We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly people around but it needs improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aderbaz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Aderbaz to your Saves list
Riad Aderbaz
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 Derb Al Foundouk | Qt Sidi Mimoune-Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #447 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“friendly people around but it needs improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Our staying was nice and we appreciated many different things. Firstly, we did the check in at about 11 pm and when we arrived the owner assisted us to find the riad. The hotel is nearby the royal palace and the gendarmerie is very close, either. The area is very tranquil. The hotel is nice and simple. The room was good and comfortable. We had the air-conditioning which kept the room warm and we had heavy coverts the bed. I must complain a bit about the bathroom, instead. In fact, although the shower was very warm, there was not soap and we had to ask for it. Afterwards, they only offered 2 thin soaps for the whole permanence, 3 nights.The bathroom was smelling very bad, i suppose it was the sewer. They left our window open in the toilet but the smell was quite strong and we had to close the door any time. Also, there were little fly. The breakfast in the morning was in a nice area, very comfortable and we appreciated the owners getting up very early, preparing delicious food for the guests.there was cherry and fig jam, hot milk and coffee, mint tea and a glass of fresh orange juice. there was also some baguette. We did not like the arrangement of the breakfast tables. We had to sit and talk with other guests of the riad while doing our breakfast very early in the morning and this was uncomfortable. In fact, it was impossible to sit on your own, you must sit all together and if you do not talk it sounds a bit embarassing and rude. However, the hotel can book excursions and this is very good, and also they accept euros. They also changed the euros in dh when we need. The owners are very kind and helpful. Unfortunately the man does not speak english but just french, while his wife does.she is also very nice and she offered us some mint tea as a special treat. Neverhless, we were a bit disappointed when we left the hotel the last night because nobody was awake in the morning saying hello and we had nor a coffee nor our breakfast even tough we paid for it. It was the first of January, maybe the owners went to bed very late but we tought that if with guests you should be awake when they go and 7 am was not that early!

You must book your dinner the day before otherwise you cannot eat in the hotel. So, please, remember of doing that if you want to relax and have dinner inside the riad. This would be better and recommended because in marrakech there are not many restaurants for tourists. Alternatively, you can eat in the main square for a few money.

The hotel is also very close to the main square, a fair walking distance and very close to the bus station and the bus for the airport is number 19. they run since 6.15 am and every 30 minutes. It was very easy to get the bus in the early morning on the first of january. the roads were not busy and not dangerous at all. The services were still working. The bus station is in front of djemaa el-fna. If you prefer a taxi, the hotel can reserve one any time.

I would recommend the riad to every one who wants to come and relax in marrakech for a long journey.

Room Tip: Do not take the ground floor room: this was our room and although it was clean, still smell very bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you visit Marrakech you need airconditioning. Make that a must-have on your riad criteria list. Although Riad Aderbaz is small, it has airconditioning, well appointed rooms and a quaint dining room where we were served breakfasts of fresh bread, jams, and tea. The "pool" in the entry serves more to moderate the daytime heat than for swimming but also adds to the ambiance. Hafida and Said could not have been more affable. Hafida walked us to a local restaurant that was questionable on the outside but as most places in Morocco, stunning on the inside. The food was delicious and of course they had belly dancers to entertain their guests. Said drove his motorcycle to the nearest taxi port and had the driver come pick us up rather than walk the four blocks, which having done so we would have missed our train. Lastly, the cost is so affordable maybe because it is not in the center of the Medina, which I learned to appreciate - there was too much commotion for me and it is too easy to get trapped in the medina. It is located next to the Petit Palace where the king stays when he is in Marrakech and only a few blocks from the Place Djemaa el Fna. We took a bus from the airport, which worked well but make sure you have a map to get to Riad Aderbaz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Tucked away from the dusty hot Marrakech streets sits this heavenly oasis. The owner Hafida, and all her staff, are most welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and cool, with a very cool plunge pool, which is welcoming in the Moroccan heat. They organised a car from the airport which was lucky because we would have had a lot of trouble finding it. Having said that the location is superb, being very close to Jemaa El Fina. The staff also cooked a great dinner for us one evening. I would highly recommend this Riad. Another traveller who was staying here at the same time said he'd been to three other Riads but this one was in a class of it's own.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Porto, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

After getting married in early October, we decided to spend our honeymoon in Marrakesh, and we loved it. The hotel was located in a place that at first seems strange, but everything was ok, the people, the place... We enjoyed the staff, the design of the hotel, the breakfast! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We booked our room at Riad Aderbaz only a few days in advance. Our room was nice and clean. The Riad is French owned and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. Riad Aderbaz was a calm and tranquil place.

It is possible to order a delicious 3 course dinner for 10 Euro or 110 Dirham pr. person. It is a bit expensive but nice.

This Riad are mostly booked for families and couples. No dorm are available.

Room Tip: Ask for specific rooms and describe what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Instead of Sheherazade, which we booked, they brought us in the night to this Riad. Location is OK. It's in the centre, but a little away from all the (tourist)shops. Easy to reach by (rental)car or bus. A safe public garded parkarea nearby. If was our first hotel/riad in Maracoo and we found it great. Later on we learned there a better ones in the centre. We spend the night also in RiadetpalaisdePrincess (or something like this). Much better, same price. This is OK also. Room number 4 smelt bad in the douche/toilet. A small "swimmingpool" to cooldown, not to swimm.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We had a fantastic stay in Marrakesh at the Riad Aderbaz, after a not so great experience in Agadir, as we pulled up in a taxi at the end of the Derb Al Foundouk, we wondered what to expect . But after a short walk down the derb we found the door way to our Marrakesh retreat! After a quick check in, with very friendly staff we settled into our compact but perfectly equipped room.

Our room was a double on the ground floor, with ensuite facilities and air conditioning. The plunge pool was a delight after a days sight seeing or shopping in the souks. The roof terrace was also an unexpected treat.

Breakfast was included, in a traditional Moroccan style consisting of fresh home made breads and Moroccan pancakes with butter and preserves. We also dinner at the Riad one evening, for a bargain 10E we were provided with a delicious 3 course meal starting with a Moroccan salad, followed by the best Chicken tagine I ate whilst in Morocco and finished with a refreshing fruit salad.

The riad was only a 10 minute walk from Djemma El Fina. Before we went shopping in the souks we asked the owner who really made our stay! She gave us rough prices that we should pay and even gave us directions as to where we could pick up a bargain 6 person tagine for only 50 dirhams! She also drew out a map for us and helped us buy some spices to bring home with us to recreate our Moroccan adventure. We would and have already recommended the Riad Aderbaz to family and friends looking to go to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aderbaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aderbaz

Address: 40 Derb Al Foundouk | Qt Sidi Mimoune-Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #447 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Aderbaz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe a l'entree du quartier de Sidi Mimoun, mitoyen du nouveau palais royal, le Riad est a 08 minutes a pied de la celebre place Djemaa El Fna. Hafida et Said Aderbaz, frere et soeur, gerent avec beaucoup de serieux et de gentillesse le bien familial. Le Riad peut accueillir 12 personnes. Une petite chambre en rez de chaussee, trois en etage et la derniere sur la terrasse composent l'hebergement. Une petite piscine entouree de balustrades, ideale pour la securite des enfants. Un salon avec cheminee accueille les hotes pour les petits dejeuners. Une terrasse avec bains de soleil complete l'ensemble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Aderbaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aderbaz Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aderbaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.