wines which are carefully selected and quite delicious.

I really cannot fault this place. I have racked my brains to think of a negative but I cannot. If you are looking for beauty, authenticity and a warm welcome, look no further.

Room Tip: There are seven rooms and all equally beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.