We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in the Sand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earth Cafe Marrakech

Earth Cafe Marrakech
N 2, Derb Zawak, Riad Zitoun Kedim, Medina, Marrakech | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
212 660544992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 539 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Sand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A truly inspired, unique blend of local flavors and contemporary cooking. For anyone, the vegetarian cuisine is spectacular and original. The atmosphere is colorful, literally. Perhaps the best gastronomical travel discovery I have ever made.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    190
    56
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place was just up the street from our Riad, walked past it everyday until our last day, had lunch there before flying home, really enjoyed the food & mint tea.

We tried the veg burger & the pumpkin, goats cheese in filo pastry and both were great.

The place looks well worn, pumpkins, squash line the stairs to the small rooms & toilet. You walk off the street into the kitchen area and then through to a seating area, the menu is on mirrors in English and French, chilled music playing in the background and the waiting staff are really pleasant. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“could be great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I'd read reviews of this place, mixed, and wanted somewhere veggie so gave it a go.

It's in a great location.

The building is lovely but the place is very run down really - jagged table edges, the top area had loads of stuff stored there to trip over, etc. It really needs a total overhall to bring it up to scratch.

The food and juice selection is great - exactly the type of thing I like, but I do think it was perhaps slightly, only slightly, bland - needed a bit more flavour.

The staff were lovely and the place has a lovely atmosphere - it really just needs an refresh.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I ate there yesterday on my first day in Marrakech, 1 hour later I was violently sick 6 times and spent the whole night running to the toilet, major case of bad food poisoning!! I wish I had read the other review of the person who was violently ill afterwards before going here!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

i loved this place because i was very hungry and they made me a huge plate of lentils with rice and tasty goat cheese on top. friendly staff. very well located in the middle of the old medina.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth Cafe Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Earth Cafe Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earth Cafe Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.