We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dave and Manda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Palmier

Save Saved
You added Riad Palmier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Palmier
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   22 Derb Berrima Touareg, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #420 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dave and Manda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent 5 nights in March 14 and had a great holiday. Forehead ( sorry if the spellings wrong ), Rachid and the rest of the staff were all charming and efficient. If you have want to book any daytrips, need any practical advice or need to chat about the football Forehead is your man. From the roof terrace you can see the storks on the Palace Badi. We had dinner in the riad on the first night and it was excellent food but share a main dish between two as the portion size was very generous. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week for a relaxing getaway, and Riad Palmier was perfect. The location in the medina is GREAT — steps from the Palais el Badi, a 10 min walk to Jemaa el Fna, with some excellent restaurants, a taxi stand, and a Societe General ATM within a couple block radius. The riad itself is beautiful and relaxing, with a little dip pool (it doesn't get much direct sunlight, though, so be forewarned that it would need to be pretty hot to want to venture in) and plenty of communal spaces for lounging in the sun or shade. The rooms are small, but immaculate and well appointed (and who wants to stay in your room when there's a sun deck?). Our room, #6, had a very pretty little terrace overlooking the central courtyard. Our one complaint was that the mattress was a little hard — we woke up with backaches the first couple mornings there, but adjusted for the rest of the week. Beyond that, the experience was great. Breakfast every morning is lovely — a nice selection of crepes/baguettes/jam/yogurt/fresh fruit/juice/coffee made for a really lovely start to the day. The staff are all great, and extremely knowledgeable/helpful if you need recommendations or help arranging a day trip to Essaouira/Casablanca/etc.

If you can, arrange a taxi pickup from the airport, especially if you arrive at night. Compared to some riads, Palmier is actually pretty easy to find (when the taxi drops you off at Derb Berrima Touareg, walk down the alley he indicates, make the first right, and it'll be the second door on your left) — but it's nice to have someone show you exactly where you're going. Right now, the price for a taxi from the airport is 165 dirhams, about $20USD.

Room Tip: #6 is great — private terrace, and a bathroom with a door (which I hear is not necessarily guarantee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

A group of us stayed in 3 rooms in January the first 2 days were cold and very wet. Despite there being lots of empty rooms one couple were originally given a room which clearly smelt of drains. They were graciously moved once this was pointed out. Another room had a badly leaking toilet (see picture) for 2 days and no hot water for the first. Moved to an empty room eventually. Cold and wet on the first night we ate at the Riad the patio heater ran out of gas and we were freezing!! The gluten free breakfast option never materialized...
Sounds like it was all bad but it wasn't. The room heaters were effective and the rooms and Riad quirky and peaceful away from the melee of the medina. The staff on the whole were helpful and friendly.
If you go try eating in the main square stall 31 is recommended. Would we go again yes but in the Spring.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Have just returned from 3 nights at Riad Palmier and will certainly return again. The riad has been beautifully restored by the French owners and the staff are friendly and attentive, offering exactly the right level of support. On our first morning, we were given a personal introduction to the city and provided with maps and recommended routes. This was just what we needed as first timers in the city - enough information to give us the confidence to set off and know we could find our way back, but nothing so prescriptive that we felt obliged to go to any particular destination. The adventure was ours to discover. We also took up the offer of a taxi from the airport and a meal in the riad on the first evening as we arrived quite late. This took away any anxiety we might have felt arriving late in a new city. The meal was superb as were the breakfasts which we chose to enjoy on the roof top terrace, watching the storks who nest on the neighbouring palace walls. The location is excellent too - about 15 minutes from the main square along a shady and interesting market street. Much closer, just a few steps from the riad, are the imposing ruined Badia Palace, a spice market and the fascinating ironmongers square full of exquisite lanterns and all at fixed prices. The riad itself is very comfortable and tranquil. Birdsong and the call to prayer are the only sounds that seemed to penetrate the walls even though 50 m away is a main thoroughfare with every conceivable form of transport passing day and night. Would also recommend the 'hammam and gommage' at the riad. All in all our stay was everything we had hoped for and more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good service, nice staff and very beautiful riad right in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Once you leave the busy streets you find peace and quiet in this great house. The breakfast on the roof terrace every morning was a great start of the

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

In the crowded city of Marrakech you need a space of tranquility. with just a few rooms this small scale hotel gives you the possibility to recover from your walks and shopping in het souks of Marrakech. Every room is unique and makes you experience a bit of the Arabic wealth. In Marrakech its not common to serve alcohol, but due the French owners of this riad you are able to drink a glass of wine in the shade of the rooftop tent and watch the storks on the city wall.

Room Tip: Every room is unique, carefully watch the picture on the web to choose the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in riad Palmier in May 2013. If you want to experience real Morocco staying in a traditional riad is a must. Riad Palmier is very well situated, not far from the main square Jenaa el Fna (a pleasant 15-20min walk pretty much along just one street), and we never got lost. The rooms are small but charming, truely Moroccan style. Very friendly staff and the owner who is French gave us a thorough explanation on arrival of all the nearby attractions and also provided a map. I also loved the storks nesting on the nearby walls of the palace's ruins. Breakfast is continental (juice, yogurt, pancake, coffee), but quite good. We also had a complimentary pick-up at the airport.
Some general tips:
Riads are former "rich-man" houses transformed into boutique hotels. All rooms are overlooking the internal yard that usually has a small pool and some lounge chairs. Perhaps in terms of riad who your neighbours are matters a bit more than in a normal hotel, as its like staying all together in one big house. We were lucky as other people in our riad were quite and friendly. Also, I recommend to rent a more expensive room on the 1st or 2nd floor, as the ground floor rooms' doors and windows open into the common lounge area and they are less private and noiser (everyone passes by them).
A bit of warning to people suffering from allergies: it can be triggered by the antique furniture and natural-feather pillows that are common in riads (happened to us).
All in all, I recommend riad Palmier as a good base to explore Marrakech. We also stayed in the new part of the city but if you are after a proper Moroccan experience I would recommend to stay in old Medina for at least 1-2 nights. Also dont pay too much attention to the horror stories of being constantly harrased on the streets, Moroccans are really polite and good mannered compare to some other arabic countries. Noone was aggressive, and the only time we were pestered was in Atlas mountains valley by some boys selling palm-leave camels, and even that wasnt really much

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Palmier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Palmier

Address: 22 Derb Berrima Touareg, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #420 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Palmier 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Palmier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Palmier Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Palmier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.