We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm Oasis in a unique place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Othmane

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Othmane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Othmane
198, Derb Essakaya - | Essibtiyine Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Laval, France
1 review
“Calm Oasis in a unique place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Firstly a big thankyou to Hassan,you made our visit very special. Everything from taxi to & from airport was arranged by Hassan. Your welcome with tea, juice & cakes was lovely & you saying this is now your home made us feel so welcome. We ate our first evening meal made by Hassan, it was delicious as were the breakfast. Hassan is always there if needed with his calm & so pleasant manner.
The rooms were everything they looked & as described on the site.
I don't think you will find better value for money & we booked on the reviews mainly because of Hassan, he even takes the time to show you the easiest route to go & explore the hectic shops etc.
A great place to stay in every way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We arrived home last saturday after a fantastic 4 night stay at Riad Dar Othmane. Heres a little bit of our experience..


25 minutes after landing we were at our destination as Hassan had arranged us a private transfer.. After walking down some narrow streets we were greeted by Hassan on arrival. We filled in a few forms while we were given some mint tea, biscuits and orange juice. The courtyard of the Riad was silent, it was appreciated as we later knew how loud the square in marrakech would get!

Hassan took us up to our room and very kindly upgraded us to a larger room that was available for no extra charge. The room was very spacious with addtional seating and a walk in shower. Beds were comfortable and our rooms were freshly remade every day with clean sheets and fresh towels

Hassan gave us a few maps and some paper work on various key points of interest around Marrakech and explained some do's and donts also. Hassan also showed us a few landmark locations on our first time to Jemaa el Fna so we could find our way back to the Riad in the dark.

Its roughly a 15 minute walk and once you have done it once you'll know how to get back quite easily. Its a busy walk with motorcycles, horse and carts and crowds of people. You'll need to get used to it quickly else Marrakech may not be your thing!

The next morning we went down for breakfast which was delicious. We had pancakes, breads, cakes, orange juice, coffee, butter, and marmalade. A very good portion for us both and kept us going until we ate again later in the afternoon.

We also went quad biking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the main square. Hassan called the company at 10:30pm and the very next day were were quad biking around the barren lands of Morocco! It was a great experience seeing the mountains and stopping at a local village half way through for some hot tea which was lovely.

There is a fantastic roof terrace at the top of the Riad too. You can see all the stars in the sky on a clear evening and its very peaceful in the day time too. We stayed her in Decemeber and it was warm enough to sit up there for a while so I imagine it must be a sun trap in the summer!

Finally I would just like to thank Hassan for his fantastic hospitality and welcoming us in Marrakech, He is very friendly and thoughtful and also speaks good english so we felt like we could ask questions if we needed to. We loved our stay at Riad Dar Othmane and when we come back to Marrakech we are almost certain we will be staying at this Riad again.

Luke & Claire

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DESIR7_11, Gérant at Riad Dar Othmane, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
thank you a lot Luke for your review, it was a pleasure to receive you in our guest house, hope to see you again..
Hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Choosing Riad Dar Othmane for our trip to Marrakech was just perfect, from the beginning to the end. Welcomed by Hassan - the riad manager - with mint tea, fresh orange juice and cookies, he was very helpful all the time and happy to answer all our questions. I didn't see untill now any other person be so nice with their guests. He should teach others ... The location of the Riad is more than ok, 5 minutes walk from the famous Jemaa el Fna square and Hassan made sure we find our way back, by showing us some landmarks. As we were a little bit worried about the noise, Marrakech being known for this, the Riad surprised us in a very pleasant way. It's amazing how quiet and relaxing can be inside. The room was simple and beautiful, very clean, bathroom the same. We enjoyed a lot the breakfast, the moroccan pancakes prepared by Hassan being our favourites :) Several times we had the dinner in the Riad, very good choice, Hassan taking care of this too. Whenever visiting again Marrakech, we can't wait to meet Hassan on our stay at Riad Dar Othmane.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Riad was in an excellent location. Perfectly clean and very beautiful. All your homely amenities where excellent, shower, bathroom etc where lovely. The value for money is unbelievable, as we stayed at two other places after this in other areas of morocco and they where double and triple the price but neither where as good as riad othmane! But the best part about the stay was without doubt Hassan. His level of accommodation from start to finish is special. He really made our stay in Marrakech far more enjoyable. Thank you very much Hassan! From Linds and Damon.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DESIR7_11, Manager at Riad Dar Othmane, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Lindsay and Damon,
thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to served you in riad dar othmane, we had a inforgitable moment with you, hope to see you again..
best regards
Hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As we arrived late in the evening we had arranged dinner at the riad which was very good but was very overpriced at 15 euros per person! You can eat in the main square restaurants for less than that for two people.
The main issue with riad was lack of soundproofing, you could every movement and conversation of anyone else within the building which meant no sleep for us. The beds were like sleeping on concrete too which didn't help. Everything was a little bit shabby and in need of refurbishmentreally which is a shame as it could be a wonderful place to stay.
We also booked a day trip to essaouira via the riad which was an absolute disaster. We were picked up at 8am by taxi and driven to a busy junction to connect with the tour bus but there was no explanation of this. The bus finally turned up at 8.50am so we and others piled on. We had nly driven about 5 minutes before we stopped and appeared to be waiting for something, about ten minutes later another couple pulled up in a taxi and joined the bus! We had been told that we would be dropped back to our riad in the evening but were dropped back at the busy junction and had to make our own way there. We paid 300 dirhams each for this trip and were told by others on the bus that that had paid half that price! So do not book excursions via the riad is our advice!
Having said that the best thing about the riad is Hassan the manager! He was smiling and happy the whole time and nothing was too much trouble for him. He is definitely their best asset without a doubt!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DESIR7_11, Gérant at Riad Dar Othmane, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Anitha,
thank you very much for the bad review you wrote the riad,
about the room all customers residing in the blue room is said that this is a great room and the bed was excellent.
about the soundproofing is not my problem because customers who were beside you speak very loud even though I told them to speak low..
for the trip is not my problem because it is the price of the agency ... and all this agency is the same price
for the price of dinner, the price was very reasonable since for a menu: salad + desert + a large tagine and tea and coffee in the restaurant the price is more than that ....
more every day you had coffee with cakes and free it for other riad that pays ...
throughout your stay I was always available and present ...
dommage this review is far of the truth..
hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed in this Riad 6 nights and it was excellent!
When we arrived, we were met by Hassan (Riad's manager) who waited for us with fresh orange juice and mint tea, which was refreshing after the trip.
Hassan helped us also with the transfer from/to the airport.
The Riad is located in the heart of Medina, 5-7 minutes from Jemaa El Fna market - by Hassan guidances.
Also, Hassan upgrated our accomodation to a more spatious room, which we are thankful for.
Every day the room was clean and tidy.
The Riad is very quiet and cool, perfect to rest in, after a day spent in agitated Marrakech.
Wi-fi is available and free all over the Riad.
Hassan was very patient with us, answered all our questions, helped us a lot with his maps - which were precious in Medina, showed us the way to the market and made sure that we know the way back.
Breakfast is enough to start the day in a very good mood, and the coffee is hot and strong!
Do not hesitate to have dinner at the Riad, because Hassan is a very good cook - he prepares the best salads, tajine and couscous in all Marrakech, and portions are huge !! :)
He is discreet enough not to boder you, and atentiff enough so that nothing is missing from your table.
Sure enough, if I will ever return to Marrakech, I'll stay in this same Riad!!
Thank you very much, Hassan!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DESIR7_11, Gérant at Riad Dar Othmane, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your message on TripAdvisor, we are glad you loved the house and moments shared with you.
See you soon.
Manager Hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After frantically looking for a place to stay I chose this Riad over another based upon the fact that Hassan, the Riad manager, got mentioned so often as a top notch host. All I can do is to add to the accolades that Hassan deserves. I learned that one of the meanings of the name Hassan in Arabic is good; and Hassan truly lives up to his name. He was always kind and patent with me with all my questions about where to go and what to do. I remember leaving my room in the uttermost mess after my first night, only to find that coming back later that afternoon to find that the bathroom was cleaned, my clothing was folded and put away and that the bed was made.

Breakfast was simple, but good and filling, He makes the little pancakes himself and if he likes you he'll offer you up one of his homemade madelines with your coffee - which is also delicious on its own.

I think that the location also adds to the appeal as it's not so dead smack in the center of the Jemma Al Fna, that it gets really quiet; the only real noise coming from the call to prayer. The main square is quite easy to find after Hassan guides you part of the way, and I'm pretty sure that I'd be able to find my way years later.

I was planning to visit other parts of Morocco, and Hassan was kind enough to let my leave my main piece of luggage with him in his room while I was touring about the rest of Morocco.

I can't imagine anyone having anything bad to say about their stay here, and if they do then they're just being unreasonably finicky and picky. I would whole heartedly recommend staying here to anyone who is interested, the location, value and customer service cannot be beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DESIR7_11, Gérant at Riad Dar Othmane, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
A big thank you to you for your review, it encourages us to continue if necessary in the same way.
We hope to see you soon in our house.
Manager Hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Othmane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Othmane

Address: 198, Derb Essakaya - | Essibtiyine Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Othmane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Othmane Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Othmane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.