We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Riad in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Clefs Du Sud

Save Saved
You added Riad Les Clefs Du Sud to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
Riad Les Clefs Du Sud
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Zaouia El Abbasi 49 Diour Jdad, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Best Riad in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my 3rd stay at this riad, and this time we were a group of 11 guys spend a week in marrakesh. Reservation and pick up from the airport was very good organized by raschid! He was perfect, as usual. Always friendly, helpful and we had a extreme warm welcome, even at 11pm!!
Excellent Service and always smiling staff. Especially fatima :)
If you want a quiet, clean and comfortable riad with a magic effect...stay here! You will not forget this stay forever!
Hossam

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Had a wonderful holiday at the end of April at Riad les Clefs Du Sud. Rasheed was so helpful and could not have been more charming. My sister and I stayed here for a week and each evening we sat down to a lovely meal. It was delightful. All the staff here are very friendly and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a little gem of a place. All the rooms are different and ours overlooked the balcony and had a great sitting area just perfect for relaxing. There is also a cd player so bring all your own music to chill out to.
Jane and Trish, Bristol, UK

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room as I think these are a little superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We went to Marrakech for my friends 'Hen Do'. The welcome we recieved was fantastic and the rooms were beautiful! Rasheed could not have been more helpful and organised many of our activities. Nothing was too much trouble for a group of ladies who needed guidence, and the food was great. We had a traditional Tagine on the night we arrived and the staff were always smiling and accommodating. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the breakfast was ready when we were and very tasty. I have fallen in love with Morocco and will definately return to Les Clefs Du Sud for great weather and the Jacuzzi on a pretty roof terrace. If you go to a hotel you miss out on this unique way to experience a truly amazing place. I have spoken to many people who have visited Marrakech who say they would only go once, well all I can say is they have not experienced the real Morocco and did not do their research. This Riad made our holiday and we will have fond memories for many years to come. The best bit is the price, which worked out at £40 per night and booked through booking.com.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and it depends what you fancy. All rooms are big and airy with beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is a gorgeous oversized riad in the former home of a large family, which ran as a Koran school for many years.

I booked it online with Prestigia.com and for a heavily discounted £52 a night got the 'Zagora Suite' for three days. I think it's the nicest in the riad, as the staff showed us the other rooms when we were there. With a sitting room, amazing bathroom and large dressing room area plus the bedroom area - you really feel like a princess staying there!

We booked the airport transfer - which I recommend as it's hard to find! We also had dinner there on our first evening (we arrived at 8pm) which was great because there aren't any restaurants near the riad. It's in a REAL neighbourhood - not the touristy centre of the medina! It was the best tagine we had in Morocco, so worth the 15 euros for 3 courses. A nice treat. All other nights, we ate for 5-10 euros each in the medina.

The breakfast at the riad was nice - typical Moroccan fare including juice, tea/coffee or hot chocolate, bread, traditional style pancakes with jam. Very filling and nice.

We booked the riad because of the large rooftop hot tub, but this isn't working at the moment. Shame! The terrace is amazing and we did some sunbathing anyway.

In terms of location, don't bother walking in - it's confusing and there's not much to see! We tried one day and has a nice time of walking around a real side of the medina. But we spent hours going in circles. Nice as we weren't in a rush and wanted to get some atmosphere.

All other days, we just walked 5 minutes from the riad to a taxi stand where for 20 dirhams you can get driven to any site across the medina. We haggled a lot for petite taxis because by law they are supposed to use their meters - but they always say "No, 30 dirhams!" On the only time we did get one to use it from Jamal Al Fna - it was only 13 dirhams. Gives you an idea of what locals would pay!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Zagora Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was an unexpected find when we were booking our holiday. The Riad was lovely, staff helpful and hospitable, rooms spacious, clean, traditional and air conditioned. We were expecting this to be a fairly noisy location particularly during Ramadan, however we enjoyed lounging around the roof top jacuzzi late at night which was peaceful and definitely the best end to a hot day.

The breakfast in the morning was fresh pastries, the evening meal we ate here was lovely however because you have to prebook you don't get a choice of menu. The mint tea was to die for!

We only stayed here for 3 nights but it was a lovely place and I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

The Riad and the rooms were outstanding, very pretty but service was not so friendly. The man acted like if we were annoying him and when we asked for directions or how to get to places (usual tourist info at any hotel or hostel) he was totally ignoring us. Great place, not so great service...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Les Clefs Du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Clefs Du Sud

Address: Zaouia El Abbasi 49 Diour Jdad, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 169 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Les Clefs Du Sud 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Les Clefs Du Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Clefs Du Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.