We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly proprietor.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Al Hamra

Save Saved
You added Dar Al Hamra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Al Hamra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N 4 Derb Zaouia, Bab Doukkala | Marrakech 40000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Rowland Heights, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly proprietor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family of 4 took 2 rooms for 3 nights at Dar Al Hamra. It's location is very close to the main square, so it was easy for us to tour the square and the souks for a few hours, then come back to rest a little in our rooms before heading back out to the square or other attractions. The owner was very friendly and nice, and his English is fine. The breakfasts were included, but they were simple Moroccan styled. We arrived by the overnight train from Tangier, and the station was very close, may be 10 to 12 minutes (costs 100 Dhm, a little overpriced, but not too bad). We took the larger SUV arranged by Dar Al Hamra since we had 4 people and 4 suitcases to the airport, which was only 15-20 minutes away (costs 15 euros). All in all, we had a very nice and relaxed stay at Dar Al Hamra and recommend to those who likes to be close to the action, but far enough to stay quite at nights.

Room Tip: Reserve the larger rooms if available as the prices are similar, but much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed a lot my stay here with my wife in that Riad, the price is not expensive if we compare with how near is that Riad located to Medina, in the area you can find anything you want, and the Riad is so nice, well decorated and more homey.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We are currently staying in this riad. The staff have been very helpful and the room is fantastic for the price. It is a budget riad but has air conditioning in the rooms, great water pressure and was exactly what we needed for this trip. A small oasis of calm in the midst of chaos! The room is quiet and dark with the lights off so we are sleeping very well. Thank you to the staff for helping organise the trip to the mountains and for welcoming us to your home!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Dar Al Hamra is a hidden gem in Marrakech Medina. The rooms are beautiful with a large bathroom that has actual water pressure - a rarity in Morroco! The rooms are clean and come with AC, breakfast is nice with local bread speciaties, freshly squeezed orange-juice, tea and coffee. you can either eat in the courtyard or on the rooftop terrasse with a gorgeus view of Marrakech Medina. The personel is very friendly and give you help you with wathever problems or questions you have. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a lovely little Dar (a hotel with private bathrooms, but it is a house where owners and workers live too). It is worth getting picked up at the airport, although they charge you for it. It's hard to find otherwise, but once they show you your map over the welcoming cup of mint tea, you can see how easy it is to walk to the Koutubia Minaret and the main square Jemma El Fna. Watch out for the guy with the monkey. He will try to toss it on your shoulder and demand money. Stand firm and don't take a photo or he will be very loud about getting money for the photo you took.

So, the Dar was welcoming and had a lovely rooftop terrace with breakfast served there. IT was awesome. The rooms have air conditioning and ours had a couch, closet, nice bathroom, and comfy bed. The door did have a padlock, although they do come in to tidy up.

I loved it. Note: Do not do the excursion to SEtti Fatma that they arrange. It was not a good experience and cost lots more than just the payment we made to the hotel. I would go online and find the excursion companies and have them come get you and make sure you get to see all the tings or waterfalls or whatever you want to see.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Took a little finding( but just round corner from Bab Doukkala mosque) what a gem of a place if you do not want the trappings of hotels. The staff, Nabil and Brahim were excellent and my whole family really felt welcomed and looked after. Lovely rooms, breakfast on the roof terrace, main square just 10 mins walk. Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

We only booked day before arriving they arranged a transfer for us and had mint tea on arrival lovely rooms very clean with heating very nice breakfast and could have eve meals which smelt delicious we ate on the lovely sun terrace in mornings but we ate in sq in eve which is near by 10 min walk raid also arranged a private tour for us which was great very happy to store bags on last day and let us use room to change we are a family travelling and I would highly recommend nothing was too much trouble excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Al Hamra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Hamra

Address: N 4 Derb Zaouia, Bab Doukkala | Marrakech 40000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Hamra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dar Al Hamra Riad, or the Red Mansion, is ideally situated in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. Situated near the historical market and square Djemaa el-Fna, this charming riad offers comfort and tranquility.Dar Al Hamra is a traditional Moroccan house, or riad, with seven rooms elegantly decorated in Moroccan fashion. Each room is air-conditioned and contains a private bathroom. Guests enjoy relaxing with views of Marrakesh and the Atlas Mountains on our private roof terrace with solarium.The Dar Al Hamra Riad will be pleased to welcome you to Marrakesh and ensure you have a magnificent experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Dar Al Hamra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Al Hamra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.