We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Paula,a nice relaxing place to stay in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Paula

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Paula
Save
You added Riad Paula to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Derb Jdid Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #304 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Newport
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Riad Paula,a nice relaxing place to stay in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Riad Paula is owned by Julien,who also owns the Riad Jona directly opposite.We stayed at the Paula for our first night,as the Riad Jona was full,and it was very nice,clean and extremely well situated.The main square is an easy five minute walk,and the rooms are good. Our particular one was a little noisy,being over the street,but comfortable. Julien is an excellent host.We had our meals in the Riad Jona however,and it seems that the Paula is an overflow,at least for the moment.Good value though,and we can't speak highly enough of Julien,who gave us excellent advice about the city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Loved our stay here- great staff, value, and location. We arrived at the Riad after taking the airport express bus with little difficulty, as it is located down a main side-street off of Jemaa al Fna, the main square in the Medina. We were greeted, "Welcome to your home in Morocco" and were treated with that same sentiment for the duration of our stay. Loved the staff, the owner Julien was very friendly, and the riad itself is beautiful, quaint, and quiet. They provided recommendations for places to visit within the medina, and also arranged a day trip for us out to Ouriki Valley with an excellent, intimate tour guide- very unique experience. We were given full access to the sister riad, Riad Jorah, just across the alley, which has an excellent rooftop terrace, complete with bar, pool, and relaxing lounge chairs. This was great during the hotter parts of the afternoon. If you are a breakfast person, this is one to write home about. We were served fresh baked goods (different each day) along with tea, juice, yoghurt, and fruit up on the terrace- feast proportions. We will certainly return to Riad Paula any time we are in Marrakech!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room Ines, the only room with two twins, as opposed to a queen bed. We were shown most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We experienced quite the opposite from the previous reviewer.This riad was excellent. Our 4 night stay could not have been better. It has just been refurbished & they have done a great job. It is in a great location, just 5 min walk from the market square. Once you know where it is it is very easy to find. All Riads are difficult to find inside the city walls without local knowledge. We used the airport pick up service & had no problems. If you are making your own way, use the luggage carriers at the taxi ranks. For about 10/20 MDM they will carry your luggage in a cart & take you to the riad. The best drop off point to get to the riad is at the end of Derb Jdid Riad Zitoun Lakdim, at the taxi rank.
What made the difference to the stay was the service. The French owner had a 15min chat with us advising us where to eat & drink, give us a map & how much to pay for taxis, etc. The person looking after us could not have been more helpful & friendly throughout the whole stay. A definate plus for a Riad over a hotel.
We had a meal one night at there sister Riad Jona. The other side to the street (2 metres away, same cook & kitchen). It was the best meal that we had in Morocco. It was far superior to the meal that we had at both The Cozy Bar & Tanjia, both can be found in the guide books. We ate on the terrace. I would recommend doing this early in the holiday, as you will want to eat there again. If there is something in particular that you want them to prepare then ask in advance (its a small kitchen). We did this when we wanted a lamb tagine.
Go to Cozy Bar & Tanjia for drinks, as the views are great.
The breakfasts were just what we needed & the coffee was good.
I can't comment on the internet as I used the one at the sister Riad Jona. It was very quick.
We also used the travel complay that they recommend for trips Arib Voyages. They were great.
This riad is great value for money. I would not hesitate in staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

It looks like a nice and well restored place but the quality of service is very poor and approximate. When arrived (at 8 pm after a long time spent to understand the location of the riad without any assistance from their staff. We got lost in the caos of the Medina and finally we arrived thanks to' the kind help of a maroccan guy that got into our CAR and drove us close to' the riad) we waited half an hour before being fixed up WITH the rooms.
No one was welcoming us. Internet was not available even though written in the web site. We had the dinner in the riad but again the quality of the food and the service were poor and approximate ( Two hours waiting, disgusting food, .....). I asked for some fruit for breakfast but they SAId that i would have paid (the breakfast consisted only in some bread, jams, orange jouice and a terrible tea). i do not reccomend this place because it is very far from the good hospitality that we have experienced in Marocco ( the owner of the riad is not from Marocco actually)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Jona
Riad Jona
#129 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#150 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Paula

Address: 59 Derb Jdid Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Paula 3*
Number of rooms: 249

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Paula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.