We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Save Saved
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

If you want a typical holiday experience where the accommodation is easy to find, the location is predictably touristy and you have very little contact with the real people and place you're staying then give Zam Zam a miss. However, if you want a unique and authentic immersion in Morrocan culture and life- along with five star accommodation and extremely friendly and professional staff- then Zam Zam should be top of your list for a visit to Marrakech.
We spent four nights at Zam Zam for our honeymoon and despite being disorientated by the intensity of the medina (on our last day some guy had built a shop/tent in the middle of the road making it impossible for traffic to pass!), hassled by the occasional hustler offering to show us the way and frequently having to dodge mopeds, bikes and donkeys we can honestly say we've never been anywhere like it. The medina was total sensory overload; the Riad total serenity. The contrast between the utter life affirming chaos of the nearby street and the complete stillness when you enter Zam Zam is magically weird. You literally hear nothing- incredible!
And the Riad itself is clearly a labour of love for owners Marcus and Emma- it wouldn't be overdoing it to say the interior design is work of art. We could have spent hours just looking at the filigree light shades. The beds were obscenely comfortable, the shower like something out of The Arabian nights and the public spaces (balcony, lounge, plunge pool and terrace) delightful.
Overall, this was a holiday we'll never forget (which is just as well as it was our honeymoon!), not only for the vibrantly crazy location but for the genuine warmth and hospitality of everyone who worked at the Riad. Faysal, Imane, Fatima and Aziz were totally professional and utterly charming. The dictionary definition of service.
Make sure you have the hamman and massage as it's amazing. Plus the cookery lesson is tops.
Once again- thank you for a heavenly honeymoon, and if we visit Marrakech again we'll definitely be back. Love Mike and Paula x.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Mike and Paula, WOW what a wonderful review I am so please that you had such a great time with us at Zamzam for your honeymoon. It was a joy doing the cooking class with you and meeting you both, its such a passion of mine it's so great to be able to share it. I will pass on your comments to our hard working team, it really makes all their efforts so worth while to have guests have such a great time. After all it's why we opened Zamzam.

Thank you too to all of our wonderful guests who have left reviews. I hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
168
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at beautiful Riad Zamzam. Absolutely fantastic service, delicious meals (and really good value compared with other restaurants in Marrakech), peaceful and clean. Also, Marcus and Emma's excellent local knowledge and suggestions really helped us get the most out of our stay. My favourite moments were the Moroccan tea reception on arrival (just what was needed after an Easyjet flight) and our first Moroccan evening meal on the roof terrace. Bliss!

Room Tip: We had the Rose room which was a beautiful big room opening out onto the patio on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed three nights in this beautiful place. The interior is great, the staff is extremly friendly and helpful and marcus a perfect host. the highlight is the everyday changing breakfast with a lot of choices and tasteful things, having it on the roof terrace with the palm tree right in the middle of the patio is one of the best things to start a day before heading to the souks. We absolutely recommend ZamZam to any visitors.

Room Tip: all rooms come with luxury linings as written on the website! its absolutely true :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at Riad Zamzam for four nights for our 5th wedding anniversary and it was just right. The Riad is beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. The rooms were comfortable and luxuriously decorated and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We were the only guests there on our first night and we ate dinner on the terrace.
The food was delicious and plentiful and the service was attentive but not over bearing. It was like having our own private restaurant !!

The staff were very helpful for the whole stay and went the extra mile to make sure everything was right... from recommending and booking local restaurants, to organising taxis to the new town and taking me to a local coffee shop to watch an important football match!!

Breakfast was tasty and served on the terrace and the hammam was very relaxing.

Overall a very peaceful and enjoyable stay. Although its a bit further then some other Riads, the quality of the staff and the place more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Zamzam is a wonderfully relaxing combination of luxury and homeliness. We are a family with two children (10 and 7) and we found the location made it a great place to get away from the tourist traps and see some of the real Marrakech - and then slip away just as soon as we wanted. The staff are fantastic and looked after us really well. The style has all you'd want in sophisticated accommodation and yet the children were made to feel very welcome. The adjoining rooms we had were ideal for a family. We were given a fantastic tour and had (almost!) no difficulty in finding our way around. And the wi-fi was totally reliable which my 10 year old son loved.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed here with two friends last weekend. Such a wonderful experience! From having breakfast on the roof terrace, to drinking wine in the plunge pool, the whole experience was simply fantastic. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are clean and a good size. It's quite a long walk from the souks and the main square (about 20-30mins walk away), and the roads are a real labryinth, but I would highly recommend getting taxis everywhere which the staff are very helpful in organising.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

To echoe what other reviewers have said, staying at Zamzam felt like staying in someone's beautiful and comfortable home, much better than an impersonal hotel.
We were greeted by Marcus and Emma and given a helpful introduction to Marrakech and a tour of the Riad.
We stayed in the Palm Suite, which was a good size, well decorated and with a beautiful red marble bathroom and fantastic shower. The bed was large and very comfortable and other than the odd dog bark and the distant call to prayer (to be expected) it's was very peaceful.
The courtyard and roof terrace were both beautifully decorated and the lighting was particularly impressive.

On the first night we had decided we would go and eat out however I became ill. The chef had already gone but Faisal cooked us a lovely omelette, which was very much appreciated and demonstrated the excellent service.
The breakfasts were extremely generous and very tasty (yoghurt, fruit, pancakes, cake, omelette), and could be served in the courtyard, in your room or on the terrace. We also ate lunch on our last day which I would definitely recommend, fresh, authentic and full of flavour.

On the last day we got a hamman and massage on the rooftop, although pricier than other places in the Medina I would definitely recommend it.

I think the only slight downpoint is the location, which whilst isn't actually that far from the main sites it does end up taking twice as long as it should because it's so easy to get lost and if you look remotely lost you get a lot of attention on the streets with adults and children trying to show you the way for money (or trying to get you lost in some cases, 'it's closed' was a frequently heard phrase). We found a polite La šukran (no thank you) normally did the trick and having GPS on your phone is helpful!
We didn't feel entirely comfortable finding our way back at night but the Riad will arrange a private taxi who then phones the night guardian to meet you for the last bit. It's a bit pricey at 100DHS compared to 20DHS in a normal taxi but it's a lot more convenient.
Having said all that it was good to be out of the touristy area and felt more of an adventure, it's just not for everyone.

In conclusion, I would heartily recommend this Riad and have not had a better more homely hotel experience anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.