We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Marrakesh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Riad Chalymar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Riad Chalymar to your Saves list
Le Riad Chalymar
Derb Sharij No19, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Real Marrakesh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Just come back and really pleased that we chose Riad Chalymar- as it gave us a real 'feel' for Marrakesh. Staying in one of the plush places in the Palmeraie or Hivernage district would have been more luxurious - but the size (only 6 rooms so great for a small group, up to 15) and age (beautifully aged mellow floor tiles) of this Riad, and the access via little pedestrian lanes (djerb) where old ladies sit, crochet and chat- and kids play- was a delight. The roof terrasses were great to see the sunsets and feel the breeze. The two 2nd floor rooms are the best- as they are airy and have their own recessed open terrasse (Chalymar and Nina) - and would make a great base for 2 couples or a family. Bring a torch for late night returns, as the access is dark - but we never felt threatened at all. I'd definitely stay there again (Thanks Youssef and Aziz).

Room Tip: Chalymar or Nina on 2nd floor are best for light and air + privacy and own open terrasse. I'd av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Stayed here last week. The staff were friendly and Youssef in particular was very helpful and informative (though he did forget to pick us up at the airport...my advice is email the day before you travel just to remind him or take down the number of the riad and give them a call when you are at the airport...its only 20 minutes away). The location of the riad is close to Jemaa El Fna and its not too difficult (once you have done it a couple of times) to navigate your way through the alleyways to get to the main street. The room was always clean. The communal areas were nice and quiet.....a nice place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the souks. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

The staff were extremely friendly and they even picked us up and dropped us off to the airport free of charge. The Riad was lovely and the roof terrace was perfect for relaxing after you had spent the day in the hustle and bustle of the city. We were really close to the main square too so it was easy to find restaurants and taxi’s. Our room was the smallest they had but I thought it was an ok size for 3 nights. We also got fresh towels and sheets everyday when the maid cleaned the room. The rooms do not have locks on the doors but it did not bother us as the Riad is very safe and there is always someone around. If you do not like this however you can take your own pad lock. There were only a couple of negative things. The breakfast was a bit boring with just croissants and Moroccan bread but the coffee was very good though. Also the en suite in our room was a wet room and I found it annoying having to keep watching the water so it didnt go into the bedroom. This might not apply to all rooms though.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I stayed at this Riad with a friend last year (two females). Booked this Riad after reading all the positive reviews. But sadly our experience was not positive and i am shocked by the glowing reviews. It all started wrong when we were supposed to get picked up from airport by mr Jean Paul. I emalied our flight details in advance and he confirmed he would be collecting us. After waiting over half an hour we called the Riad to be told Mr Jean Paul had waited for us and had left! our flight was not delayed, so this was just confusing. After several phonecalls and over an hour and half later Saeed came to collect us in taxi and said we would have to pay (hotel transfer is meant to be complimentary). In the end we were expected to pay half the price for taxi ride. The staff here completely rip you off when they organise a taxi ride for you. We booked a taxi via them to go to Nikki Beach. The driver was late in picking us up and when we called Saed for our return ride, he said the driver was on his way and to wait for him. I swear, we waited in the scorching heat for over an hour, and each time we called Saeed he said the driver was on his way and to top it up he charged triple the amount we would of paid, if we had just stopped a taxi ourselves. Suffice to say, we sorted our own ride after this. As this is a small Riad, they staff do spend time with you enquiring about your itinenary for the week. However, the level of interest was intrusive and made us feel uncomfortable. Once again it was a hard sell from them to get us to book any trips or outings through them. Also, they was a lovely cleaner who supposedly cleans the rooms every day, but all she did was replace the towels and tidy the clothes by arranging them in various designs on the bed, very cute, but changing the bed sheets etc would of been more appreciated. Im being totally honest by saying our bed sheets were only changed once during our week say there and that was because i had to wait for her then ask her specifically to change them. On the plus side breakfast was served where ever you wanted and what ever time you got up. I would not recommend this Riad to other travellers, especially females (it's on a dodgy narrow smelly side street, that you get through after walking through a bit of a maze) dragging suitcases through the narrow lanes and coming back late at night, just didn't feel safe. As for the swimming pool, trust me you wouldn't want to use it. It's downstairs in full view of everyone walking in and out and they are no sun loungers around it. All in all this is one Riad to definetly avoid.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The staff at the Riad went out of their way to help us achieve everything that we wanted to do on our trip. The Riad itself is nicely decorated and it’s about a five minute walk away from Djemaa el-Fna, so very conveniently located. However, when we arrived we found it quite hard to navigate our way through the back alleys to the Riad. We were told that had we phoned on our arrival at the airport, they would have collected us – definitely worth doing first time round.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

great location, very friendly staff, youusaf, ashraf and jean-paul could'nt do enough for you, nothing was to much trouble, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheering, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed at the Riad Chalymar for a long weekend and I couldn't fault the place. I'd definitely go back and recommend to any of my friends/family wishing to visit Marrakech. The location was great, 2 minutes walk to the nearest bar/restaurant and 10 minutes walk to the Jemaa el Fna square. Ideal location, and very peaceful within the riad despite being so close to the hustle and bustle of the centre. The riad is hidden away down some narrow streets but very easy to find. If you book for 3+ nights they offer free airport transfers.

The staff were amazingly helpful and always happy to help with any requests. Staff spoke both English and French. We arranged to have a meal cooked in the riad one night and it was really lovely, they cooked exactly what we requested (there's no menu as such - we opted for a vegetarian tagine) and it was really tasty. It's also possible to get alcohol in the riad (which is lovely when sitting on the terrace roof watching the sunset) - just ask for what you'd like and if they don't have they'll pop out to the supermarket to get it for you.

While we were there, we went on a tour organised by the riad to the mountains (and 7 waterfalls) and ended up with personal service - the riad owner took us there in his own air conditioned car, meaning the trip could be totally tailor made for us (we could stop wherever we wanted along the drive for photos, to pop in to shops etc). It cost slightly more than some tour operators in the town were offering the trip for but in my opinion the personal service (and not having to be on a big hot tour bus) were worth the extra.

The riad is very spacious. I believe it has only about 5 rooms, but plenty of communal areas. There's the roof terrace with about 6 sun loungers, a sofa and a couple of comfy chairs, and a double sun lounger. There's another area with sofas to seat about 12 people on the 2nd floor. And on the ground floor there's a small pool, a table for 2 (for breakfast etc), and a sofa lounge with TV and a larger dining table. Plenty of space for some privacy if you require.

It's a useful note that if all the double rooms are booked you can book one of the twin rooms and they will push the 2 beds together and provide the appropriate bedding (it also works out a bit cheaper!).

I can confirm that the hotel is also gay friendly.

I'd highly recommend this riad to any friends/family wishing to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Riad Chalymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Chalymar

Address: Derb Sharij No19, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Riad Chalymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Riad Chalymar Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Riad Chalymar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.