We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for everything, all of you.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Thank you for everything, all of you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Within hours of walking into Zamzam I had been fed and scrubbed and massaged and pampered and then fed again. My cares fell by the wayside and I felt as relaxed as I had in yonks. Kicking back in my room the eyes feasted on the intricate detailing of local craftsmanship which yes goddamnit I did deserve. Fit for royalty and run and staffed by wonderful people for whom nothing is genuinely too much trouble.
Then I was ready for the little amble to the souks and sights and what souks and what sights. You almost need to live it in slow motion in an attempt to take it all in such is the vibrancy.
When you've had your fill of the souks and sights then Zamzam is serenity itself. I joined a yoga, reiki, massage retreat and after a day at Zamzam we all headed out over the Atlas Mountains and into the Sahara where we stayed at an incredible luxury tent location. Subjected to all the elements during these few days the experience was all the richer for it as was I. I'm feeling warm inside just casting my mind back.
They only run three retreats a year but seem to attract a special kind of person which has the knock on effect of the whole group amounting to so much more than just the sum of its parts. Do yourself a favour and try get on one of these. Admittedly I have only been on the Saharan retreat but the team assembled are all excellent at what they do and furthermore they surreptitiously heal you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
171
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed at a few Riads in the old medina so have a good overview, so can gauge quite accurately that this Riad is amazing. We loved the location. It is away from the tourist trap of the Souks. The streets around the Riad are very truly Marrakech. Only 5mins walk is a place selling the most amazing Kebabs, and a short walk in the other direction will take you towards the new city and all the international style places to eat. The people working in the Riad are very friendly and eager to help and very soon we felt at home and part of the 'family'. Also a great view from the roof. Rooms were very comfortable and cleaned daily, always had hot water too. In summary an awesome place to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the beautifully appointed beds, the fresh flowers to the highly tastefully coordinated room designs, the natural soaps, soft extra-large towels to the most healthy, tasty and fresh breakfast, this place is like a small paradise in a wonderful buzzing city that awakens one's senses.

During my stay at the Zamzam I enjoyed an exceptionally attentive staff, a Hammam, a massage and eat all the meals available. From the cook, to the Hammam lady, to the massage therapist- from the owners (that are highly engaged and very present), to the managers and numerous other staff members the place is welcoming, warm, informative, relaxing and just plainly beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Riad Zamzam is spectacular. It's not just the huge amount of attention that has gone in to every single detail. It's also the attention and kindness lavished upon you by the owners, Emma and Marcus and their carefully chosen staff.

The location is great - 5 minutes from the souks and in the most ancient, holy and spiritual places in the Medina. The place has a truly enchanted feel to it.

The food at Zamzam was in fact the best I had in all my trip to Morocco. They serve local wines which are carefully selected and quite delicious.

I really cannot fault this place. I have racked my brains to think of a negative but I cannot. If you are looking for beauty, authenticity and a warm welcome, look no further.

Room Tip: There are seven rooms and all equally beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This can only be described as amazing. I arrived stressed and left in much better shape. the organisation was exceptional: thoughtful, adaptable and efficient. the food was great: home cooking, Moroccan style. We stayed in the Riad for two nights, with is superbly comfortable and very tastefully decorated. Then we travelled by Land Cruiser to a desert camp - although the journey is long, and made even longer by floods and consequent road blocks - the scenery through the Atlas Mountains is stunning. Most important of all, the people: Emma, Daisy the Yoga teacher, Rebecca and the others on the trip, are wonderful people and now good friends. This was no ordinary holiday and I shall remember it for years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our family (incl 2 boys - 5 and 11yrs) had an exquisite experience here. From the exceptional taste in decor, to the delicious food, the comfortable rooms and the questions the staff never got tired of answering, we could thoroughly relax after wonderful, though tiring days wandering the souks and sights. The massage was incredible and those deck chairs on the roof!!! I cannot recommend this Riad enough.

Room Tip: they're all quiet and gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I went the Marrakech with a friend and we stayed here in early February 2013, we couldn't have made a better choice. The whole experience from the food to the decoration and service was outstanding. It's hidden away down a little alley behind a door, like many amazing places in the city.
We ate out a few times and stayed at the hotel for food a couple of nights too, and the food at the hotel was just as good if not better than some of the more expensive restaurants we went to.
The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The only downside if it is one, is the hotel is located in the north of the Medina and a fair walk to the tourist attractions however it's extremely easy and cheap to get taxis anywhere you want to go. Faisal walked with us to restaurants and to get taxis which was great since it's easy to get lost in the labyrinth of the Medina if you don't know your way around, especially at night when your two girls alone! After you get used to the area you feel perfectly safe walking around by yourself.
Imane booked us a day trip to the Atlas mountains, which was just perfect and something I would recommend to everyone going to Morocco. We also had an afternoon of spa treatments at the hotel which was perfect to round off a morning of shopping in the souks.
Overall I couldn't recommend this hotel enough, and I will definitely be staying here when I next go to Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.