We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cooking Class at Riad Zamzam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zamzam Riad to your Saves list
Zamzam Riad
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Wonderful Cooking Class at Riad Zamzam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

In mid- September, I took a group of 11 people to do a special Moroccan cooking class at the gorgeous Riad ZamZam! The owner, Emma arranged a fantastic class and everything was prepped and beautifully laid out, ready for our eager hands to start learning how to prepare Moroccan fare. Before we started, we asked Emma to take us on a tour of her Riad, which she renovated and designed with her husband. It was breath-taking in decor and the lighting was especially spectacular. Our group had a wonderful time cooking and Emma's staff were so helpful and gracious. She had mint tea and pastries waiting for us before we even started.

I had arranged a menu with Emma before by email since there were some Vegetarians with us. We made a slew of Moroccan salads (a potato, an eggplant and spiced carrots), Chicken tagine with oranges, Veggie tagines and it was especially fun to make the cheese pastry called a Briouatte. Once we were finished preparing the food, the staff cooked it and then we they served us our food like kings and queens on her rooftop terrace. Seriously, our food was some of the best we ate in all of Marrakech!

I would definitely recommend coming to Riad Zamzam for a cooking class and of course, the Riad is beautiful too. All and all, a wonderful experience and I would bring another group there in a heartbeat. It was a highlight in our week! Thanks Emma!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    28
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
66
175
28
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

You cannot go wrong by staying here. The staff and owners go above and beyond to make sure you have a great experience in Morocco. All arrangements, trips, dinners etc were flawlessly executed. The rooms are also gorgeously designed and each one is unique. I booked the whole riad for a yoga retreat and it was perfect and intimate enough for all us. I will definitely make ZamZam my home in Marrakech next time I go. I think it works great to couples as well! Very romantic!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique but lovely. I suggest if there are open rooms to look at them all and then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Emma is a star, and so is the ZamZam Riad and its cooking class. I highly recommend either staying here or stopping by for a cooking class. The atmosphere is delightful. It is an oasis of calm and beauty.

I will take the lessons (and the complimentary tagine) home with me and try to recreate the flavors of Marrakech. Thanks, Riad ZamZam!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Staying at Zam Zam has been the highlight of our trip so far. Coming home at night after a busy day at the Souks or gardens to this beautiful oasis is just great.
The staff (especially Faisal) are wonderful and very hospitable. Here's a tip... ask Faisal what a reasonable price is for big ticket items before you make a big purchase. We thought that we bought a rug for a very good price only to find out we paid a little too much. C'est la vie!
The rooms are lovely and the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester / Hampshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our taxi collected us from the airport and took us to the medina.. with a short walk to the Riad. I was pretty stunned by the Medina and wondered what on earth we had done. The minute the door to the Riad opened we breathed a sigh of relief!

The Riad itself is very well laid out and appointed. We were fortunate in being the only guests so we had the riad to ourselves. We were looked after BRILLIANTLY by a team of Faysal and Fatima. We enjoyed one of Fatima's hoem cooked meals the first night and, whilst expnsive, it was also one of the best we had in Morocco. Faysal was a generous host with his time and hospitality. He got us hooked on Morocan tea and gave us an excellent understanding of Moroccan/Islamin culture and life.

The beds were huge and the dipping pool was a nice relief when we had walked back from the Medina in 45degree heat.

The Medina itself is a crazy place and I can only compare it with my understanding of medieval Britain combined with waves of moped driven by everyone from 7 to 70 years old. I wouldnt wished to have spent any longer in the Medina than we did (3 days) but the opening of the door to the Riad always brought the most welcome relife and relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at riad Zamzam for what we hoped would be a romantic anniversary getaway and we were not disappointed. What a great place!

We stayed in the Harem suite and it was just perfect. The riad seems to run on the idea that providing guests with luxury doesn't have to mean sterile, generic, big box type accommodation. It felt very luxurious, very comfortable, but also in harmony with the rest of Marrakesh.

If you go, be sure to take advantage of the spa facilities. A private hamman is a pretty rare thing in Morocco - it was WONDERFUL. They also offer dinner and lunch - we ate on the rooftop terrace one night and wished we had done it every night. The breakfast is pretty hearty too - not one of these roll and a yogurt type deals. Delicious food and the perfect atmosphere.

Lastly, we loved the accommodations and the spa and the food, but the service really put them over the top for us. We were assisted with everything we needed from itinerary planning to a ride across town where our car was parked. (There are much closer lots - don't worry) The day we met Faisal, the assistant manager, he waited with us FOREVER to get an unrelated matter figured out at the local police station. I couldn't believe the service - without any expectation of a tip or anything.

I would whole heartedly recommend staying here.

ps - there is a plunge pool in the courtyard that is icy cold and PERFECT after a hot day in Marrakesh. At first I thought it was dirty, but that's just the finish on the walls and floors. It was clean and cold and in a very beautiful setting. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had such a great weekend stay at the Riad Zamzam! The staff was very helpful and friendly, even helping us find a great parking spot! The room was the Harem Suite and it was cozy and clean, comfy bed, plenty of hot water and a great A/C unit. The Riad itself is a gorgeous renovation with a magnificent date tree springing up out of the center. Meals taken in the courtyard or on the roof were simply wonderful. After a hot day in the souks and medina, the plunge pool was a cool, refreshing treat. We had the Riad staff prepare a meal for us and it was divine! We took advantage of the on-site hammam and massage services and I cannot recommend them enough. Simply put: the Riad was the ultimate relaxing refuge after hot days out and about in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamzam Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.