We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan jewel - we had a fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aderbaz

Save Saved
You added Riad Aderbaz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Aderbaz
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 Derb Al Foundouk | Qt Sidi Mimoune-Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #474 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bristol
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Moroccan jewel - we had a fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We had a fantastic stay in Marrakesh at the Riad Aderbaz, after a not so great experience in Agadir, as we pulled up in a taxi at the end of the Derb Al Foundouk, we wondered what to expect . But after a short walk down the derb we found the door way to our Marrakesh retreat! After a quick check in, with very friendly staff we settled into our compact but perfectly equipped room.

Our room was a double on the ground floor, with ensuite facilities and air conditioning. The plunge pool was a delight after a days sight seeing or shopping in the souks. The roof terrace was also an unexpected treat.

Breakfast was included, in a traditional Moroccan style consisting of fresh home made breads and Moroccan pancakes with butter and preserves. We also dinner at the Riad one evening, for a bargain 10E we were provided with a delicious 3 course meal starting with a Moroccan salad, followed by the best Chicken tagine I ate whilst in Morocco and finished with a refreshing fruit salad.

The riad was only a 10 minute walk from Djemma El Fina. Before we went shopping in the souks we asked the owner who really made our stay! She gave us rough prices that we should pay and even gave us directions as to where we could pick up a bargain 6 person tagine for only 50 dirhams! She also drew out a map for us and helped us buy some spices to bring home with us to recreate our Moroccan adventure. We would and have already recommended the Riad Aderbaz to family and friends looking to go to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

My husband and I visited Marrakech for a five night stay in September 2010 and stayed at Riad Aderbaz. We were both delighted with our choice of accommodation and really enjoyed our stay - there is very little the riad could improve on.

Location wise, the Riad is down an alley in a more residential area but it is perfectly safe and not once was the alley a problem for us. Children were out playing until 9 or 10 at night (it was the holidays from school when we visited) and there always seemed to be people around. Even it the alley had been deserted though we wouldn't have felt threatened even of a night as we found Marrakech on the whole to be really safe and never once felt scared, threatened or unsafe anywhere. The Riad is a four minute walk to the Royal Tombs and a 7 minute walk from the Jemma El Fina (main square) making it pretty central and handy for the sites. The Marrakech open top tour bus also stopped two minutes from it and the main mosque is a few minutes walk away too. There is also a little sweet/drinks shop at the top of the alley (so about 1 minutes walk from the riad) which was really handy for buying drinks and water and the man who runs it was so nice and honest - we gave him too much money one time and he called us back to give us our money back. He said hello every day and never tried to rip us off or overcharge us.

The riad itself is charming. There is a typical small splash pool in the middle of the ground floor which was great for cooling off in after a long day shopping in the busy hectic souks but it was a little cold so we only really paddled. There is also a roof top terrace with sun loungerws for sunbathing and a shaded cabana area for chilling out. Our room was the only room on the ground floor and although it was decorated lovely (typical Moroccon style) it had no window and therefore no natural light so it was a bit dull in the daytime but this wasn't a problem as we were out practically all day anyway. If we were to return though I would request a room upstairs as they were bigger and had windows/natural light and a nice view. The room was air conditioned which was a God send as it was so hot some days we needed to cool down when we got back to the riad. I would say the only real problem with the room was that because it was on the ground floor one, we had a lot of street noise from the street on the other side of the wall which kept my husband awake a little but again if you request a room upstairs ou won't have this problem.

Breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, consisted of mint tea, coffee, freshly squeezed oragnce juice, bread and freshly made crepes/pancakes which the riad maid/cook makes fresh every night. You were given two on your plate but most days my husband asked for more and was given a further two and being quite large they are enough to sustain you. Butter, jam and marmalade is out to eat these crepes with and I must say we adored the breakfast - it was delicious and we were so impressed with the home made crepes. We actually miss them now we're home!

The riad owner, though, made our stay! Her and her brother run the riad and live a few doors away in the alley. They are two of the nicest people we ever met! They gave us more breakfast when we asked, happily gave us directions and drew out road maps so we could find our way around, let us use their internet when we needed to sort something out for our flight home, let us use their phone when we needed to call home and check on our house/dog sitters and were just so friendly. They always chatted to us when they saw us, asking all about our lives back home. My husband had a blister on his foot and wanted a plaster - she got her first aid kit out and gave him a plaster, cotton wool, even iodine to clean the wound!

Another time we arrived back at the riad at 1pm to pick up our camera which we had forgotten. The riad owners and their extended family (who were visiting fro Fez during the school summer holidays) were eating lunch in the breakfast room. We said hello and proceeded to our room. Ten minutes later there was a knock at the door. It was the riad owner asking us if we would like some of their lunch of cous cous! They had lots left over and wanted to know if we wanted some. We thanked her and accepted and before we knew it she had laid out two plates, cutlery, drinks and brought out the hugest plate of cous cous I have ever seen! They were even polite enough to leave us to eat it alone. It was delicious and we couldn't get over her generosity - she didn't have to do that and it was lovely of her!

Overall I would definietly return to this riad if I ever went back to Marrakech - it had everything we could need and the price is so cheap it's a real bargain! I doubt anyone could find such quality and service in Marrakech for as low as this Riad is priced. We couldn't be happier with it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

We have just returned from an enjoyable 3 night stay at Riad Aderbaz. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, as we arrived in the evening and hadn't yet got our bearings the lady escorted us to the main square , even holding my hand to cross the busy road! The riad was spotlessly clean with sheets and towels changed daily. The room had aircon which we used on heat setting as it was rather chilly being February! It is well situated for the main square, the Saadian Tombs and the Baddii Palace, the alleyway leading to the riad was a bit dark at night but we didn't feel at all threatened. To reach the riad take the no 19 airport bus, ask to be put off at stop no 5 Sidi Mammoun. Walk to the end of the row of shops on the right then turn right under an archway, after about 50 paces turn right into a small alleyway, the riad is almost at the end on the left, no 40.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed at this Riad in January, and we were very happy with it.

It is located near the Royal Palace and the hospital, and is only about 5-7 minutes walk to the main square. The Riad is quiet and clean, and a relaxing retreat from the hustle and bustle of the main square.

We had the "roof" room, which was perfect. It is the only room on this floor, and outside our room is a roof terrace with three sun loungers, and a covered area with soft seats for escaping from the sun. Our towels and bed sheets got changed daily.

The lady who runs this was very helpful and friendly. Although her English wasn't great, it was good enough to communicate with us. She let me use her computer with the internet whenever I wanted, which was handy. She also arranged (with her brother) to make our breakfast an hour early one morning when we had a day trip.

The breakfast was simple but nice. It consisted of two pancakes and bread, with jam and marmalade. It came with coffee and mint tea.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

the place is charming but ok you can find ryads with more style
the owners are great!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Lovely friendly staff who made our stay special. Excellent location near to the main square.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Aderbaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aderbaz

Address: 40 Derb Al Foundouk | Qt Sidi Mimoune-Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #474 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Aderbaz 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe a l'entree du quartier de Sidi Mimoun, mitoyen du nouveau palais royal, le Riad est a 08 minutes a pied de la celebre place Djemaa El Fna. Hafida et Said Aderbaz, frere et soeur, gerent avec beaucoup de serieux et de gentillesse le bien familial. Le Riad peut accueillir 12 personnes. Une petite chambre en rez de chaussee, trois en etage et la derniere sur la terrasse composent l'hebergement. Une petite piscine entouree de balustrades, ideale pour la securite des enfants. Un salon avec cheminee accueille les hotes pour les petits dejeuners. Une terrasse avec bains de soleil complete l'ensemble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Riad Aderbaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aderbaz Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aderbaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.