We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but few amenities.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Gueliz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ryad Mogador Gueliz to your Saves list
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #412 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK, but few amenities.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is clean, a nice entrance and lifts to all floors. The main impression was that it was large and you needed to walk a lot to get anywhere. It was virtually empty except for our group and you could walk to the station area if you were fit. The surroundings were quite bleak, being situated on a main road in an industrial area. The Ibis Hotel is down the road where they serve alcohol. We took a coach to the Medina 'old town'.
The bedrooms were ok, tidy, clean and the bathroom had a shower and plenty of space. As Morocco is a 'dry' country, then there were no refreshments in the minibar, not even water. They had twin beds, which I found comfortable, but had a small pillow which was really hard, so ended up with a stiff neck.
There was a pool which is very shallow over the whole area. Poolside service was very slow and you had to find someone to help you. Towels are available at the poolside.
The food was virtually the same everyday and it would have been better if they gave the local food, as what they served was quite tasteless. There was a large supermarket next door where you could buy virtually anything.

Room Tip: I think that there was a free wi-fi, but it didn't work well in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    52
    25
    26
See reviews for
19
46
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are clean, hotel is nice and beautiful, staff are kind.

But... I stayed in a room that was very far to access, there was no elevator near that place and you had to take the elevator to the floor then walk about 300 meters to finally arrive to your room, an escallator in that area would be very helpful.
The pool was nice and clean, but it wasn't deeper than 1 meter! I think it's because it's in the 1st floor, but still it's not good enough if you're seeking an hotel with a pool to swim in it.
The Wifi wasn't working in rooms or at the pool!

Overall, It's a good 3* hotel in the center of the city to relax and take a nap after visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: Don't take a room far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

The lobby is very nice, the rooms are reasonably spacious, bathroom is fine. But the beds were so hard I put the doubly folded blanket under my sheet to make it a little more bearable, and it was still very hard. The food looked ok, but nothing spectacular, as vegan I had very few options. We were hoping for more local specialties, the food seamed to be to European. There were few people at the pool, so that is a good option inbetween tours.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

A nice hotel with spacious rooms and a nice pool in a modern part of the city. The staff were reasonably helpful and the lobby amazingly furnished with traditional Moroccan furniture (slight feeling of faded glory...). The pool area was nice - even if it was left flooded by a puddle for 2 days.

Unfortunately the restaurant leaves much to be desired. Staff weren't keen to help and if you arrived late your chances of finding a clear table (or getting one cleared even when you sat at a dirty one) were slim. Far better to get a taxi into the old town and eat out there in the evenings.

On our first visit I left a bag in my room. On our return we asked and having repeatedly been told they had to bag had not been found the chief housekeeper (helpful) found it - we witnessed here telling off a cleaner who had not 'bothered' to hand it in at the time. Probably best to lock important stuff in your bags or the room safe.

Wifi in the lobby and on 1st floor but no higher (despite what they say). Pretty fast once you get connected - may take a couple of attempts.

If the aircon doesn't work/you have no towels (3 rooms out of our group's 11), do not fear. Asking at the reception got a very quick response from helpful staff.

Overall a decent group hotel for the beginning and end of our trip up to the Atlas but wouldn't choose to stay here if I was spending a whole week in Marrakech.

Room Tip: One side has nice view of the pool, the other of the train tracks and wasteland (atmospheric!)..take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here on our girls holiday with a baby with us.
Very welcoming staff amazing interior design.
Nice and quiet to relax after a crazy day out exploring. Breakfast was a bit repetitive which made it boring apart from that I don't think there's a bad thing to say. Located in a very good area easy access to airport and trains station. Not far from the city centre. All staff members where amazingly helpful. Definitely will recommend it. Thank you for making our experience in Morocco amazing

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Rooms have terrible bathrooms, be warned. The plumbing is atrocious, and you'll be lucky to find a shower that doesn't have either a broken towel rail or a ceiling that looks as though it's about to cave in because of the leak from above. At least two out of the four rooms we had also smelled of sewage.

Breakfast is terrible. We didn't try dinner.

That said, the swimming pool is lovely and the spa is also a great experience.

Bottom line, if you can put up with a rubbish room then the rest of it may be worthwhile.

Good luck!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Dont stay at this "hotel".The service is terrible,food is disgusting the room is unfinished the pool is dirty. If your a female client expect to be treated like a second class citizen. Awful experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Mogador Gueliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Gueliz

Address: Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#155 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Gueliz 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mogador Gueliz has an outdoor swimming pool and en-suite guestrooms with air-conditioning and satellite TV. It is located in central Marrakech, 1 kilometre from Marrakech Oncf train station. The hotel has 3 restaurants, which offer international and Moroccan cuisine as well as a selection of snacks and room service options. Free internet access is available in public areas. The Ryad Mogador Gueliz offers laundry and babysitting services. Car rental and free private parking are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelBookers, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ryad Mogador Gueliz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Gueliz Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Gueliz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.