We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tajmakane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tajmakane to your Saves list
Tajmakane
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   19, lotissement El Menara, Inara, Targa, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #378 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed at the Tajmakane in January 2012 for a week and had a fantastic stay with my boyfriend.
An airport pick-up can be arranged and if you take a small taxi to and from the centre of town, they are very affordable (5 euros one way to the Place Jemaa-el-Fna for example).

The decor and comfort really makes this place worth while.
Their cuisine is delicious, the rooms are warm and cosy since it get's a bit chilly in Morocco in winter time and the fireplace in the evening is enchanting. The shower was fine dispite what you may have read according to one of the reviews on this website.

The owners Ali and Nadia are extremely friendly and welcoming. We felt like we were really being looked after, whilest equally being able to enjoy our privicy.

Room Tip: We were in the NADIA room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I have been there with my husband in march and i felt like really embarrased to be there, because the first night i heard those people saying that they are not happy to do this job , and it really made me feel like i should not be there. So the second day, there were not hot water in the bathroom so i had a cold shower, and when i went to complain about it the lady said this is not true!!! So, me and my husband could'nt have a shower for 3 days. Despite the fact that there were no hot water the tajmakane was realy far from the city, 30 min, so we had to pay 10 euros every day for the taxi.

Also we had a dinner once at the tajmakane it was to expensive 40 euros for 2 people, if you go to marrakech you can eat a realy good food for less than that.

Moreover, I did'nt like the way that this lady was treating her employ, realy rude.

Anyway, i would'nt come back there, i will choose a nice hotel to not bother anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I stayed with my girlfriend at Tajmakane in Marrakech.
Our stay was unforgettable.
We are both in the airline industry, ¾ of our time is in hotels out station. However, this guesthouse did impress us!
The pleasant owners could marry privacy and Moroccan hospitality.
I am clearly impressed.
We booked via booking.com. It is not expensive and it’s air-conditioned and not subject to the traffic jams, quite peace of paradise.
Daily housekeep services, very personalised room service, and even a valet like in luxury hotels I stayed in for work
While having our breakfast in the morning, we could only hear the birds while facing the pool !
The Riad is near a lot of shopping centres, taxi and bus station, and a few of the more interesting areas.
Free wireless Internet …

I would happily recommend this one!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in this accommodation and having originally debated whether to stay in a Riad in the centre or there we know we made the correct choice. Nadia and Ali are very friendly and hospitable hosts, the rooms and the whole house are very comfortable and tastefully decorated and the garden is idyllic, calm and shady with a lovely pool, perfect after a day in the heat and agitation of the city centre. Finally, we recommend the meals: excellent service and Moroccan cuisine at its best!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the tajmakane for 5 nights. It is approximately 15 minutes away from the centre of Marrakech. Tajmakane was a very relaxing place to stay which we welcomed after our busy days out in Marrakech.
The owners of Tajmakane, Ali and Nadia were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay, they really made us feel welcome as did the rest of the staff.
The rooms here are perfectly decorated in morroccan style and are extremely clean and comfortable. The pool also has a seating area which we enjoyed sitting out in at night with our wine or mint tea.
The food here was absolutely fantastic, the best that I have ever had on holiday. The evening meal was 20 euros per person and was worth every penny. I would highly recommend the traditional wedding meal, it really was delicious!
I would recommend this place to anyone and would certainly stay here again if going back to Marrakech, we couldn't have been happier

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

The Tajmakane is a beautiful and small ryad located 10mn from the center of Marrakech and 20mn from the airport. It is a peaceful place to relax after visiting the booming city of Marrakech and its surroundings.
The Tajmakane is nicely decorated and has 5 stylish bedrooms. The two ones located on the ground floor are both located in the garden by the pool which is perfect and give a feeling of privacy especially the Mazala bedroom/bungalow.
The garden is beautiful as well full of flowers, lemon tree, cactus, birds and butterflies.
The owners came to pick us up at the airport and they are extremely friendly, gentle and discreet people. They love children so our 3 years old daughter had lots of fun playing with them.
They are cultured people so we learnt a lot about the country, its culture, traditions and we spent few evenings discussing and chating in the leaving room with them. They are great people and extremely kind.
The food was great we had plenty to eat for the breakfast with local cakes, pancakes, etc.... We ate also at nights there and we discovered many local dishes that were just delicious. We ate outside during the day at lunch in few occasions but the food was not so good and fresh even in more expensive restaurants.
The owner organised for a local guide to pick us up at the house to do daily visits of the city and the surroundings which was very handy and not so expensive. This way we did not worry about taxis and the like and we had a good time with the guide who told us all about this beautiful country, its people, culture, history, etc...
In summary this is the perfect spot for travelers who want to visit Marrakech but also want to relax in a quiet spot away from the big hotels and tourist areas.
We had a great time at the Tajmakane and we would like to thank again Ali and Nadia for their warm hospitality.
Val / Gim / Chiara Margarito, Geneva (Switzerland)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tajmakane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tajmakane

Address: 19, lotissement El Menara, Inara, Targa, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tajmakane 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tajmakane is a family home where the guests are received in calm, comfort and discretion. Nadia and Ali personally welcome the visitors and invite them to discover Marrakech from the interior.Tajmakane is located in a quiet section of town where guests are rejuvenated after having enjoyed the bustle of the city.The house is built on a plot of 800 m2 and has a living area of 400 m2. It consists of three double bedrooms and two independent pavilions, several lounges, a fireplace (functional in winter), a dining room and a living room. Upstairs, guests can enjoy a library and a solarium.Tajmakane also offers a garden with a variety of plant species, and a beautiful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tajmakane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tajmakane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.