We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious veggie food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earth Cafe Marrakech

Earth Cafe Marrakech
N 2, Derb Zawak, Riad Zitoun Kedim, Medina, Marrakech | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
212 660544992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious veggie food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had lunch two days in a row at Earth Café. I’m vegetarian but it was my carnivore boyfriend who insisted we go back the second time (!). The café itself is very casual and comfortable rather than with an amazing interior or furnishings so I’d recommend it for lunch rather than dinner. But the food talks! The filo parcel with roast vegetables, ricotta and orange/cinnamon dressing is to die for. And the juices are lovely and fresh too – we had the carrot/orange/ginger and the beetroot/orange/ginger.

Highly recommend – even by my avid carnivore boyfriend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    258
    183
    54
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great alternative to cous cous and veggie tagine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was getting fed up eating veggie tagine and cous cous and was looking for somewhere with an alternative menu when we found this place on Tripadvisor. Takes a bit of finding and you need to beware as there are a couple of copy cats out there which are not affiliated with the real restaurant (there is another real one in Essouira though). While the real one is very close to El Badi Palace, there is also a fake one quite close to there also. Look at the pics on their website and make sure that's the one you go to. I had the pumpkin spring rolls with blue cheese, which was a veggie option and was delicious. I also had the beetroot juice which was tasty. My girlfriend had the vegan noodles (she is not vegan but wanted to try them) but felt they were a little tasteless. I did try some and had to agree they were lacking something.

The price is quite reasonable for freshly made veggie food and the place is nice, but could do with a fan or some AC. I gave it a 3 as we only had one good meal out of 2 so had to deduct some stars. Well worth a visit though if you are looking to try something different.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good to escape bland tagines for some flavour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I really wanted to visit this cafe having read the reviews, but found it so difficult to locate on my first day in Marrakech due to the lack of street signs telling you where you are! On my last day I had more of an idea about the layout of the city and found signs for the Earth Cafe. It looks to be a little dubious, situated down an alleyway, but once you get inside you are pleased you went.
The decor is lovely, local style, with little nooks and crannies complete with seating. Would be lovely if you had gone as a family or group as you could be quite secluded.
There were a lot of different choices for veggies and vegans. I was hoping for some food in local style but with flavour (which I assume you got in other places if you chose meat based cous cous and tagines!) but the food here was more internationally based.
Service was good for Morocco, the juice was tasty and the portion sizes good. Based on UK prices it was reasonable, but a little bit more pricy than what you would get elsewhere in the Medina. Worth it, though, for a tasty, enjoyable meal at long last!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cute Place but Disappointing Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My Rough Guide made this out to be much better than it was, although we may have ordered the wrong things. We had a noodle dish and a fried rice that were both mediocre and small portions. The beet juice I had was the best part of the meal. Service took a long time and didn't seem too attentive at all. I felt like this place was getting by because of the review in my book and the fact that there are so few vegetarian/vegan places in Morocco. If you go, get one of the filo dough dishes. Those looked much better than what we ordered.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty, good value vegetarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Earth cafe is centrally located and well signposted from Zitoun Kedim. I returned three times during my recent trip to Marrakesh as I found the vegetarian food elsewhere pretty disappointing. They serve generous portions of freshly cooked, crunchy veg topped with ricotta filo parcels, pumpkin spring rolls or veggie burgers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth Cafe Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Earth Cafe Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earth Cafe Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.