We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Othmane

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Othmane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Othmane
198, Derb Essakaya - | Essibtiyine Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Located in the heart of Marrakech’s Medina, Riad Dar Othmane offers sanctuary from the city’s busy streets and noisy markets.

On arrival, the staff made us feel incredibly welcome and treated us to a pot of mint tea and a brief tour of the surrounding area. During our stay Hassan was the perfect host, offering to buy us supplies, book excursions and readily available to answer all our questions about the Riad and the city itself.

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and a pleasant breakfast was provided each morning. A good sized roof terrace was a welcome addition and allowed us to make the most of the good weather.

If ever I was to return to Marrakech I wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
60
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Riad Dar Othmane was a cute and cosy place near to the main square. The staff is really helpful and they make it a point to keep the place really clean. We go upgraded to a bigger room - so thank you for that as well :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Mohamed and his wife (the owners) are amazing friendly and helpfull. You can imagine the wife sawed the broken dress of my girlfriend before to have a romantic dinner!
The hostel is little but so nice and it's in that tipic part of the medina of Marrakech where you can breath the life style of the people live and work there. Riad Othmane it's just 10 minutes far from the main square.
Definitely we advise this place to stay if you don't want to spend a lot of maney, but in the same time have a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We are two Australians who were on a second trip to Morocco, but first time to Fez. We stayed at Dar Othmane after contacting a booking agent recommended in the Lonely Planet Guide. We'd stopped in a riad in Marrakesh a few years ago and wanted one in Fez with close proximity to the sights of the medina. It was perfect, from the transport organised to and from the airport to the comfortable rooms (plenty of hot water) and amazing helpful Annmarie, Mohammid and Fatima. We spent three days sightseeing in the medina, relaxing on the roof terrace in the evening. The terrace has a view over to the hills and city walls, and comfortable seating. We got exactly what we wanted, a place that was quiet at night but a short walk to the various parts of the medina (do buy a map !)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orba, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We had a three night stay at the Othmane. We were met at the airport by a taxi which was included in the price of our stay. Can only say everything was perfect. The staff were exceptionally helpful and kind. Marrakesh is a vibrant, bustling, fascinating place which everyone should see. Can´t wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Great base for seeing the old town of Marrakesh. Do take up the offer of being met at the airport as 1st timers would struggle to find the place. Once there no problem. You can walk to the place de jemaa el fna in 10 minutes. Relatively quiet apart from the inevitable call to prayers you can't escape from anywhere in Marrakesh. Host and hostess are delightful and very willing to help, with suggestions of attractions excursions. Do try the Haman suggested if you like that sort of thing. A glass of fresh orange from the square is a must.
Rooms small but picturesque, but as you are out all the time it really does not pose a problem. The roof terrace is great for a quick top up on the tan. They will do an evening meal which is a pleasant way to relax. Marakesh itself does not offer haute cuisine but it is good to try the local food. All in all a great break and a good place to go later in the season for some sun.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We had a stressful journey being diverted to Agadir and having a 4 hour coach journey to reach arrakesh. On our arrival at the Riad the owner Mohammed welcomed us with a cup of tea and due to our journey upgraded us to a larger room at no extra cost. He later took us into the main square from the Riad as it is quite confusing. We managed to get lost on the way back and it is in the heart of the Medina with no other tourists around and felt quite scary. However after a few days you find your way and get used to it. The breakfast each morning was lovely and the last day as we had an early flight they gave us breakfast 30 minutes early. It really was a wonderful Riad and we enjoyed our stay in Marrakesh despite a lot of hassle at times.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Othmane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Othmane

Address: 198, Derb Essakaya - | Essibtiyine Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Othmane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Othmane Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Othmane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.