We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but out of the way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Gueliz

Save Saved
You added Ryad Mogador Gueliz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #411 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but out of the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is a newly built hotel which is approx 1/2 mile from the train station located away from the the attractions and on a very busy and noisy road. Its a lovely hotel with very friendly staff. We stayed on a half board basis, the food was very good indeed and well presented, compliments to the chefs, there is no alcohol served in the hotel.
Our room overlooked the pool area, we are so glad it did not overlook the road as that would have spoiled the experience. The room was very clean with towels and sheets changed daily, the bed was large but very hard.
The hotel was empty of people, I do not know why but it may be due to the time of year. The hotel appears to be a business hotel, it lacks entertainment and atmosphere and is really too far to walk to the old market square. However you can get a taxi for less than a fiver each way.
One surprise was that we had to pay local hotel taxes on arrival, this amounted to approx £3 per night, this was not mentioned when we booked with the travel agent.
There is nothing attractive surrounding the hotel, it is located in an industrial area, I would only therefore use it as a base for traveling. There is a supermarket built under the hotel.
Marrakesh is a very large busy city, the currency is the dirham and the cost of items is around the same as Britain, so don't bother going to look for leather good bargains etc.
Marrakesh is an interesting place to visit on a short term basis. A visit to the Old Square Market is a must to sample local culture but be prepared to be mithered for your money, it can get too much and put you off shopping. Its not suitable for children.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    50
    23
    26
See reviews for
19
44
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I can only feel sorry for the extremely hard working staff in all the areas except the Reception staff who are useless in everyway and most unhelpful. They lack elementary courtesy, they are fairly ignorant of any information on Marrakesch. The woman in the reception was telling what I presume to be lies when she told us the room will be changed in ten minutes and nothing happened for another hour until I personally turned up at the reception.

The reason I feel sorry for rest of the staff is that they are ever so helpful and I am sure they realise that their jobs are at stake because of the poor occupancy of the hotel.

If they need customers, then they must get rid of the current reception staff and employ well trained reception staff and change their policy on alcohol, so that they can serve alcohol , at least in the restaurant to enjoy the excellent food they provide.

I reccommend this hotel only because it is good value for money, and provided they decide to serve alcohol and change the reception staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Overall we had a fantastic holiday in Marrakesh, the weather was on the whole sunny and comfortable to walk around in, chilly in the evenings haad lots of fun getting lost in the Souks and had some great experiences, but I have to say the Ryad Mogador Gueliz did nothing to improve our stay and would certainly never return there or recommend it.

First - I'll say the good thing about it is that it is clean - housekeeping there does a great job......but....
Reception staff are incompetent , unhelpful and downright rude. Dont know the answer to simple questions such as opening times of the hotels own gym, treat guests with complete disinterest or rudeness, fighting (screaming rows) among each other, tried to overcharge us (no apology given). Hotel practically empty and still given a room overlooking the road (very loud) rather than the pool. Completly and utterly useless.
Food - dont do the half board option, breakfast is ok, dinner is really bad and atmosphere is completly depressing.
Rooms - clean as I said but the showers flood (after about 3 mins in the shower) and flood right into the bathroom. Water doesnt even drain overnight. We were informed (rudely) that every room in the hotel is exactly the same so we cant be moved and they dont intend to fix it as it costs too much.
Location - 30-45min walk from the Medina. We like walking but it can be pretty chilly at night and also when you are tired from walking and having a super busy day facing a walk like that is not what you want.
I feel the hotel is best avoided it is an utterly souless place and will not add anything to your holiday. There's plently of better places to be for same price range.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Hotel close to the airport and train station and... Dogs station, in the midle of nowehere
Lobbies and pool ok.
Room made by workers in strike!!!!
Bed made of atlas cedar, cannot sleep on , so hard!!!
Food in average, no alcool

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

This hotel is in a large, modern building. It is somewhat out of the way, about 3/4 mile from the train station and in the modern part of the city. The only pracitcal means of transport is a taxi. There is a supermarket next door (an interesting experience) and an ATM nearby. The nearest other restaurants are by the station

There were a lot of tour parties coming and going while I was there, and the building had a slightly soulless feel to it. Breakfast and dinner buffets were fine. Hotel is alcohol free

The swimming pool was on the small side, but perfectly adequate. The hotel offers free wifi, but it wasn't working, and the staff didn't seem to be able to offer any suggestions to help.

In general, it was OK, but very large and anonymous, and not very inaccessible.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

The hotel was what i wanted it to be,great Value loction was slitely out of the way, but with all the eating we did ,it was nice to have the walk back .
We had breakfast every morning which was lovely ,eating outside at 9am in the morning is always a joy.
Hotel staff were always available and very helpfull, Rooms was pleasant ,the only downside to the room was that the view from the balcony was of all the building work going on next door,so sadly we never used it, and with the hotel only half full, you would think that for customer satisfaction you would put people into the rooms over looking the pool first ,giving them a much better view so making their stay a lot more pleasant, I have worked all my life in Customer Care, and couldn't understand that .

Taxi Fare were a bit hit or miss , we had a struggle coming out of the airport with guys felling over each other to take our fare.
But then on the other hand we had a taxi taking us into the heart of marrakech one evening and for 150die he took us all round the sights which was much cheaper than the guilds.Talking about Guilds, everyone was telling us that we needed a guild to go into the sooks and around the surrounding area,well we ( me and my Girlfriend) didn't take up the offer,and did it all with out a guild,so saving us a fortune.Never did we feel unsafe.
Try Bar 16 in the new shopping centre just down from the Railway station,they do the most amazing Club Sandwiches, venture down the side streets for great places to eat .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

OK we picked this hotel because it was part of a main and popular hotel chain in Morocco. It was only built last october and they are still working on an extension which is 30 yards away linked by a overhead walkway. The location is not too far from the airport. About 20/25 mins away (even less going back to the airport from hotel if you take the airport shuttle bus, as the hotel is towards the end of the bus' route on the return). it's located what I would say northwest of the main city at a distance of about 3.5-4 km. There are 2 well known landmarks nearby; the main railway stn/Garre (the new one) and the theatre royal. The airport shuttle bus does not stop directly outside the hotel but if you arrive late at night like we did and if you ask the nice driver politely he will take a slight diversion of his route to drop you off outside (I was amazed at that!). As for the hotel; clean, modern, huge, nice outdoor swimming pool, hints of traditional moroccan architecture. The room; we had a triple room which was basically a double room but with 3 single beds in it. .That meant that there was limited space to walk around in the room. the room was clean and modern, had a balcony overlooking the pool/patio. Word of warning... the beds are hard and stiff. If you are not used to this then you may not have a good sleep. the shower is of a walk in type. The way the floor is made (slopping the wrong way) meant that the water would come out into the main part of the bathroom. The hotel reception keep the TV remotes with them because they say ppl steal them (can't see why!) you have to ask for it from them and rtn it when you checkout. The A/C is also controlled by remote which they also didn't provide (it was off, but not bothered as temp. was about 18/19 cent in the morning and night). If you get breakfast with your rate then you will not be dissapointed. A good selection of rolls, crossaints, fresh cut fruits, juice's, cut salami, olives etc. The hot food on offer is a flat bread type a bit like a indian paratha (forgot what moroccans call it but it begins with "M"). also there are boiled eggs (not fried) aswell as tea and coffee. Overall it was a pleasant stay and would come again. For convenience there is a fairly large supermarket right next door (but looks as if it is part of the same building) and in the new train station which is less than 10 mins walk away there is a KFC and McDonalds. Should also mention that that the rooms come with a small fridge, so you can buy drinks and water and chill them in your room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Mogador Gueliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Gueliz

Address: Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Gueliz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mogador Gueliz has an outdoor swimming pool and en-suite guestrooms with air-conditioning and satellite TV. It is located in central Marrakech, 1 kilometre from Marrakech Oncf train station. The hotel has 3 restaurants, which offer international and Moroccan cuisine as well as a selection of snacks and room service options. Free internet access is available in public areas. The Ryad Mogador Gueliz offers laundry and babysitting services. Car rental and free private parking are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Ryad Mogador Gueliz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Gueliz Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Gueliz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.