We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Al Hamra

Save Saved
You added Dar Al Hamra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Al Hamra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N 4 Derb Zaouia, Bab Doukkala | Marrakech 40000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Dar al Hamra is like our second home; our host was Ibrahim, who really looked after us and made our stay pleasurable.

Food – breakfast was served whenever we got up, and consisted of fresh toast with jam, honey and fresh butter, tea, freshly squeezed orange juice (best for the orange juice lovers). Mint tea was offered at all times free of charge.

Location – the house is located ten minutes from the main square, and right round the corner are some useful places like a pharmacy and a mosque.

Room – we would recommend ‘the suite/family room’ it was spacious with a king size bed, single bed, sofa, table and two chairs, more than your moneys worth! We had a traditional Moroccan bathroom, which was clean and nicely decorated. It included a shower area, and other accessories like soap and towels. Unfortunately the exhaust was not working when we were there however it’s not a big issue (take some air freshener!).

Over all house

The house was a traditional Moroccan design dating back to the Islamic caliphate therefore unlike western houses the privacy is guaranteed for example the house is structured inwards with all of the rooms facing the main forecourt in the middle.

We loved our stay, and really met some beautiful characters like Ibrahim, who treated us like family.

Note: Was actually May 2012!
Message to Ibrahim: We are so sorry for the late review, we'd typed it up but forgotten to upload! We hope you are well and you are in our prayers!

Room Tip: Breakfast on the roof is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was one of 3 places we stayed in in Marrakech. Ibrahim who was always there treated us very kindly, brought our breakfast up to the roof terrace, always had a smile.

It was well-protected from the hectic street noise, although when the riad is full, there is indoor noise from the central atrium. The roof terrace was great, with a view of the High -Atlas mountains and sunsets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Dar Al Hamra (10 days).
Positive:
We had a good traditional (sweet) breakfast every morning - even when we had to leave earlier than the breakfast time! When we told them, we wouldn't be there for breakfast they simply arranged an earlier breakfast for us!!!
The "hotel" has a nice roof top, where you can enjoy your breakfast on sunny days and relax in a deck chair.
As there are only a couple of rooms, you can enjoy the roof top nearly for yourself.
Something that was really important to us: The rooms and the whole hotel is very authentic traditionally decorated as the family who owns it, lives there, too.
Everything we asked for was done for us, e.g. new towels, some incense sticks, ...
When we arrived, the room was prepared while we had a cup of tea in the inner courtyard and the room was very clean - especially the bathroom.
The airconditioning also works as heating in winter!

Negative:
Worst thing was our arrival. Although we had sent 2 mails (English and French), we didn't get an answer and were not picked up at the airport. That was a really bad start as the taxi driver overcharged us (of course!) and didn't give us any change AND dropped us of at the wrong alley so that we had to find the hotel on our own! (The one thing we didn't want to do as there was no good map. So here is my explanation: Follow Boulevard Fatima Zahra from Koutoubia mosque heading north or from Place du Bab Doukkala/
Gare Routière de Marrakech‎ south through Rue Bab Doukkala. On the northwest corner of the mosque Bab Doukkala (there are some parking spots in fron tof the mosque) you will head west into the alley next to the corner, opposite to the parking area. The "Les Bains de Azahara" is the first door in the alley! Follow that alley for a couple of metres then turn right at the first crossing and follow that alley to the very end - 70 m. There you are.) We didn't know that , so we had to call the hotel - but the staff/owner who is the only one speaking English, could hardly be understood on the phone, so we asked a lot of people before someone could help us. A really bad start!!!
The towels were only changed ones (in 10 days), when we explicitly asked to do so. Even when we dropped them on the floor, they simply put them back on the rack. (We didn't realize it until the last days.) Although they cleaned the room every day, we had a dust layer in the bathroom after a couple of days, so they didn't clean perfectly while we were there. (This wasn't that important to us,)
The first morning we couldn't get any warm water - and it happened again - twice.
When the family has visitors, you can hear them all the time as all the rooms are situated around the inner courtyard, as typical for this area. (But it only happened once while we were there.) The same applies to the other hotel guests.
Worst thing (in our opinion): We asked to have dinner in the hotel on our last day. We even wrote it down and handed the notice to the man one day earlier as we were not always sure, if he understood us. When we asked if we could chose the meals at the last day, he said, that we couldn't have dinner as they had a doctor's appointment in the afternoon. That was said, but it's not their fault if someone is ill - but we wished they would have said something to us instead of only telling us as we asked for the menu. However, it got worse as we left the house about noon to go in the nearby park to stroll around before a spa appointment in the afternoon.) When we came back noone opened the door! Apperently they went to the doctor and didn't leave someone in charge to open the door! We waited about 10 minutes, knocking on the door and ringing the bell, but noone answered. Unluckily, we didn't have anything with us - no cash, no drinks, no food. We went back to the park and waited for about 45 min, before we went back to the hotel. (I caught a cold while we waited ) The door was opened and we rushed to our room to get our stuff for the spa appointment, It is really not amusing to be locked out of your hotel when you only left for a short walk and can't get back into your room! It really freaked me out.
I'm not sure, if I would recommand the hotel. I think it depends on how much you're willing to pay and where you book it. We payed very little so it basically met our expectations - but not for the arrival and the last day. (As written above.)

Room Tip: All rooms look the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was there with my girlfriend in Christmas period for 2 days and I remembered on it in good site. There was little bit problem to find it, because isn't nowhere some sparrow label, but helpful man help us, of course for a money :D Hotel looks very good, and level of acommodation is there on top level. Also breakfast on the terrase was good, maybe not so large. Price for it is maybe little bit higher, but no so much and hotel is placed about 15 minutes walking from Djemaa el Fna. Owner has 24h service, so there wasn't problem with opening door. But he was a bit type of guy, which has a rules and can't go over them. So there was a problem to agree on something, but on the end it's happened well.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family of 4 took 2 rooms for 3 nights at Dar Al Hamra. It's location is very close to the main square, so it was easy for us to tour the square and the souks for a few hours, then come back to rest a little in our rooms before heading back out to the square or other attractions. The owner was very friendly and nice, and his English is fine. The breakfasts were included, but they were simple Moroccan styled. We arrived by the overnight train from Tangier, and the station was very close, may be 10 to 12 minutes (costs 100 Dhm, a little overpriced, but not too bad). We took the larger SUV arranged by Dar Al Hamra since we had 4 people and 4 suitcases to the airport, which was only 15-20 minutes away (costs 15 euros). All in all, we had a very nice and relaxed stay at Dar Al Hamra and recommend to those who likes to be close to the action, but far enough to stay quite at nights.

Room Tip: Reserve the larger rooms if available as the prices are similar, but much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed a lot my stay here with my wife in that Riad, the price is not expensive if we compare with how near is that Riad located to Medina, in the area you can find anything you want, and the Riad is so nice, well decorated and more homey.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We are currently staying in this riad. The staff have been very helpful and the room is fantastic for the price. It is a budget riad but has air conditioning in the rooms, great water pressure and was exactly what we needed for this trip. A small oasis of calm in the midst of chaos! The room is quiet and dark with the lights off so we are sleeping very well. Thank you to the staff for helping organise the trip to the mountains and for welcoming us to your home!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Al Hamra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Hamra

Address: N 4 Derb Zaouia, Bab Doukkala | Marrakech 40000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Hamra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dar Al Hamra Riad, or the Red Mansion, is ideally situated in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. Situated near the historical market and square Djemaa el-Fna, this charming riad offers comfort and tranquility.Dar Al Hamra is a traditional Moroccan house, or riad, with seven rooms elegantly decorated in Moroccan fashion. Each room is air-conditioned and contains a private bathroom. Guests enjoy relaxing with views of Marrakesh and the Atlas Mountains on our private roof terrace with solarium.The Dar Al Hamra Riad will be pleased to welcome you to Marrakesh and ensure you have a magnificent experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Tingo, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Dar Al Hamra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Al Hamra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.