We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Veggie Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earth Cafe Marrakech

Earth Cafe Marrakech
N 2, Derb Zawak, Riad Zitoun Kedim, Medina, Marrakech | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
212 660544992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Margate, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Veggie Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great to take a break from Tagine and enjoy excellent veggie food. Great Filo parcels stuffed full of veggies and herbs. It felt like it was doing you good!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    258
    183
    53
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Tasty vegetarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great spicy tasty vegetables and pastry. Simple surroundings but wholesome food and good value. It would have been nice to sit outside on a terrace in the sun but this was not an option.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Nice fresh juices & veggie dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Not very cheap...but a great taste..if fresh and not overcooked veggies is your thing...its the right place to go...for me I really don't like when all veggies are soft and mushy...I enjoyed the warm salad they had on the menu..and had a nice apple orange carrot and ginger juice :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Went to Vegan/Veg Cafe in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate here almost every day. The menu is split in two, 4 vegetarian meals and 4 vegan meals, so not a huge range but enough.
Being vegetarian myself it was just the best to have somewhere you could go to which had options!
The food we had was really nice, no complaints here. I recommend the number 3 in the vegetarian menu. I also found their mint tea to be some of the best I've tasted in Morocco - proper mint leaves! Plus they serve the tea without sugar so you can sweeten to your own taste, which was heavenly.
The decor is basic but clean. They played 'cafe del mar' type music and it was a great place to escape to from the crowds.
Of course cost wise, compared to local food its a little more (mains are 60-70DM, tea for two 20DM) but I guess thats what you get for a 'specialty' place to eat.
The menu has an english version and staff also spoke english.
The only down side was the portions of the mains could be larger.
They also make fresh juices too.

I know there is another Earth Cafe called their Soup Kitchen, which is about 3 min walk away. Half the menu has chicken, the other vegetarian. I only visited but didn't eat there. The pricing is the same as the other vegan cafe. The seating area has less room than the vegan cafe. The atmosphere seemed better at the vegan cafe.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Inedible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Only now, after looking through the reviews in TripAdvisor, I realized that in fact there are several Earth Cafes in Marrakech. Apparently we were in the one that's near Dar Si Said museum (got so lost in the medina that didn't really know where we were exactly). I remember it was not 100% vegetarian. The dishes descriptions looked so exciting that we were quite enthusiastic to try. We had #5 and #7 of the menu, the burger was passable, but my dish with pumpkin was inedible. I'm not quite sure what was wrong with it - it felt undercooked, and maybe it was some special spice they put there, but it had a pronounced rotten taste. Besides, the goat cheese tasted so acid that I had serious doubts whether it was fresh or not. I need to say that the people who work there were very nice and gentle and they didn't charge us for my dish. I would just recommend them to double-check the quality of their produce before cooking.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth Cafe Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Earth Cafe Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earth Cafe Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.